We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal first night syopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We regularly use B and B hotels and find that they are great value for money. This hotel was no exception. It is well placed for a first night stop after the ferry to Cherbourg - the drive is an easy one and takes about two hours .The hotel is situated near the main route south and is within walking distance of a restaurant. There are also a number of retail outlets nearby and a supermarket to stock up on drinks / snacks for a drive the following day. The hotel itself is clean, although there was a faint smell of cigarette smoke in one of the two rooms we had booked. The beds are comfortable and the room adequate. Breakfast was a leisurely affair , with the usual choices and plentiful supply - in hindsight, I wish we had booked this hotel for our return trip as well , instead of staying at the one outside Cherbourg . If you are driving to catch the evening ferry, then I strongly suggest you stay here rather than Cherbourg the night before - at least you will be able to find food to eat ! Breakfast at the one in Cherbourg was non existant, even though we had paid for it . This place was a far better experience and we will certainly use it again. friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and very well placed for access to Mont St Michel, the Normandy landing beaches , roads south and ferry ports.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelmum91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night in August 2015. The hotel has free parking and is very well located for driving to Mont St Michel. There is a large Carrefour super-market 5 minutes' walk away and a few other shops. The town of Avranches is a short drive from the hotel.

We had a room for 4 people (2 adults, 2 children) which was very small, although it did make the most of its space. The main problem was the lack of light. The room was facing the outdoors (covered) staircase which was blocking the natural light from outside.

Breakfast was very basic and not really worth paying for. You are better off popping into Carrefour and buying some croissants from there, they have a much better selection.

On the plus side, there is a microwave available in the breakfast area which you can use all day for your own meals.

Overall, the hotel did the job for one night but was as basic as they come. I would not want to stay there for more nights. If we had a room with more light I would have given it 3 stars but the room we stayed in only gets 2 stars.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at a couple of these hotels they are always predictable. Clean, friendly staff, good sized rooms, easy breakfast and secure off street parking. Well worth considering when travelling on a budget.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is a very nice, small and quite place to spend few nights if you wish to go to the Le Mont Saint Michel and its surroundings. Located not far from Le Mont Saint Michel (~15 km) and it is a very cheap (I spent less then 40 euro per day) with a good breakfast. The Rooms are clean, but small. There is also a Wi-Fi connection without any limits.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side to freeway are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b1anc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel was indeed value for money given that we were a group of friends on a road trip. With just 20 mins from Mt. Saint Michel by road, it was quite convenient. The rooms seemed slightly smaller compared to the B&B hotels in Germany but nevertheless you get what you pay for. Although, the breakfast options could be made more attractive rather than just having breads, egg and juices/milk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanzim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Excellent place to stay and the town was nice too. Breakfast was perfect especially for the kids. Kids loved the bedrooms as their beds were in an attic above us! Really good restaurant next door esp for meat eaters :) Will do more B&B hotels when we go back to France, so easy to book and check in and good value breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky2003_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Typical French budget motel. Small, clean room. Comfortable bed. Good shower.
Need I say more?
Ideal staging post for Le Mont St Michel or a handy stop off to/from Caen or Le Havre.
No restaurant here but there is a grille bar next door. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Val-Saint-Pere
0.8 km away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
505 reviews
0.7 km away
HotelF1 Avranches
HotelF1 Avranches
#3 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
86 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avranches
237 reviews
5.8 km away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
1.8 km away
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel

Address: Parc de la Baie, 50300 Le Val-Saint-Pere, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Le Val-Saint-Pere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Val-Saint-Pere
Price Range: $81 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotel in Avranches Looking for a cheap hotel in lower Normandy? Our B&B Hotel in AVRANCHES Baie du Mont St-Michel awaits! A hotel near Mont-Saint-Michel and the A84 motorway Lift your gaze and you'll see Mont-Saint-Michel, just 12 miles away, rising up in front of you. On the road to Caen? The A84 passes close to the B&B Hotel AVRANCHES Baie du Mont St-Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing