We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
33
59
50
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
59
50
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rent a bike cleaned daily word of warning restaurant cafe sea view airport pick lady on reception cleaned every day air conditioning fresh towels mosquito net laundry service clean beach stayed nights mini bar private beach huts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 173 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

First of all, Con Dao is beautiful, Dam Trau beach next the airport is flawless. Con Dao Camping Hotel offers reliable services (laundry, transfer, motorbike rental), staff is nice and helpful, and the garden is well kept. So little should be done to make this place a paradise. Unfortunately the bungalows lack annual refurbishment, probably for several years. This requires investment, which the owners might not want to take. But cleaning the beach would take 10 minutes work, and buying some sunbeds and parasols shouldn't be a problem. Unless these are done be prepared to rent a bike, and take the 20 min journey to Dam Trau, where you can find clean beach, nice restaurants, great food and sunbeds.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guelue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

First of all the things, pictures on the booking are not real or they are 10 years old. They didnt put on the photo of the bathroom with horrible transparent ruff. In our friends bathroom, grass was growing through the bathroom floor. They have bar which is not working, its in bad condition. I advise you so not eat breakfast there :) Staff at reception is something very special, when you ask for a map for the island you need to make a picture of the map from the wall. Yes, their english is very very bad. Be also prepared to have cats, dogs and rats in resort :) nevertheless the resort is having big potencial just the owners are lazy ...

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank AnaLogar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Firstly, I organised in advance (I asked a Vietnamese colleague to call them) to have an airport transfer. I landed and no one was there, so I got a cab.
I got to the hotel and it was as per the photos, cute little huts set just back from the beach. When I entered the room, it was very basic (which I expected), however the electricity would shut off OR make a really loud thudding noise. When I left the room I the door didn't lock, as it appeared there was no lock on the inside. When I told the lady on reception she told me I could keep my valuables in the safe. As a lone, female traveller, I told her I was more concerned for my own safety, so reluctantly she moved me into another room.
The only meal served in the restaurant was breakfast which was average, but convenient as it's close. Aside from that, they sell drinks for the rest of the day.
The location itself, right on the beach, is superb. There is a lot they could do with that shabby restaurant if they used their imagination; if they started to make cocktails or serve lunch and dinner they could make a killing.
The accommodation itself is quite average, but if you're just looking for a place to chill for a few days, and have low expectations, it will suit your needs.
The rooms were cleaned every day at least.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pippalennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

This is unashamedly targeting the budget travellers. The locale is superb, with an outlook on a superb beach. The beach is 20 metres away and the water is clear and waveless. The hotel is well-run and pays attention to everything you would expect. Breakfasts are very good, in a wonderful setting. Cleaning and towel change is daily and thorough. Bus to the airport is very convenient. Hien is a terrific operator in reception. Wi-Fi is strong and accessible even on the beach. The motorbikes are in good condition.
The midday checkout is very civilised. The rubbish on the beach is the only negative. This will be a big turn-off for many travellers.

Room Tip: Half of the A-frame cabins are facing the beach: 101 to 109
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

High class, beach front location without having to pay high end prices.
Clean, simple, basic rooms and friendly staff.
Recommend that you pay a little extra for the sea view rooms. Worth it to wake up to the sight of white sand and glistening sea.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews