We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
82
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach eveningfine foodbeautiful locationevery guestcoming backthree nightsvalue for moneygrouphosthospitalityswisssaastipsjulyopportunityterrace
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We a group of 13 experienced touring skiiers spend an evening and a night on this very nice hotel in Saas-Almagell. Very freindly service from the host and all his people. We had a fantastic dinner with three meals. Rooms where modern and very clean. I will come back - thank you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Falholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

If you look for true hospitality on a personal level, coupled with fine food, comfortable clean rooms and excellent service, this is the place. We have been coming back time and again, and we are never disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor offers premium rooms. South-facing rooms catch all the sunshine.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Werner_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

If you want an experience of a real old-fashioned Swiss family-run hotel in a beautiful location, near many wonderful hikes, this hotel is a real find! We stayed for four nights this August and had a wonderful time. Be sure to book an attik-zimmer if you can. Ours was a very large room with a sitting area and balconies on two sides of the hotel and a large skylight in the bathroom. The owners take personnel care of the guests. Herr Zurbriggen makes a point of visiting with every guest each evening. He has hiked the whole area and has a scrapbook of all the routes as well as his personal recommendations. He speaks very good English. The food is excellent. Traditional Swiss dishes superbly cooked. When we were there, all the other guests were Swiss. We enjoyed the all-Swiss experience!

Room Tip: The Attik-Zimmer is well worth the small extra charge
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Mattmarkblick for three nights in July. We had a minor hickup on arrival when the room we'd booked wasn't actually available, but the issue was deal with quickly and we were offered an alternate room at a lower rate.

Our room was fairly compact, but it was comfortable and smartly presented. The shower was excellent, which is very important for me when I return from a day of walking.

The hotel has a nice bar and terrace and a restaurant. Although we used the bar extensively, we didn't have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant (other than for breakfast).

The hotel is very good value for money (by Swiss standards) and was very busy during our stay, so if you're interested in staying you would do well to book well in advance.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We had three times dinner at the restaurant of this hotel. The menu has a lot of possibilities with the famous raclette just at Monday night. The chef served a great steak with the best roesti ever! The other time we has a terrific piece of lamb. We felt home there on base of the ambiance, the quality of the food and the very friendly ladies (Fabienne) who served us. All together we have to say that everything was OK!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews