We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quaint hotel in picture book setting with excellent service and food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in picture book setting with excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here one night as part of our Revolution Cycle Tour. Service was outstanding. Lovely rooms with lake view. Nice outdoor seating. No ensuite but dressing gowns and large well appointed bathrooms in the heritage part of the hotel Excellent dinner and breakfast. Hot tub with spectacular view. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    66
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
114
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

A truly stunning location with views down the Lake Wakatipu & up the Dart River. We stayed in the Weka room (ensuite double) - a great room, very luxurious for a hostel room. The toiletries & bathrobes were a lovely touch.

We ate in the restaurant every night as the food is so good. Given the lodge's location the food is good value too. John & Toni are great hosts who make you feel at home. We felt very welcome at the fireworks display which provided much amusement with the kids having so much fun. The hottub is a very welcome addition after a days activities.

This is near to paradise as you can get - we hope to return again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Having checked out the website and the excellent reviews, we stayed a night at Kinloch Lodge after coming back from Te Anau/Miford Sound. It was a pretty long drive, the last 9 km are on gravel road. But we got a splendid view of the eagles swooping down on the pastures along the way.

It was cold and raining that day and next when we were in Kinloch Lodge. Fortunately, we were warmed by the hospitality of John Glover, the manager of the lodge. We had previously booked one of the family rooms at the Wilderness Lodge as the Heritage rooms do not allow kids. That day, there were no guests at the Heritage rooms (a 150 year old Victorian house and rooms), so John allowed us to book 2 Heritage rooms at a reasonable rate, which also came with dinner and breakfast for the adults.

We were unable to do much hiking due to the rain and sandflies, so we pretty much kept indoors. John related an interesting story of how sandflies came about in New Zealand. Accordingly to the story, when New Zealand was first created, it was so perfect no one wanted to leave. So the gods introduced sandflies to drive people out. Kind of accurate though, the sandflies are about the only thing we didn’t like in New Zealand.

Dinner and breakfast at the lodge was pretty decent. It was the only place to eat unless one wants to brave a 50km drive to Glenorchy and back. Alternatively, one can also cook at the hostel.
Still it was a good experience to have stayed at Kinloch Lodge. I am sure if the weather was better, it would have been a beautiful sight. John is an excellent host, so we will highly recommend the place. We will probably visit the place again.

Room Tip: Will recommend the Heritage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlovers168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have just returned from a two night stay at this lodge which was a delight from start to finish. I was based in Glenorchy and had heard that Kinloch was a short drive away [you can also get a water taxi from Glenorchy if you want] and it was so worth the extra few minutes to get there.

The surroundings are brilliant, clean and staff wonderful and informative. You can go kayaking if you wish or just snooze on the beach and be blown away by the awesome scenery. Toni and John who run it are both excellent hosts and make everyone feel at home. I ate in the beautiful [and good value] restaurant one evening and the food was superb, I’m already planning my return visit back to this gem of a place. A must do for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I live just across the lake from Kiinloch in Glenorchy, and have meant to go over and check it out for a while, and was looking for a place to stay to spend a chilled out evening for my boyfriends birthday after walking the first day of the Routburn track, and Kinloch Lodge fitted the bill perfectly. I was not disappointed. What a great little place, one of those little gems that you find by going off the beaten track just a little bit in NZ....completely untouched and unspoilt, but just a stonesthrow from Glenorchy and Queenstown. The rooms were comfy, and the food was great too...the 3 course set menu option is great especially after a long hike during the day. Excellent wine list too! This really is a great place to go if you want a base for some hiking...there are some great walks (both long and short), or if you want a romantic retreat for a few days or just a place to chill! An awesome little place with stunnng scenery and a great atmosphere. It really is close to paradise over here!! The hot tub is a great addition too especially after a long days hiking!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

If you like stunning scenery,fine new zealand food and wine,warm and helpful hosts,
cozy sleeps and peace and quiet...
this place is for you!lots of lovely touches,hot tub,movie room with popcorn maker,really well equipt kitchen and your choice of accomodation to suit any budget..
It is fantastically located with some of new zealand best walks close by..
but I just loved the sunsets,and the sunrises if i could get out of that comfy bed
anyway I will be back one day
charlotte

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Wow - This is an example that sets the benchmark for hospitality for NZ - A must stay, thank you so much John and Toni for being such wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, we will definitely be back again. You both have a genuine interest in your guests and make them very welcome - this combined with an excellent menu makes it one of the best places we have stayed in the country - Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
30.5 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
31.4 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
30.5 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
31.9 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
32.4 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Property: Kinloch Lodge
Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing