We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

A true find. Rooms in main house are delightful albeit a little tired. New suites excellent. Main house still home of owners who are friendly and helpful.
Well locate to explore the local area with hill top towns with most amazing histories and near to mountains and sea

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016

This establishment has been very beautifully designed to incorporate very high standard self catering apartments as well as retaining the beauty and charm of the main residence. No where is out of bounds and it truly is so beautiful and peaceful walking around the grounds with seating everywhere so that you can sit and enjoy the beauty of the place. The main residence is delightful, the owners must be so trusting to have such beautiful personal items on open display.

Our apartment was of a very high standard incorporating the modern with antique furniture and fine artworks, just lovely.

The pool area was so quiet and peaceful a great place to lounge around for the whole day. It was as if we had the whole establishment to ourselves.

On the days we weren't lounging around we got really helpful information regarding sights and places to visit from Andreas in reception, nothing was ever too much trouble for him.

This place is wonderful, situated on a hilltop overlooking farmland, mountains and yes some modern industry, but this does not spoil it whatsoever, a great place to discover the beauty and charm of Le Marche region. A gem.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pecanslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We have just spent eight days at this beautiful establishment. The forward thinking owners have beautifully converted part of their Italian family residence into a number of separate apartments and rooms in the main house, whilst still living in the property themselves. We found it a very quiet establishment with a restaurant attached-see separate review.

It is essentially set on the outskirts a working town, but the setting is absolutely superb with views of the sea and the mountains in the distance. It is a really authentic Italian setting without the Tuscan prices and touristic attitudes. The main house is exquisite and family heirlooms, photographs, paintings, furniture etc are left in the property for everyone to admire. Truly beautiful and it would take a long time to examine each room to do it justice rather than the fleeting visit we made.

We could not fault any of the staff whatsoever. From Andreas, our reception host, ever helpful and always available to give advice to the cleaners with whom we managed to have a very pleasant conversation -even though they spoke little English and we spoke virtually no Italian! An education into Italian working conditions providing a stark contrast to the British situation. A somewhat amusing discourse but highly entertaining and gave us the opportunity to speak to real people.

The pool and surrounding area was very pleasant even though there were railings which had been mentioned by other guests. In our opinion a somewhat overzealous and over the top EU directive forcing the owners to comply with regulations created by bureaucrats in offices rather than on the ground.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, found it difficult to fault any aspect and this place is a real must for anyone who wants to see the real Italy and surrounding area.

If you look them out, there are plenty of decent restaurants outside of the property and charming Italian mountain villages eg Campli, Offida, Grottomare (old town) and Civitella del Tronto, despite the tragic earthquake recently. A perfect base to keep exploring with some R & R in between by the pool!

Room Tip: Apartments have outside seating next to the rooms, Rooms in the main house do not but you can easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank phbatbjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel is lovely and we had a great room in the main house. Unfortunately the hotel is in the industrial zone which is quite ugly. It is also very close to the motorway. The pool area has been ruined by a fence and turnstile which is a shame, it really is very strange. We had booked for 6 nights but left after 2 to head back to Tuscany which is much more beautiful.

On the up side the staff were wonderful and couldn't of been more helpful. The food in the restaurant was delicious and service wonderful. Unfortunately the breakfast was very basic and could be vastly improved upon.

I would give the hotel 4 starts, the staff 5 but the location only 2.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creature99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgostorico, Proprietario at Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our old family house and home, and your comments on our wonderful staff. We appreciate that if you look down into the valley from some parts of our hilltop you can see the effects of modern life - offices and supermarkets as well as trattorias, cafes, etc, and a superstrada on the other side of the valley (thankfully not a motorway!) - but we prefer to look across the valley at the rolling farmland and the high mountains behind - on a clear day you can see the 3000m Gran Sasso.

So although we're not actually in an 'industrial zone' we can unfortunately see some of modern Italy - however with a short drive over to the neighbouring small valleys you can definitely travel back to a more bucolic time, with many wonderful hill towns, castles, wineries etc to explore. Our villa's location may have some imperfections, but we're a great jumping off place for a surrounding area which can definitely rival Tuscany's beauty, and without so many other tourists...

You mentioned the pool strangely having a fence and turnstile - these are to meet recent EU regulations to protect children from drowning. It's not perfect for everyone but parents appreciate it.

Thank you also for your comment on our brilliant restaurateur, very inventive - but rather traditional on breakfast, which in Italy is often very simple (he's recently taken them on... we are working on this...)

We do hope you are able to explore Le Marche further sometime - it has many wonderful surprises, even for Italians...

Kindest Regards,

Stefania Pignatelli Gladstone
Custodian and Curator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This was our second visit to the Borgo, the first time was in 2011, and we were very happy with our stay. On both occasions we have chosen to stay in the apartments which are stylish and comfortable. We had previously enjoyed taking breakfast in the garden but were aware that this had changed as well as the installation of a fence around the pool due to regulations.
The setting is superb; the villa, grounds, chapel and the converted building, and this is matched by the staff, who are all friendly and attentive. Breakfast is now provided in the separately managed restaurant and offers a good selection, unless for some reason you want a "full English".
Many guests seem to stay for only a few days but if like us you want a longer break (we were there for 10 days) there are plenty of places to if you can tear yourself away from the elegance, peace and tranquillity of the Borgo.
We normally like to go to new places so the fact that this was our second visit, is a clear indication of how highly we rate it, it's not a hotel it's an experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

The staff was our favorite part of this hotel. They were absolutely fabulous and always went above and beyond. We had beautiful views from our suite and balcony.

Breakfast was ok but could have had some more variety or hot dishes.

The bed left something to be desired in it's level of softness but it was acceptable.

The restaurant was absolutely fabulous and even if your just passing through should make an effort to go for dinner. So worth it.

I would stay here again without a moment's hesitation.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Our second visit to a unique and palatial villa, steeped in history, and located 20 mins outside Ascoli Piceno. This is a special experience with spacious rooms that are comfortable and elegantly furnished. The grounds are extensive and delightful and there is a family chapel that adds to the beauty of the palazzo. Restaurant excellent and affordable. Staff attentive and most helpful. Overall an unforgettable glimpse into the past life of a historical and fascinating family. A first choice for anyone wanting to visit the south of Le Marche and Ascoli Piceno - a charming and beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel di Lama
11.9 km away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 14 in Ascoli Piceno
1,184 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Casale
Hotel Casale
#2 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
229 reviews
2.1 km away
Bed and Breakfast Piceno
Bed and Breakfast Piceno
#2 of 3 in Castel di Lama
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi

Address: Via San Pancrazio 1, 63082 Castel di Lama, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Castel di Lama
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castel di Lama
Price Range: C$223 - C$392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi Hotel Castel Di Lama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing