We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sao Vicente
Certificate of Excellence
stockport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2009

we came to this hotel on 27/12/08 hoping for a relaxed holiday in a good quality hotel,and this hotel delivered everthing,spotless,great food,great staff,log fire wow,shame about the weather though.one tip if you are thinking of staying here,hire a car!hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.Don and Di,Stockport 27/12/08

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlanodStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    55
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
113
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

This hotel is very worthy of its 4 stars. The accommodation, staff and the breakfasts were all excellent. Reasonably sized outdoor, heated pool (covered); the jacuzzi was faulty for three days.
Unfortunately the room we were offered had a bad smell of drains - I suspect a sewage pipe was leaking somewhere. At first we were told that they could not understand why there was a smell and that there were no more rooms available with balconies. We said we could not stay there - and miraculously another room was found that had 'just been cleaned'. Next door were some Americans who had just been throught the same experience. It seemed that all the rooms in the one block were affected, but our new room was fine and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the week.
The hotel and grounds are not as large as they appear on the website. We drove past it the first time.
Food is pricey - e.g. stuffed loin of rabbit is 24 euros!
The views are absolutely stunning, but you do need a car unless you intend to stay put in the hotel. It is a good location to explore the north coast and the interior of Madeira.
There is good free Internet access at the hotel, but only one PC in the lounge area. They were happy for me to unplug their PC and connect my laptop which was very helpful.
Sao Vicente is a one-horse town - without the horse! Virtually no shops and just two or three mediocre restaurants on the sea front. Best restaurant we found locally was 'Many', about a mile east along the coast. No swimming at the beach - it is just rocks with quite rough seas; Porto Moniz with its natural swimming pools is probably the best bet. There are a couple of artifical beaches with good sand on the south coast at Calheta and Machico - but it is a drive. Ribeira Brava is easy to reach, with a good road through the tunnel.
The caves at Sao Vicente are not very exciting - a few lava tubes. Not a patch on Cheddar!

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and scenery
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We had originally booked to stay for a week at the Estalagem do Mar (NOT RELATED TO THIS HOTEL) just down the road from the Estalegem do Vale. The EdM was so awful (see separate review!) that we left after only one night and moved to the EdV which was GREAT. Great value, great staff, great food, great room - we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend this hotel. Clean, recently opened hotel in converted older building, with elegant rooms and lovely bathrooms. Staff were especially friendly. Definitely check out the special muesli at breakfast!!!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

A lovely little hotel, perched above the Sao Vicente valley.

I'd agree with most of the other reviews:
- a car is definitely a good idea- not only to get to the hotel but to get around the island as well. It took roughly 45 minutes to get to the airport from the hotel on our last day.
- the hotel environment, rooms, staff etc are all excellent.
- the hotel's location is good and bad- nicely set away from the centre of Sao Vicente on the hillside, but difficult to get to many places by walking.
- food in the hotel is good, but not cheap. It was 19-24 euros for the 3-4 course menu. However, it's worth it compared to most Madeiran food. The trip to and from the hotel to the centre of Sao Vicente means going out to eat is a bit of a trek if you're walking.
- the pool was covered when we were there- the water was fine for a swim but not warm enough to spend all day there.

Overall I'd recommend it- for a 4* hotel it was surprisingly good value.

  • Liked — rooms and cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Quash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter break 2007.

Due to a late flight and difficulty in locating the hotel at night, we did not arrive until midnight. The receptionist on duty was very helpful and even offered to provide us with sandwiches despite the late hour.

The hotel is situated in quite a rural area, so often it was more convenient to eat in. The food was rather expensive but it works out more economical if you take the table d'hote option. Service was on the whole good.

Parking in the hotel grounds was limited but there is the option of 'on the street' if too busy.

Free use on the internet (one terminal) is provided but it can be busy at peak times.

The swimming pool was outside with a cover which can be rolled back in summer months. It could be a bit cold at times. The jacuzzi tended to smell of bad water but once inside it looked clean enough.

To summarise, I would say that the hotel was very pleasant, decor was excellent and the hotel staff were quick to help in any way possible. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel as it provides a more peaceful alternative to the hubbub of Funchal. However I feel it is beneficial to hire a car as it may be harder to connect to the local buses from so far out.
We hope to return in the near future.

  • Liked — modern and clean
  • Disliked — rural
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank penguinSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 April 2006

We stayed at the Estalagem do Vale over Easter. The hotel can provide a taxi service to and from the airport. The pick up was fine, but we were left high and dry on the return and only just got our flight home.

The hotel is not as big or as spacious as it seems from its website, being squeezed into a fairly residencial area high above Sao Vicente. The hotel has good facilities, but unfortunately at Easter it was packed full of families and you were competing with lots of screaming children. This was also the case at meal times, so we decided to eat out mainly - 1.5 hour round trip walk.

The decor in general is surprisingly modern and smart and the hotel and rooms are spotless. Waitress service is excellent but the food is overpriced

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Vicente
19.7 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
13.9 km away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
466 reviews
24.5 km away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
25.8 km away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,001 reviews
19.2 km away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem do Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Property: Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Address: Sitio das Feiteira de Baixo, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-206, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sao Vicente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem do Vale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estalagem do Vale is a charming, historical country-house style inn that offers comfortable, “home from home” accommodation in the beautiful setting of the Laurissilva Forest, one of the most idyllic places on Madeira Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Estalagem do Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estalagem Do Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing