We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful gite in a spectacular location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
L'Oudon, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Tom B
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful gite in a spectacular location”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This beautifully restored property has a stunning view from its spacious garden, where we spent many a relaxing evening enjoying a drink as the sun set. The group of historic buildings the property sits amongst is lovingly maintained, with inspired planting of flowers and roses, surrounded by apple orchards. The bilingual owner is helpful and friendly, while giving you all the space and privacy you need.

La Hoguette is ideally located for exploring the area. The countryside immediate around is idyllic, with a pretty hamlet and church within walking distance. The immediate area is blessed with an abundance of cider and Calvados orchards, pretty little towns and villages and a range of locally produced specialities, including the area's famous soft cheeses such as Lisieux and Pont-L'Eveque. Honfleur, Deauville and the coast are all doable in an easy day trip.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rustic Cottage”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage was clean, tidy and cosy. The children and their Grandfather were very impressed with the cottage, particularly the ponies, that they fed and stroked daily. Although the countryside and view from the cottage was very beautiful, it is quite remote and you definitely need a sat nav. Good for a relaxing holiday, especially if you have dogs. There's a large garden and open field that is enclosed, and our dog loved running around.

A welcome pack of milk and bread would of been nice, as it's a long way from any shops, but there was tea, coffee and biscuits and lots of useful leaflets and an information board. The owner lives on site with her dogs and cats, so is at hand for any problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space around cottage
Liked least: It's a bit out of the way
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMV
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed for 6 nights with my family (5 children). Catherine Rigaud, the owner, was very helpful in trying to find adequate activities, and providing the most comfort possible.

The house was simple but very well equiped, making for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
returnsoo...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A serene, beautiful setting for a lovely home away from home.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at the Dairy for a week; our son visited for several days while we were there. The home could have easily accommodated several more. The home was very well equipped for our stay. We cooked several meals and also enjoyed sunset over the valley, sipping cavaldos after dinner. The view of the valley and farm orchards was like a painting. We made day trips to Liseux, WWII beaches and museums, Bayeaux, Falaise,
Giverny. Our only regret? we did not have more time to spend sitting in the garden admiring the view! The owner provided extensive information and history of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The serene setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_and...
1 review
“Excellent service. Perfectly clean and lovely area.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

The 14 of us took over the two Gites on the property for the Christmas week. We are very gratefull to Catherine to accept dogs on the property. A little bit small on the inside but a very good place to spend the holidays : it must be fantastic in the summer! Lots to do with falaiase, lisieux and Honfleur not too far. Thank you Catherine.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTrai...
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We recently spent 2 weeks staying in The Dairy for a family vacation, and had an absolutely wonderful time.

Catherine is an extremely kind and generous hostess, and helped make our vacation in Normandy all the more memorable. We feel as though we have made a new friend, and hope that we can visit again in the not too distant future.

The property is exactly as described and pictured - a traditionally built "colombage" style former dairy - that we found very comfortable for the 6 of us (4 adults, 2 kids). We had ample space for all of us and all our belongings. The Dairy is very clean and well-equipped - we had absolutely everything we needed to look after ourselves. All of the beds were all very comfortable, too. :)

The location is perfect - close enough to Livarot to make a morning trip for fresh croissants, or to the local supermarket, but rural enough to feel completely away from everything. The views from the garden are wonderful - we spent several mornings and afternoons/evenings under the apple tree, just sitting and enjoying the peace and tranquility. On days when we were more active, plenty of activities and places of interest were within easy reach, including the beach and historical landmarks. Catherine is very knowlegable about the local area, and made lots of suggestions, provided information and helped us to book activities we were interested in.

There really isn't anything negative we can think of to say about our experience - and not enough space (or words) to capture how much we truly enjoyed ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Cremona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Merci beaucoup Anna. It was a real privilege sharing La Hoguette with you. I do hope you come again to Normandy. Grazie mille!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing