We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
161
115
31
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
115
31
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public car park pay and display four poster bed generous portions sunday lunch real ale piping hot an evening meal stayed for one night full english lovely room salmon double room excellent value for money family room whiskeys ales
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 334 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2017

The reception wa excellent on arrival and next morning. The waitress at dinner wasof the same standard BUT w were disappointed with our room.. it was clean but small. One chair, the bed was not particularly comfortable and whilst an effort had been made to furnish the room in period, it was too heavy. Bathroom was sparkling but the step from there into the bedroom was not adequately marked and my husband tripped over it. Dinner was good but I've eaten better breakfasts. Sorry!

Room Tip: £90.00 on was expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marg0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

Always a warm and friendly welcome. Very characterful surroundings, extensive lunch menu, and the wine is always served at the right temperature! Good choice of beers too. We haven't stayed overnight here, so can only comment on the bar.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 66Midlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017

i booked this hotel last minute, via Booking.com due to work commitments. on arrival i checked in, my request for a quiet room away from traffic noise was confirmed & i was allocated a room in a little ginnel way, up several stone steps, opposite the main building (room 22 i think).
this room had a hand carved 4 poster bed, with en-suite bath \ shower & loo, big screen tv & tea \ coffee making facilities. it certainly had the WOW factor.
i didn't eat at the hotel that night, but i had breakfast the following day, plenty of choice, & all freshly cooked.
i would definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: be nice to reception !
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelFox1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2016

Quaint old hotel with lovely courtyard, comfy bed and excellent big bath towels but.....four poster bed, huge chandelier, wonky floors, beams, steep narrow stairs, no, not for me. The room was way over furnished and very stuffy but whilst working at the desk I was shocked to feel the whole floor shake as a truck drove by outside, even the door rattled in its frame! Dinner and breakfast good value but sorry I won't be back

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Local to us, we enjoyed a very well prepared meal, very good service excellent value for money (especially the wine) and will be using this place again.
The menu is traditional but its very easy to navigate and choosing well tried favourites is comforting.
There is a smart bar serving very good real ales and a great whisky collection.
Staff are always helpful.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is very good
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews