We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexciting on the outside, fabulous on the inside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Abina (bar/restaurant) is a mixed bag of oddness and brilliance. First the oddness. On the outside, you'd probably walk straight passed the place. It is somewhat bland and unassuming. Nothing attracts you to want to go in. It looks cluttered and a hotch-potch of bits thrown together. Go through the doors and you'll be greeted with a bar that has been lost in time. It's on par with a typical Amsterdam brown cafe. Old signs and decor cover the wood paneled walls and the floor has seen its fair share of feet over the years. The staff are the real gift of this establishment. Welcoming, warm and very friendly. They're attentive and helpful. Ordering food you get a great choice of food but YOU HAVE TO TRY the ribs. Abina's ribs are outstanding... And they are 'limitless'. They keep on coming until you cannot eat another bite. You get to see some real Amstelveen characters while you sit and enjoy the ambiance of Abina. It's a great place to people watch. Make sure to leave a tip for the guys and girls who serve you. They work hard to make you feel welcome!

Room Tip: Check out the Amsterdamse Bos. A beautiful park to walk around and let your food go down after eatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank craigology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The location is kind of far from downtown but there are buses. The staff are AMAZING! So helpful and polite and funny. Breakfast was actually great for Europe. Eggs, cheese, meat, two types of bread, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. The stairs are super narrow and I almost fell twice. Thy have a nice separate entrance with key card entrance. The bar is crazy busy at night! I was so shocked. Kind of noisy but it didn't bother us at all. We got a room with two beds. The rooms barely fit the two beds. Only a sink in the room bathroom is shared and smells very terrible. No hot water in the sink. Shower was good though. Clean and lots of hot water. Room was so dirty though. Floors need to be cleaned and walls cleaned or painted, it looked like a horror movie. But if you're not going to be in your room long it doesn't matter! The TV is a joke it's too high to see and the size of a tablet. But no one needs a TV anyways! Only one outlet was extremely problematic for charging phones and using other appliances. Heads up check out is not 11, It's BEFORE 11. Enjoyed Amsterdam though nicest people in the world that I've met so far.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

stairs up and narrow hall, luxe room should be taken without any expectations.
many damages in bathtub, on curtains, on bed and floor.
but after drinking to much in the bar, its better to use this room then to step in the car.
price includes breakfast, but my hangover made me skip that.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here with my better half. Our room was large and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant Abina serves delicious food and the staff was very welcoming. Nothing much to complain here except the amount of cigarette smoke from the vents straight to our room. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sampo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My first experience in Holland ! Was picked up at the Schipol airport and went straight there for dinner ... excellent food , service and atmosphere ! Had an Angus steak , done perfectly ... as good as any Alberta beef !

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbn121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I enjoyed my stay in albina, the pub and food was great, the stall helpful and the rooms were good. We had everything we needed there.

You need to take 2 Bus systems to get into Amsterdam, but i was worth the stay, because the town is really cute and something you shouldn't miss out. The Staff was very helpful and tried to help with the transport and gave tipps how to get to interesting places.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Amazing staff! Rooms are fine nothing to complain about! Massive bathroom in room 20 defiantly recommend! Plus free breakfast! Very relaxed and very accommodating! Pets are more than welcome very easy to find and quick and easy check in! Only 15 minutes from Amsterdam centraal.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Movita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amstelveen
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
#1 of 6 in Amstelveen
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rembrandtplein
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam West
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam West
#162 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina

Address: Amsterdamseweg 193, 1182 GW, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range: $85 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing