We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Le Haut Champ”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Haut Champ

Le Haut Champ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Haut Champ
View from the Front Garden Gite Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Le Haut Champ
View from the Front Garden
Gite Entrance
Lounge with Traditional Features
A Touch of French Glamour
Dining Area
Kitchen
Traditional Meets Modern
Traditional French Fabric
A reminder of our resident Barn Owl
Les Arbres Bedroom
Traditional Features in Les Arbres Bedroom
Les Arbres Shower Room
Les Arbres Shower Room
La Selune Bedroom
La Selune Shower Room
La Selune Shower Room
Showers
View from the Bedrooms
Relax & Enjoy the Gite Terrace
View towards the Village
Our very own French Hen!
View across the Lane
Apple Blossom on Our Apple Trees
Apple Harvest at Le Haut Champ
Local Wildlife
Our Neighbours....
Our Local Town St Hilaire du Harcouët
Le Haut Champ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy W
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Le Haut Champ”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have recently returned from two wonderful weeks at Le Haut Champ. The gite is excellent - stylish, comfortable, well equipped, immaculately clean and is set in beautiful rolling countryside. It is well placed for local amenities and many places of interest are within easy reach. Simon and Anne are perfect hosts. They are helpful and informative but never intrusive. We hope to return soon and do not hesitate to recommend Le Haut Champ!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquillity
Liked least: Leaving at the end of two weeks!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberJoh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic countryside location, immaculately clean and very practical.”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I stayed at Le Haut Champ for a week in June 2015, whilst exploring Normandy and parts of Brittany.

Le Haut Champ is situated in a most delightful location, with 360 degree views of countryside. It has gardens of its own with the front part kept for visitors to use. We made use of the tables and chairs there to enjoy dinner in the evening sunshine, occasionally watching the animals at the neighbouring farm strolling by just the other side of the garden boundary. The owners of Le Haut Champ clearly put a lot of effort into both the gîte and the gardens, adding various new plants to the garden during our stay. They made us very welcome and offered lots of help & advice regarding not just places to visit and eat, but also how to make the most of particular visits.

The gîte is of a very high standard - very comfortable and practical, with modern bathroom and kitchen facilities, whilst still having plenty of charm. It worked perfectly for us as a base from which to explore and as a quiet retreat in which to relax. We visited the Normandy beaches, Pegasus Bridge, various cemetaries, Le Mont Saint Michel, Bayeux to see the tapestry, nearby gardens, le Chateau de Fougeres, local towns (there was a music festival during our stay that included events in various nearby locations) and various eateries. Le Haut Champ is a very practical location for visiting all of these.

There were facilities that we didn't use, such as a TV, DVD player with selection of DVDs, log burner etc. I could imagine visiting in winter possibly using these, but in the perfect weather that we had, there was no need.

A very enjoyable stay, very welcoming hosts, excellent accommodation, in an idyllic location. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jk667
1 review
“A tranquil beauty”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked a week at Le Haut Champ for the end of May 2015. It was a family holiday, 2 adults, an infant and a baby.

We were made very welcome on our arrival and the accommodation surpassed our expectations. Clean, tidy and of a high standard, we immediately felt at home. We were also thrilled at the news that the front terrace of the property was ours for use throughout the week and provided fantastic views across the local countryside.

Anne & Simon were very wiling to give us information of things to do in the local area. We visited the castle at Fougeres (there is a great local bar/bistro just outside this as well), Le Mont st Michel, St Malo (utterly fantastic) and the Zoo de Champrepus (highly recommended for children).

The location is rural but excellent, easy and pleasant road access to everywhere we visited. There was a lovely Patisserie in St Martin de Landelles (I can't remember the name but it was on the corner) - fresh baguettes daily!

Overall I would recommend anybody to stay here. Great hosts, great accommodation and great surroundings. We will return.

Thank you to both Anne & Simon for a special week away, the first time as a family of 4.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F
1 review
“A wonderful property in beautiful, peaceful countryside.”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Le Haut Champ is a really nice property. It's furnished beautifully and very clean. Well equipped with everything you could need for a self catering holiday. Each of the two bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, which really makes things easier. The surrounding countryside is very picturesque with it's rolling hills, with plenty of space to relax in. Perfectly placed to explore Normandy and Brittany, being about 40 minutes from Le Mont St Michel. The owners live next door and are very friendly and helpful, but are not intrusive. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Le Haut Champ.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHBPortsm...
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent Christmas week at The Haut Champ, and what a delightful week it was. The location was picturesque, peaceful and easy to find. The accommodation was spacious, modern, but with plenty of character and most importantly – immaculate! Our hosts greeted us on arrival with a warm welcome, not only from them but also a roaring fire in the log burner – even Christmas directions to make it feel seasonal. During our week we spent time in the home, enjoying the fire, local produce (i.e. Cheese and wine!) but also got out and about to Mont St. Michel, Fougeres and Avranches. I cannot recommend a stay here highly enough - it has everything you could want, summer, winter, busy, quiet. My Husband and I returned feeling relaxed and refreshed. Try it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWillen...
Chesham Bucks UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean , comfortable and convenient. Simon and Ann are model hosts”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Le Haut Champ is a very comfortable gite the two bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms are very convenient. There are sufficient power points and everything works properly. The kitchen is small but kitchen utensils and pans are in good supply. Ann and Simon have left herbs and spices and washing up tabs and other useful items. The lounge area has two very comfortable settees. The TV is tuned to English channels. There's a good fridge, dish washer and washing machine. It is beautifully quiet - no road noises but in easy reach of Mont St Michel, Saint Malo Dinan, Vitre and Normandy beaches. If we were in Normandy again, we would stay at Le Haut Champ.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Too many good features to choose any particular one
Liked least: Stairs are rather steep not a problem for us but problem for toddlers and disabled
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Place”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Arriving late on Sunday evening, the owners were waiting for us with a welcome smile and a perfect property. It was warm, very clean, well appointed and exactly as described on the web. I would like to think that if I had presented this gite for rental, this is the quality of finish that I could have achieved. I will go back there again in the future and I will certainly recommend this to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location on the village outskirts
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;