We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Chirk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Went for Sunday lunch with family.

The staff were very friendly and the Sunday lunch was lovely and plenty of it! Very reasonable but probably better to arrive early as it seemed to fill up quickly.

Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daisyg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We syayed 1 night at the end of our holiday. Nice decorated room with big fluffy towels. The bar area was very pleasent at the end of a busy day. Breakfast was nice and the service friendly. It was very noisy outside (due to drunk people) late at night that was not the hotels fault but really spoilt a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves_to_travel075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We went for the weekend for a family meal. A very well kept secret. A great atmosphere and food was delicious. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed with my 5yr old (and dog) for 2 nights for an outing to see 'Thomas' at Llangollen. Staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We had originally booked for one night but enjoyed the place so we stayed the following night. We had a change of rooms but no bother to us.
There are various areas to sit in the bar and the restaurant was nicely decorated although we just stayed in the coffee-bar area to eat. Basically, lots of options to choose from for either eating and/or drinking. Good choice
The village is lovely with plenty of green areas for the kids to run off some energy. Chirk Castle is just a short drive away which is worth a visit. Only complaint would be the rooms were so hot (but fans were provided) and on the website, it says the hotel is 'next door to the station'-its actually about a 10/15 min walk.
Overall, a great place to have a pleasant meal, drink and sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helgageorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The beds were very comfortable and the chap on reception was so helpful, they had a good selection of beers, and the wine list looked great. We had breafast the following morning (Sunday) they served betweeen 9am and 10am which was great as we had had a late night on the Saturday and the extra hour in bed made all the difference. They recommended a walk round Chirk Castle which was a 5 minute drive up the road and it was well worth it the gardens and the castle very enjoyable. Would receomment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Booked a friday & saturday night here. The greeting was pleasant & found the staff nice throughout our stay. The hotel is fine, clean, breakfast was nice, can't comment of the evening food as the menu didn't grab us we found other places to eat. The problem starts when you try to sleep anytime before 11pm. On the friday night the base from music in the nearly empty pub below prevented sleep before that was turned off around 11.30pm. The saturday night was a joke, as there isn't any staff on site late we found drunken idiots shouting in the corridors & this continued until the last one went to bed in the early hours. The place isn't well sound proofed. Also the bathroom has some weird water disposal system that also makes noise all night. Shame cause it could be some much nicer

Room Tip: Go here if its empty or if everywhere else is full
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosco_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel while visiting my elderly mother in hospital. The hotel has been refurbished by the new owners and has a fresh and pleasant atmosphere.Our room was clean , the food was excellent, and the manager and staff where always polite and helpfull,we loved listening to the managers broad welsh accent. Myself and lady jeanette look forward to returning to wales and the hotel in the near future

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
8.6 km away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
2.3 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,314 reviews
5.7 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
186 reviews
9.9 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
782 reviews
8.6 km away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Address: Church Street, Chirk LL14 5EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chirk
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing