We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No question as to where we will stay when we go...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Brook Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Brook Cottage
Rear patio area
Outside
Play area for children
Small stream around Brook Cottage
The Dolmen
The famous Cliffs of Moher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kilfenora, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
debirose3
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“No question as to where we will stay when we go back to ireland again...Brook Cottage!”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the warm and helpful Margaret and P.J (cottage owners) to the beautifully decorated cottage. This place is a true gem!
Out in the country so that we lived the real Ireland, yet stocked with all of the amenities you would need.
We will stay there everytime we go to Ireland.
Good location to take day trips from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clctorrie
Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Lovely cottage run by lovely people”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The cottage was ideal -- clean, cozy, comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need to cook, which we did for the week we were there. The peat and/or wood fire was cozy to beside on a winter's evening. It would be a lovely place to stay in the summer time. Margaret and PJ were so kind on our arrival and departure. We had a problem with the fireplace and they took care of it promptly and kindly. We would be happy to stay there again another time. Note that the heating and electricity are paid for at the end of your stay. Be aware to not leave it turned on when you're away. Sorry this has taken me so many months to write. The year has gone by so quickly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilmira
Black Diamond, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in County Clare”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I've stayed with my 10 year-old son and was joined later by my sister. The house is extremely clean, Margaret and her husband are so friendly and accommodating. Cottage is only 2 minute drive from the Burren Centre, surrounded by pastures. Loved Kilfenora, a small, quiet village about 45 minutes from Shannon, 10 minutes from Ennistymon (Super Value grocery shop is here, restaurants, crepe cafe, small shops), 20 minutes from Lahinch (gift shops, restaurants, cafes, golf...), about 20 minutes to Doolin cave and the cliffs
The house is well stocked with utensils, pots, plates, towels....
My son and I wish we could've stayed longer.
The only thing we missed was WIFI.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bookmille...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything that has been said by previous renters is true. This is a wonderful place to stay. It is an older cottage that has been nicely updated to contemporary standards. We found the cottage to be very clean, with clean sheets and towels. We stayed in the bedroom with the double bed and attached bath. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you might need for any meal: pots and pans, dishware, utensils, microwave, toaster, coffee carafe, etc. There is a washer and a dryer, both well maintained. The flat screen TV works well. The cottage is surrounded by fields in a very quiet setting, but not far from Kilfenora (less than 5 min by car).
The pleasure of this setting and comfortable cottage is only enhanced by the owners. We only saw them at the start and end of our week, but we found Margaret and PJ to be wonderfully warm (and the scones were great!). Thank you, Margaret and PJ for making this such a pleasant place to be! You've clearly put a lot of heart into making it a special place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Hi Lee,
Thank you for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
Margaret & P.J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dangela20...
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect location for visiting all that north clare has to offer. very close to all the main attractions. the house has everything you would want and was the perfect size for our family of 4. plenty of scope for the boys to play outside and very safe. a rural location but only 2 mins in the car to the village. the main shopping town nearby(10mins) is ennistymon.
the owners were lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very close to all the attractions
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Hi Angela,
Thank you for the lovely review. Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas F
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our stay at Brook Cottage was simply wonderfull. The owners Margaret and PJ warmly welcomed us with tea, fresh milk & cake. The cottage was very tidy & clean, and the living room with stove and TV was very cozy. The crackling stove was already burning when they showed us around the cottage. The kitchen was well equiped, bright & spacious, and the bed/mattress was really comfortable. The cottage is surrounded by farmland, green fields and a little brook. The place is purely relaxing and soothingly quiet. If you seek to escape the hectic & loud city- this is where you want to go.
Kilfenora is only a minute drive away and offers shops, pubs, church & tourist info & more. We really enjoyed Linnane's Pub, with nice people and traditional live music (on occasion). The cottage is also perfectly located to discover Clare county. There are countless paths, attractions & sights, reachable by car in little daytrips.
It was always nice to return to the cottage after a long and adventurous day. We are looking forward to arrive at this magnificant place some day again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
Hi Andi. Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was so nice to meet you both. You are welcome back to Brook Cottage anytime.
Margaret & P.J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beix28
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great base to Co. Clare”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent the second week in August and we really love it. We met PJ and Margaret at pre-arranged time at Burren Centre in Kilfenora. They waited for us for around one hour the time pre-arranged but they didn't mind. On the contrary, they welcomed us very friendly and followed them out the road to Brook Cottage. Tea, coffee and cake were out waiting in the kitchen for us!

The house is just as in the photos, nice and comfy. We dined every night in the cottage, as it had everything to cook. We played games with the children everyday, as there was no wifi they forgot about their chats and games with their friends on the mobile. It was perfect!

We very much recommend the cottage and the location.

Thank you Margaret!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Hi Beatriz,
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Brook Cottage. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards,
Margaret & PJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing