We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
4
1
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
1
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Two families (4 adults and 5 kids all under 8) from Sydney stayed over a weekend in April to attend a wedding at the "Hunter".

Pat and Mark were excellent hosts. The cottage was well equipped and very kid friendly. It had a real rustic feel to it which is what initially drew us to the place.

The kids loved their stay and called it their "home". There was ample space for them to play and it was a real treat for them to watch the sheep in the paddock.

The lodge has a great BBQ/entertainment area which we fully utilised.

As a seasoned traveler who values a comfortable bed I found sleeping at the lodge an exceptional experience.

Definitely would stay again next time we are up that way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Lovedale Country Lodge and had an absolutely lovely time. There were 3 couples and we all had an equally beautifully "country" decorated room. The whole place was extremely clean and tidy with everything you needed. DVDs, reading material, CDs. plenty of milk, butter, condiments, gladwrap and even aerogard were just a few extras to mention. It was so peaceful sitting on the back verandah watching the sheep grazing and all the colourful birds. Brad, the owners son in law, was also an excellent wine tour guide and a top bloke. He drove the 6 of us around for 3 hours (in our own car) to some of the best wineries in the Hunter Valley for a price a lot cheaper than all the wine tours we looked at on the internet. Pat and Mark, the owners couldn't do enough for us and we will definitely be coming back again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueHam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Soon upon arrival, there is no greeting from the landlord she instead showing us attitude.

Before we confirm the booking she said everything will be provided. However when we ask for a new pack of foil (there was only tiny little bit left) she was so reluctant to give it to us. same as toilet paper! when we run out she didn't refill it. OMG how much does it cost for those cheap toilet paper? ( forget about it if you are expecting good brand !)

We will never book this accommodation again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGLLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This place was perfect.
We stayed for a girls weekend and the size was perfect for us all to be together. It had 5 queen bedroom and 2 bathrooms, so there was plenty of room. The BBQ entertaining area was a great spot to sit back and relax.
The location of the property was just far enough out to be peaceful and private and close enough to be around everything. It was about a 5-10min drive to the village shopping area. So a very handy location.
The owners do have a house on the same property. However, we did not find this an issue at all. The 2 times we saw them (over our whole weekend stay), they were lovely. Very friendly and helpful. They respected your privacy, but did inform us to pop over and see them if we needed anything.
The house was clean and the yard were beautiful and well looked after. This spot would be perfect for any groups. I will be back with my family. My kids will love this place, with the miniture horses and sheep around.
If you need a place to stay, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Our trip was almost entirely spoiled by the owners of this property. They tried to charge us more than they quoted once we arrived at the property although we had confirmed numbers and rooms required when booking. Also there own brochures had the original price they had quoted us as the price for a weekend stay!?!

After abusing myself and my husband they then advised us on the Saturday night that checkout would be at 10am sharp. At 9am they asked when we were leaving and then continued to check every 10-15mins. Although they could clearly see we were all packing up our cars to go. We left after cleaning up after ourselves and left at 10:05am. 10 mins down the road we realised we had left something behind. Upon returning to the house we checked inside but it was missing. The owner was watching us the entire time through there window. After not finding it my husband returned to the car. I suggested he ask the owner .. he went knocked on the door and asked.. to our surprise she did. We were thoroughly disgusted that she would take it and make not attempt too return it to us when we returned although she knew we were back. Would that not be theft?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlestartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews