We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sail1960
Southampton, United Kingdom

Nice, friendly hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 28, 2017
Stayed and had dinner in this hotel and couldn't fault it. The proprietor was very helpful and the dinner service very good. Food was excellent so in all a good experience. Very good location in the centre of town, but beware the market day for parking!
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Chambre N°10
    0.5 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Vio.com
    1.3 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    scuba diving lessons in the pool
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.9 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    piscine camping val de boutonne 3*, charente-maritime
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.5 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    0.1 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
    Maison D'Hotes Le Cadran Solaire
      3.3 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View (from property/room)
      • Agoda.com
      2.1 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      4.8 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Portail d'Honneur
        0.4 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Vio.com
        6.6 km from Hotel Restaurant De La Place
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
        Reviews (39)
        Filter reviews
        39 results
        Traveller rating
        17
        14
        4
        2
        2
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        17
        14
        4
        2
        2
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        3 - 8 of 39 reviews
        Reviewed December 6, 2016

        Set menu lunch to celebrate Christmas (early) partaken by about 3à people. Service was good, menu well thought through, but main course portion a tad on the small side. A small dining room so we rather overtook it. Needs more than one toilet!

        Date of stay: December 2016
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Carol B
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

        Spent 1 night here on a self guided walking tour. The owner was clearly a consummate professional in both the hotel and restaurant ends of the business. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Wifi went out at one point but this was quickly remedied and reception was excellent.

        Date of stay: October 2016
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        1  Thank tuscantraveler54
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

        Booked a meal for a large group, including children. The food was delicious, I'd say the best we had eaten in the area but oh the service was so poor and really spoiled the meal. From the moment we walked in it was quite clear we, and particularly the children, weren't welcome, the waitress rolled her eyes continuously and bizarrely hissed at the kids! We booked in advance, so I'm not sure why they would accept a booking if they weren't happy to accommodate us?

        Date of stay: September 2016
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        2  Thank Roam531750
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        P B, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant De La Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

        Thank you for your comment and we are glad you enjoyed your food. The table booking was for 10 and when you arrived you were actually 12. We welcome children into our restaurant we have 1 highchair available and a childrens menu with a choice of freshly cooked produce. Our staff went during service to a nearby restaurant to borrow a second highchair, which you decided not to use. We were happy to accomodated your extra customers in an already full restaurant.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed May 20, 2016

        I have returned to stay in La Place after two years to find it an even more enjoyable place to stay. Since my last visit our rooms have been tastefully refurbished, with renovated bathrooms, new floor coverings and furnishings and freshly repainted throughout. It is still an unpretensious hotel, but it punches above its weight as they say. My room looked out over a small terrace court yard. Though smallish, it was simply but very adequately furnished and had a stand for my suitecase, unlike most hotels we have stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet and the sevice here is verry friendly and professional.
        We dined in, and the food and service was excellent. Saint Jean d'Angely has mant attractions, and this small central hotel is a great base from which to explore it.

        Room tip: Either have a room overlooking the square, or a quiet rom overlooking the terrace.
        Date of stay: May 2016
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        1  Thank Thomas M
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed May 6, 2014

        De La Place is primarily a restaurant, but is well worth considering for accommodation. The carpet upstairs is very tired and needs replacement, indeed the rooms now seem tired and in need of refurbishment. My room, ' Mimosa' was large, as was my bathroom. I had plenty of room to get around the very large bed- actually two singles put together; the furnishings are tired yet still functional. The shower cubicle in the bathroom has strange doors that swing in and don't close very well, but otherwise it was more satisfactory than many smarter looking bathrooms and indeed bedrooms. Our evening meal was good, as was breakfast. The manager was most helpful and spoke excellent English. The Hotel de La Place is in the square with the major civic buildings, unfortunately spoilt by being a car park. The old town centre is close at hand, and there is plenty to see in the town.

        Room tip: The Mimosa room was very satisfactory. Expect two star quality and you will be pleasantly surprised.
        Date of stay: May 2014
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Thomas M
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews