We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
405
449
109
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
449
109
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomtoilettvbedreceptionfrancetownferryparking
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Turned up after 700k drive from Germany to be told that I hadn't booked the duplex room with a second bed (with my father). However they quickly got a spare bed in. This is a good stop over spot. And they served champagne and brekkie to the room. Lovely staff busy but efficient. Perfect stopover before cherbourg for ferry

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ThelmaDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

Never ever again. Would never give them a 3*star hotel.
Firstly. We've reserved a room a standard room with a baby cot bed. And.... Without any notice they gave us a disabled room. When we asked to change,receptionist told us a disabled room is currently given for as a standard room. ( I have nothing towards disabled people,however,you must inform people that you are out of other rooms,especially when you have a child under 3).
Secondly, if you selling your disabled room make sure you change our mattress. It's terrible,poor disabled person will pass away on it. All metal bits are coming to your back. I'm having a big problem with my back and when we spend 'a wonderful' night at your hotel I went to see osteopath. Receptionist told us that they trying to change mattresses bit by bit. START FROM DISABLED ROOM.
Thirdly,, a baby cot was absolutely broken. Receptionist told us that other ones are used and we need to use it.
Fourthly,we our dinner there and took a menu. For starter I had fish and crab tartar . No seasoning, nothing. Only thing you know why you're paying such price it's quantity. For main I had crumble de poisson. And AGAIN tasless. Looks terrible,it's 3 pieces of fishes laid on each other with an imitation of crumble. Staff stayed all the time in the kitchen we would hear them chatting.
The day when we were checking out,I've told a lady all our problems what we had, the only she could do its to apologise and take of our 2 glasses of wine from our bill.
GUYS YOU MUST IMPROVE YOUR BUSINESS.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Zaneta501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Lion d'Or P, La réception at Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

We thank you first of all for having taken time to write this opinion further to your stay within our establishment. Indeed to avoid any discrimination of rooms for person with reduced mobility are considered as traditional rooms. In the second, as mentioned during your stay the bedding is in the course of change for the whole hotel, we also took note that the bed baby who had been supplied to you been damaged and we are sorry about it. Thirdly, we are saddened to read that the restaurant is not as high as your expectations, it is not the usual return. We kindly request you to excuse us for the caused embarrassment and for the disappointment felt during your stay. Hoping to have the pleasure to see again(to revise) you later. Cordialy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We arrived unintentionally in Pont-L'Eveque having taken the wrong bus from Caen, and too late in the day to correct our faux pas. Lion D'Or is pretty central, and had a room free. The site is rather small, with parking for about 20 cars. Reception was very helpful and the living/sleeping quarters generally very nice. The bed was huge and comfortable. Everything else fresh, tasteful and convenient.

Reception area, bar and breakfast facilities well-serviced and attractive.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pgoble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Lion d'Or P, La réception at Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you for your review that you have taken the time to leave your stay with us. We are delighted that you have found rest and enjoyed all of our services during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and spread over two levels with the bedroom at the top and the TV room, bathroom and toilet at the lower level.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is continental but it's the only hotel that I know that has a fresh juice making machine, something that not seen in even 5 star hotels.

The restaurant menu is limited but the quality of the food is very good.

Not all the staff speak English but even if they don't they are all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has its own free car park which makes it great as a stop over location or as a base the visit the rest of Normandy from.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Worldtravellerguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Lion d'Or P, La reception at Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

318/5000
Thank you for your review that you have taken the time to leave your stay with us. We are delighted that you have found rest and enjoyed all of our services during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Large duplex room, traditional wood floor interior, good for pets. Stairs up to bedroom from lower nice-sized lounge, Seperate toilet and bathroom. Room door faces to courtyard where there is parking. NB., theres next to nothing open restaurant wise in Pont L'Eveque on a Monday night including at the Hotel. The toilet needed cleaning, the only let down was the lack of cleanliness in toilet and bathroom

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors seem quieter
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k01291it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiondOrSpa, La réception at Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2016

Dear Customer,
We have read your comments and we thank you.
Sorry for the inconvenience encountered on your room during your stay.
Know that our team is listening to customers and that a solution would be found.
We note your satisfaction regarding equipment and amménagement the duplex room.
See you soon.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews