We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but convenient”
Review of Shepherd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shepherd's Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not the best but convenient”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Me and my wife spent 7 nights in Toucan Inn during our diving holidays. There is also a restaurant in the hotel. We had garden room, which is far from the restaurant. The room was of decent size: lots of space in the room and big bathroom. Cleaning staff was coming every day leaving fresh and clean towels (unless you specifically place them in a way, that you don’t want to replace them)
The restaurant is one of the best in the neighbourhood however not the cheapest one. Staff is very friendly and happy to help.
There are some downfalls as well – room and specially bathroom was looking for general renovation at least, if not the refurbishment. It looks, like build in the 80-ties and not renovated since then. Clean – yes, but with best days long gone. But the worst was the bed - toe most squeeking bed I've ever seen or heard. Every move in the bed was accompanied with whole concert of additional squeeks and sounds.
If you are looking for luxury hotel for your tropical family holiday – don’t go there. However if you want some decent accommodation during your active holidays – it is a good place to go.

Room Tip: Get the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamapafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    132
    43
    23
    4
See reviews for
30
157
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Please do not waste your money on this one !!! Myself, my partner and our family/friends booked Tobage for my wedding. We arrived at Toucan Inn and then the disappointment began. We were given the keys to our poolside cabana - this was small, dark and unclean - even upon arrival !! Within approx. 2 days our air conditioning had broken - despite the fact that we had not touched it. We reported this and finally had it fixed - the evidence for this was that the air conditioning unit was left unclosed and was surrounded by blue paper towels (maybe this was to evidence that this had been done !). Thankfully we were self catering as the food was hit and miss, and ridiculously priced. THE POOL - PLEASE TAKE NOTE - YOU ARE TAKING YOUR LIFE IN YOUR OWN HANDS - LEGIONNAIRES DISEASE SPRINGS TO MIND - body fat aplenty floating and sticking to the sides of the pool accompanied by many dead insects and leaves. We reported this to reception as a health hazard and were told that this is because visitors go into the pool after applying sun lotion (is that not what we are supposed to apply in hot climates ?). Over a three week period, we counted the pool being cleaned twice - not very good I think. To top it all off, we had, prior to arrival, booked to have our wedding meal at Bonkers, however, one day prior to our wedding we were told that they would be closing the Restaurant due to staff shortage and small demand from visitors. This resulted in myself, my now husband, family members and friends searching desperately for a venue to enable a meal to take place - difficult for the amount of people and short notice !! However, in hindsight probably for the best given that the food was so poor at Bonkers anyhow. A plus side of this accomodation is Mr B - Thank goodness for him, he assisted not only in helping with a venue for my wedding meal but also with my flower arrangement. He is a true gentleman and restored my faith in humanity. The rest of the staff were observed as generally miserable - however, if I was left feeling this way within the first week of my stay I am not surprised that this was their presentation given the fact that they have no way out ! My heart goes out to them. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE thoroughly research this place before booking. Also entertainment is next to nothing !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank yrral2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We spent 6nights at the Toucan Inn in a Garden Room. Our friends had a Pool room and 1/2 the size w/tiny bathroom so would recommend spending $20 per night for much better and quieter room!

Restaurant staff super friendly, food a bit slow and pricey even for Tobago, good bar service though!
Clark and Roberto especially friendly!

The pool was wonderful and so was the Dive shop "R & Sea Divers" in the back of the property. The staff very professional and skilled.

Previous people have complained about the animal noise....anywhere in Tobago there are tons of birds and roosters (and goats), so i would say "if you don't like it stay at home!"
Also the cleanliness of the rooms are great. 2 gals spend 15-20mins per room each day cleaning, and always spotless.
Do appreciate the mosquito coils the burn near pool and restaurant at night.

Overall a beautiful setting, just be prepared to walk about 10mins go water, or if rental car, no problem...recommend "Sheppy's Car Rental"!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

My Husband and I had a great stay at the Toucan. It was a birthday trip for the both of us and was well worth it. The complimentary breakfast was ’perfection’ especially the salt fish and bake. The only thing is that they need outlets closer to the bathroom. The surroundings and the service made up for that though.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennPenn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My stay was pretty good. Breakfast is complimentary and tasted great. Only stayed for one night though. The cozy little poolside cabana was sooo cute. The only problem was the the air-condition turned on with a wall switch and controls were not available to adjust the temperature so I was freezing by half-way through the night. Also, the pool cloeses at night, which is understandable as it is right next to the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sboo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I have just returned from a 3 and a half week holiday at Bonkers. It is our ninth visit to this delightful hotel in Tobago. It is a small friendly hotel consisting of 20 rooms, poolside cabanas and garden rooms. The rooms are simple but spotlessly clean and air-conditioned. Lush gardens with many colourful birds. The staff are very friendly and efficient.We have made many friends over the years whilst on holiday at Bonkers. Part of its charm is that because it is small you always getting chatting to people and we have always had a great time. We have always been for Christmas and New Year, but this year are returning for another stay in May. We found the island a little quieter than in previous years, but essentially it is the same. I would thoroughly recommend a holiday at the Toucan Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The rooms are old and not clean. The floor was greasy with something.
One day I got good tuna from restaurant the next day my husband orderd it came with overboiled macaronis.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikiEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
1.2 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
6.5 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.8 km away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
221 reviews
0.4 km away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
5.8 km away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Inn

Property: Shepherd's Inn
Address: Storebay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shepherd's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shepherd's Innis a small and friendly 20 room hotel with teakwood caribbean style decor set amidst am oasis of lush tropical gardens with a relaxed ambiance that keep guests coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shepherd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toucan Hotel Crown Point
Toucan Inn Tobago
Shepherd's Inn Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing