We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carolyn P
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France

Excellent and enjoyable

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 15, 2020
A wonderful and warm welcome by the staff of this lovely restaurant. Tasteful decor, great atmosphere, amazing food, beautifully presented and discreet but attentive service.

A valentines meal of excellent quality and no feeling of being commercially ripped off because it was Valentines....and ww came away with the flower arrangement from our tavle as a gift.
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
piscine camping val de boutonne 3*, charente-maritime
C$156
  • Agoda.com
    C$156
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
Free Wifi
Free parking
scuba diving lessons in the pool
C$318
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$318
  • Agoda.com
    C$318
1.9 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$143
0.4 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
View (from property/room)
C$116
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
Maison D'Hotes Le Cadran Solaire
C$137
    3.4 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$168
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    7.1 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$122
    • Agoda.com
      C$122
    2.8 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
    C$88
    • Agoda.com
      C$88
    1.2 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
    C$110
    • Expedia.com
      C$105
    • Hotels.com
      C$99
    • Agoda.com
      C$110
    2.9 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
    Free parking
    C$95
    • Expedia.com
      C$91
    • Hotels.com
      C$94
    • Agoda.com
      C$95
    4.6 km from Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
    Reviews (90)
    Filter reviews
    90 results
    Traveller rating
    60
    27
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    60
    27
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 90 reviews
    Reviewed June 4, 2019

    I like this restaurant, the personnel is very efficient and nice, the food is good, and the price is very good according to the quality of everything in this restaurant. the surrounding is nice. I recommend it

    Date of stay: May 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank marie claire L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 16, 2018

    As I had been walking the camino for nearly two months before reaching St Jean d'Angely I really was ready for something beyond a gite communal but never would I have guessed that the only place available in town would be a hotel as deluxe as La Goule Beneze.
    The room was lovely and modern, the bed very comfortable and the evening meal was definitely worth the walk.
    I absolutely recommend this hotel and restaurant to all travelers.

    Room tip: My room at the back was very quiet
    Date of stay: October 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Penny P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 12, 2018

    A good hotel to break your journey. Very comfortable rooms - restaurant with a terrace. It's a short walk into the town to discover the charming centre and the abbay dating from 815ad. It's only 45 mins by car from La Rochelle or Rochefort and the sea and beaches.

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Thank StevedeToulouse
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

    We had arranged to meet our friends, who had been long standing customers of the Restaurant for a Birthday Celebration.. and it turned out to be a real joy !
    Fantastic welcome, Great Service and very attentive staff.
    The Restaurant is spotless and warm.
    We chose from the menu various dishes, the Rabbit was excellent, the fish looked great.. but my starter of the Andouille with Camembert was the revelation.
    Sharp, High and not to everyone’s taste but it was worth it.
    Delightful.
    Café Gourmand to finish..
    Not overly expensive it would seem for an excellent meal, although we were being treated.
    Thank you and we will return!

    Date of stay: November 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Vacationer621733
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 1, 2017

    Great hotel with a fantastic atmosphere and welcome.. nothing was too much trouble.. the room was simply brilliant and so French.. happily recommend and would definitely stay there again... the service was excellent

    Date of stay: July 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Rob S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews