We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always exciting, every day new adventures”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westpac Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatan-cho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westpac Inn
morro bay, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always exciting, every day new adventures”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

simple place to stay when visiting your Marine at Camp Foster. Price was VERY reasonable. I made several new friends at the Westpac that I have stayed in touch with since returning home.
Desk staff were mostly friendly. Helpful exchanging Yen from the ATM just outside. Became comical when we had almost nightly firedrills and had to evacuate because SOMEONE would burn something causing the smoke alarms to go off. It became another chance to get together and chat about our travels. Shuttle was nice, drove us around the base to destinations. Cheaper than 'honchos'. I would stay there again because it IS inside the base and i could walk to my daughter's barracks or we would meet half way.

Room Tip: get a room with cooking facilities, makes it easier than eating out all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piratebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

If your miltiary and can get reservations here. Id suggest it. Free pc in room with internet. The rooms nie and its right next to the Camp Foster AAFES.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgdeppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We were planning a visit to Okinawa in November 2008 to visit our Marine son. After much checking we made reservations at the WestPac Inn. I was hesitant to stay in a military hotel as I was told by others that if the need arises for military purpose your reservations could be bumped. I specifically asked this question when making the reservation and was guaranteed that this would not happen.
Well, dont bet on it. We were to fly out on Sunday and the Thursday evening 9PM I received a call from the WestPac. Guess what, we no longer had a reservation as there was a meeting of some military contractors and we were bumped out of the hotel.

Our trip turned out fine and we stayed at a lovely lodge (Eagle Lodge) near Kadena Air Force Base. I would recommend it, as the reservation we made was actually held for us.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bgmatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chatan-cho hotels

bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2009

A very nice place to visit, only concern it gets a little cold at night since they don't turn off the conditioner. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meme222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I needed a place to stay last minute in the middle of PCS season, so finding a room that was available for 2 consecutive nights was impossible. I had to move rooms every day for a week. If you know you'll be in Okinawa in the summer and will need somewhere to stay, book well in advance. The rooms were nice. I loved how they had free internet and a laptop in every room! No fees, no signing up for it. It's right next door to a Macaroni Grill and the PX and movie theatre are less than a mile away. The staff is friendly and in the lobby you can rent DVDs for free, but there is a time limit and you will get charged a late fee if they are late in being returned. I didn't need to use the shuttle they offer, but if you need a ride to the airport it beats the high taxi fares.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aidra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This is probably the best military base lodging I have stayed at so far; 10 to date. Three story building with elevator a few hundred yards inside gate. [There is another building which the active duty personal and their families stay at called WestPac Lodge.] Internet in room and they supply the desktop computer if you need one. Biggest laundry room I have seen so far with many free washers/dryers on each floor. They even supply a basket on rollers so one can easily move the wet clothes to the dryer. Macoroni Grill located about 200 yards from Inn. The Inn provides shuttle bus service to Naha International Airport several times a day for $10. Contact the Inn for schedule. The Inn is located at Camp Foster which hosts Camp Butler, Marine Corps Bases Japan command. Most of the base is housing for Marines and their families who work at other Marine bases. Convenient location for in you are working/visiting Camps Foster and Kinser [Marine Corps] and Kadena Air Base [Air Force]. A bit too far south for my commuting if going to Camp Courtney to drive daily.. If going to Camps Hansen and Schwab [Marine Corps], check there for on-base lodging as they are much further north.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTraveler3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatan-cho
0.0 km away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
0.0 km away
The Beach Tower Okinawa
The Beach Tower Okinawa
#3 of 8 in Chatan-cho
736 reviews
0.0 km away
Seaside Hotel The Beach
Seaside Hotel The Beach
#5 of 8 in Chatan-cho
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hamby Resort
Hamby Resort
#8 of 8 in Chatan-cho
27 reviews
0.0 km away
Okinawa Grand Mer Resort
0.0 km away
EM wellness resort Costa Vista Okinawa hotel & spa
EM wellness resort Costa Vista O...
#1 of 1 in Kitanakagusuku-son
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpac Inn

Property: Westpac Inn
Address: Omura | Camp Foster, Marine Corps Base, Nakagami-gun, Chatan-cho 904-0107 , Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Nakagami-gun > Chatan-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality lodging in Chatan-cho
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Westpac Hotel Chatan-Cho
Westpac Inn Okinawa Prefecture/Chatan-Cho, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing