We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is the place you've been looking for!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Bella Vista
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
141 reviews
Casa Bella Vista
View from the Front Portico
Majestic 'Volcano Arenal'
Casa Grande Living Room...55 feet of Views
Pool and Casa Primera
Casa Primera
Casa Grande Jacuzzi with a View of Lake Arenal
Enchanted Cottage...Secluded
Private Gated Entrance
Beautiful Sunsets
Outdoor Rancho for Gatherings and Bar-B-Q
Have Your Wedding Here...Many have!
High Above the Rain Forrest
Our Pool with a View of Lake Arenal
View from Living Room of  'Casa Grande'
My Son enjoying the Typical Food of Costa Rica
Hike on Our Estate
Entering Our Estate of Villas
My Daughter was Amazed..You will be too!
Unforgetable Family Vacation
One of the Many Hot Springs
Are you ready to FLY through the forest?
My Daughter Could do it...Can you?
Graduation from Rapelling School
Not for the Timid!
I'm so Proud of  Son....You can do it too!
One of many Waterfalls
Bamboo bigger that you!
We Can Arrange This for You
Fine Dining Close By
Relax in the Jacuzzi
Casa Grande Dining...Great for Families
Outside the Living Room Window
Sometimes It Is Angry!
Sometimes a Visitor Comes to see Us
Frequent Flyer Miles
A Wonderful Time Awaits You
Family of 12 Adults and 9 Children 6 and under
Tom and Maria will be here to Welcome You
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 141 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Christina...
Culpeper
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“This is the place you've been looking for!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

If you seek a peaceful, quiet vacation with spectacular views and just a short drive to some of the most desirable sites in Costa Rica, then Casa Grande is your dream come true. We rented this house on our recent trip and wish we could have stayed forever. Morning coffee on the huge veranda watching the birds peck away at the bananas and nuts that we offered while listening to the monkeys (although we never actually caught sight of them, darn it!) and watching the sun peek above the mountains and reflect on Lake Arenal. The house was impeccably clean and adequately stocked, although we chose to eat at one of the many delicious nearby restaurants for nearly every meal. And the property's landscaping is amazing! A short drive (45 minutes) to Arenal and the thermal springs is a must! Take Tom and Maria's advice on where to go -- we bypassed Tabacon and went to Los Lagos thermal pools -- a great deal to be had for a full day of soaking in the warm springs water with a fabulous lunch for only $29. Away from the city lights, we enjoyed cool evenings star-gazing on the veranda. Although we didn't use it, the hot tub was warmed and ready and perfectly placed to enjoy the stunning views - day or night. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, you definitely belong here. Thanks Tom and Maria, for your wonderful hospitality and for sharing your property with us! I hope to return for a longer stay next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
We are so happy to hear your special words for our place and comments of the things and sites here offers. Thank you so much as we enjoyed have you all and hope you may return someday in the future. You were wonderful guests. Best Regards, Tom and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fusion of natural beauty and luxurious elegance.”
Reviewed March 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

As four seniors, we truly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the stunning views from both the patio and the interior of this open design mansion. Tom and Maria were gracious hosts as well as old hands in the community who took the time to appraise us of shopping and restaurants nearby.

Nueva Arenal is somewhat of a German expat enclave on the northwestern shores of Lake Arenal, .so you can go out in the morning to enjoy either your fruhstuck or your daysayunos at a number of interesting nearby establishments, take your pick.

We made use of both the pool.in the afternoon and the spa in the evening, My wife Kathie fed visiting tropical birds fresh fruit every day but was less successful at tempting our visiting our Capuchin monkeys down from their arboreal perches by proffering banana treats..

The kitchen is fully equipped and we ate in about half of our evenings. Bring your own favorite spices since since availability is limited in the nearby supermarkets.

The paved driveway up to the top where Casa Grande is situated can be intimidating at first but take your time and enjoy this beautifully landscaped vehicle pathway. If you can drive in Costa Rica, the last few hundred yards to home will be easy..

If you enjoy quiet solitude and stunning natural beauty experienced from a grand and lofty mansion, this is your place.. .

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livenlove...
Inglewood, California
2 reviews
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We rented the whole property for our family. (16 people+ 1 child) It was spectacular! The accommodations were extremely comfortable. The owners were lovely to work with, and were there within minutes after a call. Other than that we only saw them upon arrival and departure. The property has incredible landscaping as well, and the view is amazing. Thank you Tom, and Maria for making us so comfortable, and sharing this little heaven on earth with us. We will be back as soon as possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
It was great having you all as our guest. We are so lucky to have fine people like you and hope that maybe we can cross paths once again some day. Regards, Tom and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonP53
1 review
“An Incredible Vacation”
Reviewed February 10, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Arenal Springs Villas by the lake and Casa Grande are simply spectacular. We normally don't write reviews but we felt a need to share this with others. We were a little worried about another clients words about humidity and not having air moving thru the Villa was completely unfounded for us. The Villa was amazingly clean and weather was very comfortable with nice cool nights for sleeping. Tom and Maria were exceptional hosts and Tom was very knowledgeable about the area as he has been in Costa Rica for more than 13 years. Maria planned all of our tours for us and was spot on defining where we should visit and where to dine. Tom has a hand-drawn two page map highlighting all the useful information such as tours to see and places to eat. Casa Grande is a very private part of the property and we were able to look out the windows or walk just out the door to see exotic birds and animals. My children like us will have these perfect memories for a lifetime. This property is absolutely incredible. We hope to return someday and we highly recommend Arenal Springs Villas by the Lake to all.
Regards,
The Port Family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander408...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had an amazing time in Tom & Maria's property. The property is very well situated and there are many great restaurants and activities nearby. We literally looked out the windows and saw monkeys, parrots and toucans in the trees at the property. The actual villas are very large, clean and nice. The property overall is beautiful and the views of the lake are amazing. Maria also does an amazing job of suggesting and arranging activities. We had two large families in two of the villas and were very comfortable. I highly recommend Tom & Maria's place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Thank you for your nice review. We were happy to have you as guest and for Maria to assist you in finding the right events to attend. Hope you enjoyed all of your time here with us and maybe we will cross paths again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Burk...
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot, Excellent Hosts. Will be back!”
Reviewed December 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This property is gorgeous. We arrived 'late' (dark, 830p) and Tom had the gate open and waiting to greet us. We stayed in Casa Grande, and it was beautiful. The views are spectacular, and it was only a short drive to Nuevo Arenal. Looking off the patio is a great place to watch birds in the morning. We saw toucans and macaws, in addition to the rest of the many species in the area. Hot tub was fantastic after a long day.

Tom and Maria were great hosts. We have been to Costa Rica many times, so didn't really have a need to book tours or any of that, however, Maria has the inside scoop should customers want to. We plan to return soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2017
Always nice to have great polite and clean guests as you. Hope we get to meet each other in the near future...Regards, tom and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimfsu1
Clermont, Fl.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, great owners”
Reviewed December 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

2nd time I have visited Arenal Springs. Previously stayed at Casa grande and this time my family and I stayed at Casa Primera. Home is beautiful and home spectacular. Tom and Maria are great hosts too. Highly recommend this home and owners. Pura Vida

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing