We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tomas

Main living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living room.
Fireplace Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Main living room.
Fireplace
Dining area
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
Master Bedroom and balcony.
Second bedroom.
Casa San Tomas.
Basement / garage - games room.
Outdoor seating for 8 people
Nordic Jacuzzi hot tub
Wood fired jacuzzi hot hub
Hot tub with lighting.
Local pool 5 minute walk away.
Lake at sunset
Salobrena beach
La Herradura beach
La Herradura
Ski resort in winter.
Sierra Nevada ski.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guejar Sierra, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your kind words about our home. The presentation and high standards within the house are very important to us and we are glad you found everything to be immaculate. Yes the close proximity to the ski resort makes Guejar a much more affordable and friendly place to stay. Great bars and restaurants within walking distance of the house, together with much more reasonably priced ski hire are the main reasons why we chose to own a home there. We would of course love to welcome you all back again in the future. Thanks Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sonja S
Algoz, Portugal
1 review
“A fantastic family getaway in first class accommodation!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Casa San Tomas over New Year and had the most fantastic time. The accommodation was just perfect for us as a family with two young children. We had absolutely everything we required during our stay and will definitely be returning. The village of Guejar Sierra was beautiful and the new year celebrations were great - champagne, grapes and party bags for the kids. A short drive up the mountains takes you to the ski resort of Sierra Nevada which I can only describe as stunning. My children had never seen snow before (as we live in the Algarve) and they absolutely loved it. The tapas in the local village were delicious and everybody was so friendly and welcoming. We even manged to meet the Marquis de la Malafolla whose bar is a must to see! A fantastic time was had by all and thank you Mel for letting us stay in your beautiful house - we felt so at home! Kids want to come back to the snow again soon but only if we stay at your house again!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - couldn't fault it.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you chose to spend the New Year in Guejar and had such a wonderful time. Yes we agree the Tapas is rather good and plentiful! We have designed the house with families in mind and of course would love to welcome you and your family back again in the future. With the ski resort so close you can hopefully enjoy some skiing next time. Thanks again Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila s
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely property in a very friendly village”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Casa San Tomas is immaculate and very tastefully furnished. The view from the windows in the morning lifts your spirit and makes a great start to the day. Guejar Sierra itself is a very friendly village, almost no english spoken but great fun to shop in the small shops and mini markets as everyone was so helpful, the little shop just down the road between the village square and the church is a must, such a nice lady so helpful. We visited 2 beaches and the ski resort while we were there all within reasonable reach. Granada and the Alhambra are a must do, we went in to Granada 5 times on the bus only 1.65 Euros each way not worth driving and parking. The 390 worked like clockwork always on time if only english buses did the same! Will definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We have spent a lot of time designing and furnishing the house and are delighted with the result. Yes we agree the village is a perfect location to sample the 'real Spain' and is ideally situated for Granada, the ski resort and the beaches. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine...
Buntingford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect house in a perfect location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were looking fr a location which offered beautiful scenery and surroundings, typically Spanish and the opportunity for wonderful food and Guejar Sierra offered this in abundance. The bonus was the beautiful house - immaculately furnished, maintained to a very high standard and offering comfort and style. The garden at the rear was spacious with a plunge pool and had an area with flowers and shrubs which, along with sun loungers and a dining area, made it the perfect place to relax and unwind after a day out. Each time we walked around the area, we discovered something new. The village offers everything you need - Felix's bar, where we spent time in the pretty square in the evening, offers the best Sangria - from restaurants to little shops with owners who became well known to us during our 2 week stay. The local and frequent bus down to Granada was an unexpected bonus. We loved it there and will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and house
Liked least: Nothing negative to say at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our home Casa San Tomas. We are so pleased you enjoyed your 2 week holiday and made such good use of the pool and garden. We agree that the courtyard garden comes alive in the summer and is a perfect oasis to relax. The bars and restaurants in the village serve superb food and Tapas and we will pass on your comments to Felix's about their Sangria! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a property for a super chilled break.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you are looking for somewhere just to relax and re-charge, this is the place. House was larger than it looks in the pictures and secluded little garden was a god send. House is beautifully furnished and immaculate - even a bottle of wine waiting in the kitchen! Village is large enough that there is a good selection of restaurants (La Hacilla is a must) and small shops for essentials, but small enough to be really friendly and utterly Spanish - did not hear an English voice all week. Little square just comes alive in the evenings and is great for a spot of "locals watching"!Granada is within easy striking distance and a visit to the ski resort took about 25 mins. All in all a cracking week - left feeling thoroughly chilled!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chilled atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about Casa San Tomas. We take a huge amount of pride in the appearance of our house and are delighted you found it to be immaculate. It is equally nice to know how much you enjoyed Guejar. It is indeed a beautiful village with lovely bars and restaurants. The local people are always so welcoming and I think that contributes to the overall feel of the village. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Estamos contentos os ver una vez mas en Guejar y que estais satisfecho con todo en nuestra casa - por nosotros, es muy importante saber que todo es bueno! Matt Y Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nos ha gustado todo
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Dec 2013
Estamos muy contentos de que usted ha tenido un rato agradable en nuestra casa. Si, la chimenea es sin duda una maravillosa característica en esta tiempo del año!! Acuerdo sobre la evaluación de Encapaco; muy bienes tapas allí todo el año. Gracias de nuevo por eligir nuestra casa y esperamos volver a darle la bienvenida pronto de nuevo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing