We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Camping Berbere de la Montagne
Ranked #17 of 42 Boumalne Dades B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We stayed in this hotel for one night and unfortunately it was the coldest night of our trip. Since the hotel is higher up in the mountains temperatures are lower than in the rest of Morocco and this hotel is not equipped for cold weather.
We started with a walk up the mountain and tea with a Berber family. The walk was nice, but kind of only up and down the mountain, and we had expected some more interaction with the local people. Our guide was however very friendly and knowledgeable. Dinner in the hotel was nice (we had a meat tajine, which we pre-ordered in the afternoon) but since it was cold and there was no heating the only thing left after dinner was read a book under double blankets.
Besides from cold the room was small and very simple, the bathroom was functional but could use some maintenance, everything was clean though. Breakfast was nice, we didn't have to wait.
All in all a good location in the gorge, and probably nicer in good weather (this may have cost the hotel one dot in my rating), but not recommended if you like a bit more luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

We were making a trip to the desert and decided to make a pits top half way. We had made a reservation at this hotel and it was a good choice. We arrived in the late evening, starving so we had dinner there, and i highly recommend it. Of course, it's not like you have any other restaurants to choose from, but the soup and tajine were really good.
The rooms are not much, but they are clean. It was very cold at night, so we had to turn on the air conditioning. Ours worked but the display on the remote didn't so we had to guess what we were doing. Our friends were not so lucky as their air conditioning didn't work at all. We all had blankets though so it was ok in the end.
Breakfast was sufficient: tea, coffee, bread, a traditionally pastry, butter and jam.
It's a good place to stay when visiting the awesome scenery of les gorges de Dades.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at thsi camping hotel n it absolutely lived up to my expectations . From the staff who were extremely warm and welcoming from the location that is great, right next to the " Gorges " to the special trekking program.
The Wifi connection was b made available. The Internet was v fast.
The room was v cleam. There were an air conditioner.
I appreciated a lot of things abt this hotel but the best experience I lived while being there is the night we spent with a nomadic family. Would never know how can I describe this human unusual n amazing experience ... Would recommend it to everyone.
Finaly If u hav the chance to check this out while travelling do so  u wont regret it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank soumayaMEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night which was perfect. We met a Berber family on the campsite which was very nice. We had a good dinner in the hotel and a nice room. We did a tour in the Gorge with a guide and this was great. The gorge is beautiful and very nice for a walk.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeroen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This venue has both a hotel and a camping, this review concerns only the hotel.
The hotel is located just next to the smallest part of the canyon at a quiet and peaceful location (in my option that is outside the most beautiful part of the valley). It has only a handful of rooms which makes for an intimate setting. The whole place however is a bit worn and seems understaffed.
If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful place with friendly people in an area where you can hike and don't care too much about luxury or comfort, this place is worth considering. Otherwise look for other options nearby.

THE ROOMS
The rooms that I've seen (doors are open when there are no guests) and our room were small, with one or two beds, a nightstand and air conditioning. The room is not decorated and the whole interior is worn. Our beds were very wobbly, hard and uncomfortable.
The bathroom is small and was so narrow that a tall person like me couldn't sit straight on the toilet. The shower is old, leaking, has little pressure, but has warm water. There is no curtain, so half the bathroom floor will be wet after showering.

THE SERVICE
The staff does speak a few words in English but French does the trick. While they are very friendly and relaxed they seem understaffed. It takes them for example 45 minutes to serve breakfast (we stayed for two nights and both mornings this was the case).

THE FOOD
We had diner, lunch and breakfast here. Diner and lunch is good and freshly prepared in their own kitchen. Because they prepare it after you’ve ordered it can take some time before it’s ready (diner took more than 90 minutes). Breakfast is limited, with bread (that was still warm) and a baked egg, coffee, tea and orange juice served at your table.

PROS
- Peacefully and quietly located in a beautiful environment
- Friendly and helpful staff
- They provide excellent guided hikes, this is a good area for different types of hikes
- Free parking in front of the hotel

CONS
- Outdated and worn rooms, with uncomfortable beds
- Small bathroom, not for tall people
- WiFi is only available in the evening and is terribly slow (almost non-existent)
- Waiting time for breakfast is way too long.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martijn_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The hotel is situated deep in the Gorge du Dades, a beautiful ride. Very friendly people, nice rooms. We had a great hike with our guide Hassan, beautiful vieuws, a wonderful experience! He was the nicest person we met in Marocco! We are surely coming back, to stay for a longer time in the spring!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 933mw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was part of our organised itinerary, as was the trekking in the Dades valley.

The hotel was very basic, a wonderful location but inside it's nothing to write home about. The shower in our room had no hot water so we had to shower in another room. The receptionist was really friendly and offered us tea upon arrival. His English was not very good but he tried to communicate with us anyway. What did make us feel rather uncomfortable was that he kept sitting across from us and staring at us ... Had we arrived at the Moroccon version of the Bates Hotel?!

We had dinner at the hotel, very basic but tasty, although it was lukewarm when it was served and cold before we finished it.

The four hour walk through the valley which was part of our program was nice, but not as spectacular as I had expected after visiting the Todra Gorge and driving up through the Dades Gorge.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed_Sander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boumalne Dades hotels
15.5 km away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
1,026 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
984 reviews
16 km away
Auberge La Fibule Du Dades
Auberge La Fibule Du Dades
#2 of 17 in Boumalne Dades
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Tamlalte
Hotel Tamlalte
#5 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
34 reviews
7.6 km away
Amskou
Amskou
#3 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
91 reviews
16.9 km away
Hotel Babylon Dades
Hotel Babylon Dades
#1 of 42 in Boumalne Dades
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Camping Berbere de la Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Camping Berbere de la Montagne

Address: Km 34 Boumalne Dades | Km 34 de Boumalne Dades, Boumalne Dades 45150, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Boumalne Dades
Price Range: C$44 - C$52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel - camping "The Berber Mountain" Ideally located at the foot of the Dades Gorges, in its lowest point, only a few meters from the narrow passage of the river, the hotel is a perfect compromise between comfort / quality and price. Welcome to Hotel - camping "The Berber Mountain" Welcome to Hotel - camping "The Berber Mountain" Recommended by several tourist guides and directories. Several activities are available in this beautiful Hotel. All rooms overlook the greenery of the surrounding fields and the famous Oued Dades with a totally quiet you will hear only the birds and "noise" natural who are not gene on and which are surely part of the charm of the hotel. Moroccan Berber cuisine is one of the most sensual in the world; it solicits our senses of smell, sight and taste - in a way like no other. Ready meals are not the only ones to enjoy this seductive power - many of the ingredients used have ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Camping Berbere de la Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Camping Berbere De La Montagne Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing