We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Our Lady of Good Voyage

One of the tourist destinations in Antipolo especially for catholics. They have scheduled masses... read more

Reviewed April 1, 2018
Louise Ann C
via mobile
First visit ever

The place is easily accessible from Las Pinas, via Sucat, exit at Bicutan, then via C-6. There was... read more

Reviewed January 24, 2018
Nicolito S
,
Las Pinas, Philippines
via mobile
Read all 103 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Antipolo City
from US$20.00
More Info
from US$36.00
More Info
from US$5.90
More Info
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
51
30
16
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
30
16
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cashew nuts virgin mary church grounds sacred place holy week hinulugang taktak mass voyage image devotees blessing delicacies peace vendors suman prayer souvenirs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 97 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2018

My family and I have been visiting this Marian shrine ever since we were kids. It is located just a few hours away from Manila and it houses one of the most famous and highly venerated images of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the country --- that of Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage or Our Lady of Antipolo. It is a black image brought to the Philippines from Mexico in the early 17th century and is believed to be miraculous. As a kid, I was fascinated by the many stories told about this image (like how it accompanied the galleons during the Manila-Acapulco trade and how the Virgin Mary herself chose the exact place where she wanted her church to be constructed by disappearing from the altar and reappearing on top of a "tipolo" tree).

Every year in the month of May we would go on a pilgrimage to Antipolo to pay homage to this Marian image. After attending the Holy Mass, we would queue to kiss the image, buy local delicacies in the area outside the church (such as "suman" or steamed sticky rice, cashew nuts, mangoes, "tamales", "sapin-sapin", etc.) and then go to nearby Hinulugang-Taktak waterfalls for a refreshing dip and family excursion.

Thank CzarEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

Although my religion is ISLAM I went with my friends from phippines they invited me to see and check what are they doing and their believes.

Thank shammar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This is also included during our day tour and this is our first stop. Maganda yung church though diko sya masyadong nalibot na kasi may on going na mass that time and our tour coordinator just alloted a specific time for us to roam around.

1  Thank Kristalady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

One of the tourist destinations in Antipolo especially for catholics. They have scheduled masses and confessions everyday. You can google fir the schedule. There's a stairs at the back of the altar leading to Our Lady of Good Voyage's mini like museum where in you can touch the back part of her clothes and will see other relics and even write down your wish or thanksgiving. Inside the church, it's very spacious and there are many people you will assist you on chairs that still have spaces for you to sit. Since this church has many visitors, there's a big screen outside for the people outside. They also have a shop where you can buy religious items and even have it blessed. Car blessing is very famous here. If you donate 100php and up, you will have a freebie that you can put in your car for safer journey.

Thank Louise Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

The place is easily accessible from Las Pinas, via Sucat, exit at Bicutan, then via C-6. There was not much traffic.

By mid afternoon, all the parking in the church grounds is taken, and even the nearby Victoria Park and Mall is full. We went and parked instead at the nearby Robinsons Mall and took the tricycle to Antipolo Church (10 pesos each, 40 pesos for the whole trike). We were a party of three.

The whole dome is the whole church itself. Small by comparison, but at least the place is free from hawkers.

The souvenirs and the delicacies sellers are house at the right side. Apparently, the hawkers respect not to enter church grounds.

They still conduct the car and motorcycle Blessings, daily.
The whole procedure is well entrenched and organized.

1  Thank Nicolito S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

Challenging to find a place to park your car. there are also lots of stalls and vendors even some scammer who force you to buy their items

Thank Ailene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

It’s been awhile since I last visited Our Lady of Peace & Good Voyage. Much have changed. There are no vendors within the vicinity of the church. The shrine is well kept and really a place to journey and experience Filipino devotion.

Thank 20Twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

I like the place not only on it's beauty but also in it's history, having a prayer in the catheral clears my mind from the busy city life; but every Sunday the place is full of cars that occupies the open area of the place. So the place become hot because of the open car engine all over the place, sometimes I got interrupted in the middle of my prayer because of the outside noise; but I love the place specially weekday coz you can appreciate the beauty of the cathedral.

1  Thank thed1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

This cathedral was one of the historical sites in the city of Antipolo. Everyday, many people go there to visit, to pray and so forth. We attend short mass and obviously, there were many people around. Outside the cathedral, you will see many vendors selling candles, foods, ricecakes, and other religious stuffs. It's just like Quiapo church in Manila. There's also pasalubong center in Victory Mall, beside the church. Their suman is a must-try.

Thank travelerako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

In the heart of the city is a church. The location of the church is very important not only to the heritage of the city but also to the followers and devotees of the Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage. The wooden image of the Blessed Virgin was last seen on the top of a tree called Tipolo. The location of the tree is where the Antipolo Cathedral is standing today. Thus, maybe, Antipolo got its name from a tree called Tipolo.

Thank Jherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews