We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home in a beautiful Spanish village.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tomas

Main living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living room.
Fireplace Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Main living room.
Fireplace
Dining area
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
Master Bedroom and balcony.
Second bedroom.
Casa San Tomas.
Basement / garage - games room.
Outdoor seating for 8 people
Nordic Jacuzzi hot tub
Wood fired jacuzzi hot hub
Hot tub with lighting.
Local pool 5 minute walk away.
Lake at sunset
Salobrena beach
La Herradura beach
La Herradura
Ski resort in winter.
Sierra Nevada ski.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guejar Sierra, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Warren B
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home in a beautiful Spanish village.”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Guejar Sierra at the villa Casa San Tomas which had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. The bedrooms were a good size and the table tennis was extensively used :). The area has a lot to offer from hill walks to beach days or just have a lazy afternoon in the village a 2 minute walk from the villa. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves (2 x adults and 3 x children under 16). Hope to return either for the ski season or next summer, thank you soooo much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes the area really does have something for everyone. We are glad you made use of the table tennis and found the facilities at the house to be good. We hope to welcome you back to experience the area in the winter so you can enjoy some skiing! Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen_Pau...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a week in Casa San Tomas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have rented accommodation in many parts of Spain in the past few years and this is probably the best we have found. The house is a fine size, is very tastefully decorated and well equipped. The patio area has a nice amount of sunny and shady areas, and the tub is a real bonus. We had stayed in the village before so we knew our way around. Its a great place to experience everyday Spanish life and is also a good base for walking or exploring that part of Andalucía.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. That really is a wonderful compliment. Standard of furnishings and ensuring the house is well equipped is very important to us. The hot tub is a new addition and we are continually looking at ways to improve and enhance the holiday experience. We really hope to see you all back again in the future. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELEN1DUG...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and very relaxing!”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We travelled with two daughters 12 and 14, the accommodation is spotless very modern and loads of great information on arrival to decide what to do each day. From climbing Sierra Nevada mountain to relaxing by the natural pools next to the restaurants a short drive away and walks to more foody places along the river are just some of the things we did in an absolutely stunning location. Visit to Granada are super efficient on the local bus and just 20 mins away. A car is essential here and the roads are narrow in the village but very safe. All the food we needed was on our doorstep and fresh and healthy as you can get. We visited the beach an hour away and a straight route down the motorway no problem. Highly recommend this as a great family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. Yes the area is a food lovers paradise. There are many lovely restaurants nearby and fresh food can be bought locally and cooked at the house if preferred. Public transport is very regular although if you wish to explore off the beaten track a little, then a car is useful. We are glad you enjoyed a trip to the coast where the fresh seafood really has to be experienced. We hope to welcome you back again in the winter for skiing. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alic43
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday location!”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Casa San Tomas is the perfect place to stay for a trip to the Granada area, with lots to see and do. The house is beautiful, well equipped and has amazing views. Easy access to mountains, the cultural wonders of Alhambra, and the beaches of Costa Tropical. For those looking for adventure, we recommend horse riding in the mountains or a paragliding trip.
Plenty of local restaurants and bars and a cheap bus ride to visit Granada itself.
Thanks Mel - we will definitely be going back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. It sounds like you had an action packed week! It is true that the house is perfectly located, within easy reach of Granada, the coast and the ski resort. The ski season is long, starting in December and running through to the end of April. It is possible to ski in the morning and be on the beach by late afternoon! The views when there is snow on the mountains are spectacular! We hope to see you again very soon. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamBradbu...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A lot of the time when you look at descriptions and photo's of properties abroad you always have that nagging fear that what is advertised is not what you find when you arrive - I am pleased to report that Casa San Thomas not only lives up to its descriptions but also far exceeded our expectations!
The house was sparklingly clean and very well appointed throughout, the beds were super and the living area was very comfortable. The bonus of a washing machine and dishwasher certainly added to the experience.
Guejar Sierra itself is a lovely village with lots going on at night - you can walk down to the square and visit several bars all of which bring Tapas with your drink which saves cooking for the evening if you so wish!

This was a great find for our family and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the property
Liked least: No Internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. High standards in both comfort and cleanliness are very important to us. We are glad you found the house to be equipped with everything you needed. You are absolutely right, you can enjoy the generous tapas in the bars and restaurants and never need to actually buy an evening meal! Glad you managed to enjoy the cycling and we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can enjoy the views with snow on the mountains. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Many thanks for choosing Casa San Tomas for your holiday. Guejar Sierra is the prefect place to experience the 'real Spain', the lack of tourism is part of it's charm. The location of the house means that the many bars and restaurants are only a short walk away. We are pleased that you found the house to be comfortable and well equipped. We purposely do not have WIFI as there are many bars and restaurants where this can be found and guest feedback suggests that the feeling of 'being away from it all' without the distractions of emails and internet is actually quite nice. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sheila s
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Return visit to Casa San Tomas”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Casa San Tomas. The house was just as spotlessly clean and comfortable as last time. We spent quite a bit of time walking this visit, the walk along the old tram route was lovely we had lunch at the restaurant half way along. While we were in Guejar there was a wedding in the village church and we sat outside with the very friendly locals drinking a glass of Sangria while we waiting for the Bride and Groom to come out of church, a lovely way to finish a perfect day. we will certainly be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfort of the house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Many thanks for returning to Casa San Tomas for your holiday. We are pleased you enjoyed the walking, this time of year is perfect for exploring the mountains and surrounding areas. The village has a charm of his own and we are glad you were able to experience traditional Spanish culture. We hope to welcome you back again next year!
Mel and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing