We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguide paulair conditionedmangrove jacksthreadfin salmonfishkannafacilitieschefmealsspeciesexperience
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2015

just returned from 4 days fishing at the Johnson river camp. It was a truly unique experience ranging from river and creek fishing to 5klm offshore shoal fishing. the fishing was truly fantastic with plenty of fish each day ranging from barra , mangrove jack to snapper . I cant speak highly of the staff, Ben for (patiently ) sorting out my backlashes and plenty of fishing tips to Johnno for his cooking of our catches and the great meals he served up.if you the slightest interest in the Australian wilderness,history and catching heaps of very large fish (and eating them ) GO NOW.it is truly a unique experience. and the mudcrabs were pretty damn good too. thanks guys, you made it all work.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Darron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Johnson River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2015

Hi Darron, thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

It sounds like you had a great trip and the Jono and Ben work very hard to try and ensure it all works seamlessly. Darron, we get fisherman of all experiences at our lodges and having top quality equipment and knowledegable guides makes it all so simple to catch those fish.

Thanks again for your kind words and I'll be sure to pass your thanks on to the Johnson Camp boys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

The crew at the Johnson River Camp were fantastic! Very knowledgeable on fishing, friendly, always up for a laugh, willing to bend over backwards for any requests and at the end of the day would dish up some incredible food!
An area of Australia still mostly untouched, a huge array of natural wildlife, pristine water ways and down to earth people. Just amazing!
Will definitely be booking for another trip in the near future.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank SVR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Johnson River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your last fishing trip.

Your spot on when you talked about the untouched beauty of the Tiwi Islands. It's more how Australia used to be without the crowds. My wife, Janie and i had a day up legendary Goose Creek a few days ago and we saw thousands of birds, one a spotted whistling duck, rare in Australian waters. A 5 mtr croc was swimming around with a small water bufallo in its mouth. On top of that we were catching salt water fish and fresh water fish. This and more all in one day.
Another nice part of it is never seeing another boat while out for the day.

Thanks again for visiting us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Do not miss a chance to visit this awesome place. The fishing was fantastic,barramundi galore, including a personal best over a metre, threadfin salmon, jumping mangrove jacks, trevally and crabs just to name a few of the species that can be caught! The overall experience of the camp setting, the superb meals and the friendly, knowledgable and patient service provided by Scott and Johnno always exceeds expectations.
Very comfortable airconditioned sleeping, bathroom facilities for ladies and men. Any requests regarding food/ drinks catered for on booking. We have already booked the next trip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank OMarafdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Johnson River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a comment. Scott and Jono work very hard to make it the best camp and do a great job. I'll pass your comments on to them.
Welcome to the meter club by the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC