We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house & excellent value”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tomas

Main living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living room.
Fireplace Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Main living room.
Fireplace
Dining area
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
Master Bedroom and balcony.
Second bedroom.
Casa San Tomas.
Basement / garage - games room.
Outdoor seating for 8 people
Nordic Jacuzzi hot tub
Wood fired jacuzzi hot hub
Hot tub with lighting.
Local pool 5 minute walk away.
Lake at sunset
Salobrena beach
La Herradura beach
La Herradura
Ski resort in winter.
Sierra Nevada ski.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guejar Sierra, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RiaRy
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely house & excellent value”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from a week in this fab house. We had a lovely stay and I would highly recommend Casa san Tomas to couples, families and groups of friends.

I could wax lyrical but instead will try and provide a review that's useful if you're thinking of booking!

- Booking was really easy. Mel remained in touch via email and everything went very smoothly.
- The directions we received to get to the house from the airport were absolutely brilliant and completely removed any stress related to getting off a plane, into a strange car, driving on the wrong side of the road (sorry) and feeling ever so slightly dazed about suddenly being in beautiful Sierra Nevada rather than grimy London
- Someone was there to welcome us on arrival. We parked outside the house which I 'think' was ok...
- There's loads of really useful information about the area, places to visit and places to eat in the folders Mel's compiled. There's also maps and an atlas which proved really useful on trips to the coast.
- The house is well equipped (filter coffee machine, toaster, kettle, massive fridge with chiller blocks and cooler bags in the laundry room etc) and very comfortable with air-con in the lounge and master bedroom. The double bed was incredibly comfy and the shower's great. I did struggle to operate the microwave, but am guessing that's because I couldn't be bothered to look for the manual
- There's no wifi but you can get 3G if you're desperate for the internet. Plenty of books and games plus Wii and Playstation and 1 English channel on the TV.
- There's a beach umbrella and some chairs in the garage (we discovered them on our last day)
- The rear courtyard is little sun-trap and perfect for chilling out. The balcony has amazing views over the mountains and is just the right size for 2 to share a bottle of wine as the sun goes down,

Guejar's a lovely little village with a number of good restaurants (Sulayr and La Hacilla were our favourites), bakeries, butchers and grocers. There's also a couple of small supermarkets for essentials.
Be warned though, the hills here are STEEP! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have mobility problems as I suspect getting around could be a challenge. The roads are cobbled and very twisty (but it is built into the side of a mountain so I guess it's to be expected).

Things to take with you:
Soap for the bathroom sink
Any condiments, tea or coffee you may need (there was oil and salt only)
Dishwasher tablets (other kitchen essentials was provided)

Thing to consider:
- We hired a car but I think you could probably get away with staying here without one if you got a taxi from the airport (there were quite a few waiting when we arrived Sunday evening) and don't mind a bit of walking when you're in the village; it was about 45 mins door to door following Mel's directions.
- The bus service was excellent and about 2 euros to get into Granda (45 mins) - timetables in Mel's folder.
- If you drive to the Alhambra check the route before you go and don't go into central Granada! We got horribly lost and almost gave up in a maze of one-way streets. It's only about 20 mins from the house but took us well over an hour and a half to finally get there.
- Any Spanish would be useful. Very few people spoke English so a few phrases will come in very handy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. You are absolutely right that the easy accessibility from the airport coupled with the great bus service does mean a car isn't essential although we would recommend one if you wanted to explore the beach and the stunning coastline. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful village of Guejar and the lovely restaurants and bars. Thank you for such a comprehensive and helpful review. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Mel and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine...
Buntingford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back for a third time to this wonderful house in a beautiful area”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned after two weeks back in Casa San Tomas in Guejar simply because it is an opportunity to stay in this beautiful area where there is always something different to explore and, at the same time, have the comfort and luxury of a wonderful home. This visit focussed on the areas of natural beauty all around Guejar and on the history of Granada which we found interesting and fascinating. Easy access to our favourite beaches, La Herradura and Salobrina was also a bonus. Without fail, wherever we chose to walk along the trails around Guejar there would be a bar or restaurant in which we could have delicious food and drink and be greeted warmly by the owner. As ever, this spacious and beautiful house was a pleasure to come back to each evening and relax in the garden or the hot tub. We feel certain this will not be the last time we come here - so much more still to see. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house in a beautiful and interesting area.
Liked least: No criticisms at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to welcome you back again. You will never be short of things to do in this area and it is testament to this that you have visited now for the third time. The beaches are indeed a short drive away and are situated on a truly unspoilt stretch of coastline. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hot tub and the garden. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirlEC14
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The minute we stepped into Casa San Tomas we knew we were going to feel completely at home for our 2 weeks holiday. This is a well appointed town house situated at the top end of a typically Spanish mountain village. There is a log fire, which was a real bonus as it did get a bit chilly at night. That said, the owner has air con and plenty of floor heaters so there's no problem keeping warm. We just preferred the log fire, there's something about that distinct smell of woodsmoke over the village.
Village life itself, centres around the square with its quaint little tapas bars and local shops. - All I must say very reasonably priced. This is around a 15 minute walk from the house.- Perhaps slightly longer on the way back, up that hill !!
The area itself is beautiful. We went for the peace and quiet, walking and biking and we were not disappointed.
The locals were very friendly and welcoming though very few spoke English so my Spanish came on a treat and they did appreciate us making the effort.

We stocked up on provisions en route to the house but thereafter picked up what we needed in the village.There is a bakery, butchers, green grocers and little supermarkets so there is no need to spend time doing a " big shop" when you can spend it exploring.

There is an excellent bus service. The bus leaves from the village square on a regular basis and its so cheap there is little point using the car.
We spent a couple of days in Granada. This is a lovely vibrant city. We set a day aside to visit the Alhambra, and a second visit was to a traditional bath house/spa for a chill out and a massage. This was excellent, especially after a day biking.

As one would expect the streets around the village are hilly so be warned. A degree of fitness is desireable, unless of course, you are happy driving around steep, narrow roads and plan to do so.

There was a parking issue whilst we were there restricting parking to loading/unloading outside the house.
This didn't affect us as such as there is a free public car park about 5 minutes walk from the house. There is on street parking around the corner, but this is obviously first come first served, and the street is narrow. Personally we found the car park perfectly fine.

So if you are looking for bars, clubs and the whole " tourist" thing then this is not the place for you. If you want to totally switch off, relax and live amongst the locals in a lovely comfortable house, in an area of natural beauty then you will be in your element.
We certainly were, and hope to return to village life in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Your comments really do capture the spirit of Guejar Sierra. The whole area is typically Spanish and a wonderful place to unwind and relax away from all the demands of daily life. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
1 review
“Wonderful Trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've seen a lot of reviews about this place which have all been good, but pointing out the downside of not having WIFI. My Wife and I didn't see it as a downside but more of a plus that we could get away from the fast paced life of our jobs and social media, and relax (instead) in a lovely authentic Spanish village.

The house is amazing and has everything you need, which isn't surprising considering this is more of a second home than a holiday rental for the Francis'.

The communication between ourselves, Mel and her husband; before during and after our stay was brilliant. Whenever we had a query we just needed to ask and information was provided quickly via email. The instructions from Malaga airport and to Sierra Nevada worked a
treat.

We spent a week in this house and done 5 days skiing. I've skied in Austria and the Chamonix valley on several occasions and can honestly say that these are the best conditions I have ever skied on. The Snow was there in vast amounts but it shocked me at how warm it was whilst on the slopes; I'll definitely be going back. The hot tub in the garden of the house was such a treat to come back to and soothed those aching muscles after a long day skiing. It was a novelty having a table tennis table in the garage but made for great fun with the family competions each night.

The village of Guejar Sierra is as authentic Spanish as your going to get (which we loved) and they still have a tradition of serving Tapas with each round of drinks. Overall the food and drink in the restaurants within the village was lovely and really inexpensive. The village of pradallano where the ski lifts are, is more modern and purpose built for the pistes it serves. The surprising thing about this village was that it too was inexpensive.

All in all the the village, the house and the ski area get a big thumbs up from us and we will be back again.

One thing you do need to be wary of is The Supermarkets are closed on a Sunday. Also if you are wanting to book Alhambra Palace tickets pre book them online or you stand a good chance of being disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the skiing and would have to agree that the conditions really are something else in Sierra Nevada. The warm sunshine really makes for great skiing! The house is intended to be a real 'get away from it all' experience and that is what Guejar is all about. For that reason we intentionally do not have WIFI but if you really do need it then it's widely available in the village. The emphasise is all about relaxation and we have furnished the house with that in mind. We are glad you enjoyed the hot tub which is particularly welcoming after a days skiing, walking or biking. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Cath...
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to suay with your family and enjoyb the countryside”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great place with firework and a large kitchen, perfect for family with teenagers.
Location very easy to travel from Granada and to spend time in the Sierra Nevada skiing.
Nice small restaurants in Guejar.
We will come back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
It was wonderful to welcome you to our home Casa San Tomas for Christmas and we are delighted that you had such a great time and found the house perfect for your family. The close proximity to the ski resort makes Guejar ideal for a ski holiday, whilst at the same time enjoying the charms of this lovely Spanish village. We hope to welcome you back again. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay in Sierra Nevada”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Casa San Tomas is excellent - from the three beautifully decorated and comfortable bedrooms, the cosy dining and lounge area with open fire, the fully equipped and well-appointed kitchen and laundry, spotlessly clean and situated in the lovely village of Guejar Sierra, what more could you want for a holiday in the Granada area!
We stayed for 6 days in October and had fun eating at the excellent restaurants in the village and were able to choose between a day in the mountains or a day at the Mediterranean which was a pleasant drive away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings made it feel very homely and comfortable.
Liked least: Not staying there long enough!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you all from Australia and we are delighted that you were pleased with the accommodation and that you enjoyed the charms of beautiful Guejar. The beauty of Casa San Tomas is that you are close enough to enjoy so many different things, from the skiing to the beaches and of course the stunning city of Granada. We are also glad you got to experience Cordoba and the nearby Alpujarra mountains. The standard of accommodation and cleanliness of are great importance to us and we are pleased you found this to be of a high standard. We hope to see you again. Mel and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren B
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home in a beautiful Spanish village.”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Guejar Sierra at the villa Casa San Tomas which had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. The bedrooms were a good size and the table tennis was extensively used :). The area has a lot to offer from hill walks to beach days or just have a lazy afternoon in the village a 2 minute walk from the villa. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves (2 x adults and 3 x children under 16). Hope to return either for the ski season or next summer, thank you soooo much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes the area really does have something for everyone. We are glad you made use of the table tennis and found the facilities at the house to be good. We hope to welcome you back to experience the area in the winter so you can enjoy some skiing! Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing