We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on the 9th March. It was a suprise for her 30th birthday. On arrival we were greeted and given an arrival drink.

We were shown to our room the Cromdale. Fantastic large room with great room with nice view and great 1930s retro style bathroom. The owners had very kindly given us a nice bottle of pink fizz and a birthday card.

Dinner was incredible our only regret was that we never met the cook to thank her. Chocolate box Aussie red wine went very well. Breakfast was very good indeed. I especially liked the creamy porridge.

Thank you Iain and Elaine, we will definately be back.

K+K Francis

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
266
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and I go to Tigh na Sgiath every year now for a little break. The food is fantastic and the owners are so nice and attentive. The hotel is in such a good position geographically, as there are so many different tourist attractions in the surrounding area. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Ballindalloch is the room we always go for as it has a lovely little turret area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penicuik
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have worked in the visitor industry/tourism in Scotland for over 20 years and during the course of my work have stayed in all types of accomodation. Quite by accident I discovered the Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, which, in my opinion, is undoubtedly one of the best small country house hotels, and the reason for many return visits.
The hotel is in an ideal location for a perfect break and the warm welcome you receive is instant relaxation. All of the rooms are attractively appointed, they are all different, and very comfortable.
Sit at the fire with a pre-dinner drink whilst choosing your evening meal from the menu. The dining room is extremely well appointed with crystal glasses and fabric serviettes on the table, the service is excellent. Choosing from the menu is difficult, everything sounds tempting, and the food is delicious, beautifully cooked, using local/Scottish produce and always beautifully presented.
Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gypsy970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel during a mini-tour of the Highlands in May. We were greeted warmly by one of the owners and he told us that as he had had a cancellation our room had been upgraded - lovely! We were in Ballindalloch which was a very large and comfortable room with a little 'turret' side area with chairs for reading. It had an en-suite bathroom with a jacuzzi bath - I tried it and it was very nice.
We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were excellent. At dinner, the owner had noted that I was pregnant and had provided pregnancy-friendly canapés specifically for me. Breakfast was in a side room where you could see squirrels running up and down the trees, great morning entertainment! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends travelling to the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessietressie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We have been to this hotel 4 times now for short breaks, and it just gets better! The welcome and quality of food and service is of a very high standard, and the rooms have been gradually upgraded over the past few years while keeping their traditional charm. On one occasion we stayed for 3 nights, and felt that so many excellent dinners and breakfasts in such a short time was (almost) too much for us. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dod9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at Tigh na Sgiath for three-nights in mid-November (immediately before their winter closure), on a D,B&B bases. The hotel is well sign-posted and easy to find. It has ample car-parking, with level access to the hotel entrance.

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome (a roaring fire in the hearth, and a choice of whisky or dry-sherry).

The hotel is immaculately maintained, as was our room (Cromdale): a large double room ensuite, with (perhaps) the deepest bath we have ever seen!

The restaurant complemented the quality of the hotel perfectly. With three evenings dining, we were able to sample most of the menu, and were very impressed with the quality of the cuisine. The menu catered for a variety of food requirements, including vegetarian and gluten free by default.

Breakfast continued the high standard, with the usual "full Scottish" available, along with French toast, omelettes, kippers, etc. Make sure to get a table near the window, and you’ll be treated to the breakfasting antics of numerous red squirrels!

We very much enjoyed our visit, and will be returning. And would very much recommend Tigh na Sgiath!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at Tigh na Sgiath for a short break end of July 2011. Level of service (including welcome drink in the beautiful paneled reception area) was superb, food was good quality - the atmosphere was formal but relaxed and the reception rooms beautifully decorated. Overall a lovely stay !

Room Tip: top floor rooms have smallish windows, middle floor likely better - esp tower room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.3 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
8.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
4.4 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
725 reviews
7.7 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
34.7 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing