We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
23
43
56
34
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
43
56
34
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews staff at reception large garden cool towels enjoyable stay sea view facilities
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 193 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

We had a very unpleasant experience. The management and reception staff were extremely rude, unwelcoming, unhelpful and ill-mannered. They treated us with condescension and even griped about us among each other while we were within earshot. Rooms and facilities were in a state of disrepair, with dirty floors, broken doors and malfunctioning toilets. Many of the amenities promised didn't even exist. The beach cannot be accessed from the hotel and in any case, it's too dangerous to swim there. The food was stale and recycled from previous meals. Very unsatisfactory and disappointing. Will never return for a visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Maps738911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan O, Manager at Peacock Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We have sent your comments to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.
With regard to your comment on the food, we assure that we do not recycle any food as you have mentioned and our chefs do take a great care in the preparation of food and maintains a high standard of hygiene and quality.
So we do hope that you would visit our hotel once again and enjoy our services….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

We 9 friends end of our stay at another hotel in the city wanted to visit this hotel as it was very renown back in the days and v have stayed there few years back .
Once there we thought lets use the pool for 2 hours . So v paid and started using the pool.

After using for a bit we noticed v getting cuts on our feet and v came out of pool to check and saw all 9 of us got cuts and were BLEEDING .

Shocked we went and complained to the manager . He was like yeah we knew this problem that's why we have started renovations .

We were like what!!!!! U knew and allowed us to use it !!! He said sorry . We were furious . He was like he would refund the money . We wanted to speak hotel GM as by this time he was blaming other staff for in a kind of pass the blame antic .

GM was unavailable and he was on leave .

Finally with a disappointment and cuts on our feet v left with refund . Manager said he will
Contact us once GM is back

Don't goto this hotel . It needs a major refurbishment and in ruins

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
8  Thank shirasmisbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Just popped in for a drink after dinner and were greeted by several members of staff at reception, including the duty manager who showed us up to the bar so we could see the sea. He was very friendly and facilities looked great. Despite not staying for a drink (their licence was being renewed) they called a taxi for us to take us back to town. Would love to stay there!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

This hotel was once well known in Hambantota however this is no more the first choice for people visiting Hambantota. I was on an official visit and stayed 1 night but personally I wouldn't have wanted to stay another. The reception and lobby areas are in a good standard for a 3* but the rooms are badly maintained, with leaking bath rooms and very basic amenities. Gives you a feel of running a hotel for the sake of running the business. The staff however are trying their level best to serve you but fall short as it is like trying to sell something which has a bad appeal. This property needs to be renovated real quick and needs proper marketing and advertising. Restaurant has a framed jersey of the Australian cricket team which has stayed here ages ago during a Sri Lankan tour which clearly give you the idea that this was once a sought after hotel.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the sea side rooms during rough sea season. You will hardly get any sleep as the waves hit the nearby reefs quite loud.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tyrone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Ii was a marvelous holiday for me & my family, we were at peacock beach hotel on our way to katharagama. we had one night stay there,
we reached the hotel around 1 O'clock in the evening & were warmly welcomed by offering cool towels & testy welcome juice. it made us refreshment.
Rooms are old but maintained in good condition.overlooking sea sight was amazing.
we had a tasty b'f with local & international varieties.
staff is very friendly & helpful.

Nice place for holiday

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mario r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews