We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a lovely village.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tomas

Main living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living room.
Fireplace Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Main living room.
Fireplace
Dining area
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
Master Bedroom and balcony.
Second bedroom.
Casa San Tomas.
Basement / garage - games room.
Outdoor seating for 8 people
Nordic Jacuzzi hot tub
Wood fired jacuzzi hot hub
Hot tub with lighting.
Local pool 5 minute walk away.
Lake at sunset
Salobrena beach
La Herradura beach
La Herradura
Ski resort in winter.
Sierra Nevada ski.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guejar Sierra, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AlixB3
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a lovely village.”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lovely house with all you would need for a skiing break, in a lovely traditional village. We loved the log fire after a long day of skiing! Some good local restaurants, but don't forget your phrase book! A great ski hire place in the village that we would highly recommend, also provides transport and lessons.
Highly recommend for couples or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back for skiing and maybe summer sunshine too, in the future. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg l
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Second time of renting - Perfect once again!”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was our second time of renting the property for another Ski weekend. Just as perfect as the first time. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thanks for booking with us for the second year running. Hope to see you again next winter ! Matt and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen A
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect....clean, tidy and in a good location”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in Guejar as a base for skiing in the Sierra Nevada. This property was perfect...clean, tidy with great size bedrooms, a decent kitchen, comfortable lounge and a very welcoming wood burning fire.
It was a brisk walk downhill into the village where there are some superb restaurants together with a good smattering of butchers, greengrocers and bakers (to use the English parlance).
This is a really nice property and we have already booked to stay next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was comfortable, tidy and clean
Liked least: Hot tub took too long to heat, DVD and Wi didn't work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Lovely to read your review and to hear you enjoyed such great week skiing. You cannot beat coming home to a roaring log fire after a day on the slopes. You are right there is an abundance of great bars and restaurants within walking distance of the house. We are delighted you have booked again for next year and look forward to welcoming you back. Matt and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise905
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique beautiful holiday home from home”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this beautiful, immaculately clean modern family home. All the home comforts whilst on holiday is not always achievable, unless you stay at Casa San Tomas. We chose to have some active days out guided by the information provided by Mel the home owner which was extremely useful. Guejar Sierra is beautiful with amazing views all around you as your in the mountains. We preferred to walk into the village to purchase our groceries, enjoy drinks and tapas with the friendly locals and visit some of the local restaurants recommended by Mel. Walking back to Casa San Tomas is uphill but it's good exercise for you!

Overall we had a brilliant time staying at Casa San Tomas and would recommend this to families or couples who prefer to stay in a quaint village, whilst having the luxury of home creature comforts.

A fantastic property Mel, thank you for letting us stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and found the information pack helpful. We hope to see you back again soon. Matt and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaRy
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely house & excellent value”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from a week in this fab house. We had a lovely stay and I would highly recommend Casa san Tomas to couples, families and groups of friends.

I could wax lyrical but instead will try and provide a review that's useful if you're thinking of booking!

- Booking was really easy. Mel remained in touch via email and everything went very smoothly.
- The directions we received to get to the house from the airport were absolutely brilliant and completely removed any stress related to getting off a plane, into a strange car, driving on the wrong side of the road (sorry) and feeling ever so slightly dazed about suddenly being in beautiful Sierra Nevada rather than grimy London
- Someone was there to welcome us on arrival. We parked outside the house which I 'think' was ok...
- There's loads of really useful information about the area, places to visit and places to eat in the folders Mel's compiled. There's also maps and an atlas which proved really useful on trips to the coast.
- The house is well equipped (filter coffee machine, toaster, kettle, massive fridge with chiller blocks and cooler bags in the laundry room etc) and very comfortable with air-con in the lounge and master bedroom. The double bed was incredibly comfy and the shower's great. I did struggle to operate the microwave, but am guessing that's because I couldn't be bothered to look for the manual
- There's no wifi but you can get 3G if you're desperate for the internet. Plenty of books and games plus Wii and Playstation and 1 English channel on the TV.
- There's a beach umbrella and some chairs in the garage (we discovered them on our last day)
- The rear courtyard is little sun-trap and perfect for chilling out. The balcony has amazing views over the mountains and is just the right size for 2 to share a bottle of wine as the sun goes down,

Guejar's a lovely little village with a number of good restaurants (Sulayr and La Hacilla were our favourites), bakeries, butchers and grocers. There's also a couple of small supermarkets for essentials.
Be warned though, the hills here are STEEP! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have mobility problems as I suspect getting around could be a challenge. The roads are cobbled and very twisty (but it is built into the side of a mountain so I guess it's to be expected).

Things to take with you:
Soap for the bathroom sink
Any condiments, tea or coffee you may need (there was oil and salt only)
Dishwasher tablets (other kitchen essentials was provided)

Thing to consider:
- We hired a car but I think you could probably get away with staying here without one if you got a taxi from the airport (there were quite a few waiting when we arrived Sunday evening) and don't mind a bit of walking when you're in the village; it was about 45 mins door to door following Mel's directions.
- The bus service was excellent and about 2 euros to get into Granda (45 mins) - timetables in Mel's folder.
- If you drive to the Alhambra check the route before you go and don't go into central Granada! We got horribly lost and almost gave up in a maze of one-way streets. It's only about 20 mins from the house but took us well over an hour and a half to finally get there.
- Any Spanish would be useful. Very few people spoke English so a few phrases will come in very handy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. You are absolutely right that the easy accessibility from the airport coupled with the great bus service does mean a car isn't essential although we would recommend one if you wanted to explore the beach and the stunning coastline. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful village of Guejar and the lovely restaurants and bars. Thank you for such a comprehensive and helpful review. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Mel and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine...
Buntingford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back for a third time to this wonderful house in a beautiful area”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned after two weeks back in Casa San Tomas in Guejar simply because it is an opportunity to stay in this beautiful area where there is always something different to explore and, at the same time, have the comfort and luxury of a wonderful home. This visit focussed on the areas of natural beauty all around Guejar and on the history of Granada which we found interesting and fascinating. Easy access to our favourite beaches, La Herradura and Salobrina was also a bonus. Without fail, wherever we chose to walk along the trails around Guejar there would be a bar or restaurant in which we could have delicious food and drink and be greeted warmly by the owner. As ever, this spacious and beautiful house was a pleasure to come back to each evening and relax in the garden or the hot tub. We feel certain this will not be the last time we come here - so much more still to see. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house in a beautiful and interesting area.
Liked least: No criticisms at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to welcome you back again. You will never be short of things to do in this area and it is testament to this that you have visited now for the third time. The beaches are indeed a short drive away and are situated on a truly unspoilt stretch of coastline. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hot tub and the garden. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirlEC14
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The minute we stepped into Casa San Tomas we knew we were going to feel completely at home for our 2 weeks holiday. This is a well appointed town house situated at the top end of a typically Spanish mountain village. There is a log fire, which was a real bonus as it did get a bit chilly at night. That said, the owner has air con and plenty of floor heaters so there's no problem keeping warm. We just preferred the log fire, there's something about that distinct smell of woodsmoke over the village.
Village life itself, centres around the square with its quaint little tapas bars and local shops. - All I must say very reasonably priced. This is around a 15 minute walk from the house.- Perhaps slightly longer on the way back, up that hill !!
The area itself is beautiful. We went for the peace and quiet, walking and biking and we were not disappointed.
The locals were very friendly and welcoming though very few spoke English so my Spanish came on a treat and they did appreciate us making the effort.

We stocked up on provisions en route to the house but thereafter picked up what we needed in the village.There is a bakery, butchers, green grocers and little supermarkets so there is no need to spend time doing a " big shop" when you can spend it exploring.

There is an excellent bus service. The bus leaves from the village square on a regular basis and its so cheap there is little point using the car.
We spent a couple of days in Granada. This is a lovely vibrant city. We set a day aside to visit the Alhambra, and a second visit was to a traditional bath house/spa for a chill out and a massage. This was excellent, especially after a day biking.

As one would expect the streets around the village are hilly so be warned. A degree of fitness is desireable, unless of course, you are happy driving around steep, narrow roads and plan to do so.

There was a parking issue whilst we were there restricting parking to loading/unloading outside the house.
This didn't affect us as such as there is a free public car park about 5 minutes walk from the house. There is on street parking around the corner, but this is obviously first come first served, and the street is narrow. Personally we found the car park perfectly fine.

So if you are looking for bars, clubs and the whole " tourist" thing then this is not the place for you. If you want to totally switch off, relax and live amongst the locals in a lovely comfortable house, in an area of natural beauty then you will be in your element.
We certainly were, and hope to return to village life in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Your comments really do capture the spirit of Guejar Sierra. The whole area is typically Spanish and a wonderful place to unwind and relax away from all the demands of daily life. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing