We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and wonderful”
Review of Hotel La Seguiriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Seguiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
297 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Charming and wonderful”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

When I booked this hotel I got mixed up with Granada and the Alhambra - thought I was booking right in Granada. How wrong I was but how lucky I was. We loved our stay for 2 nights at this hotel with its charming host - full of energy and no English but we communicated easily. Wonderfully accommodating. Great room with little window onto balcony. But I guess the best aspect of this hotel is its terrace overlooking the amazing gorge with wonderful sunset colours to enjoy with the host's wine. Parking is a challenge - but that is life in a small village on a cliff edge!

Room Tip: I think they all looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    20
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here as a family (2 adults, 2 small children) for 4 nights in Easter week 2012. Paco (a former flamenco performer) and his wife Lola could not have been better hosts. They have restored the building with taste and love and it is very special. Our room was perfect for the four of us and was comformatable and cosy. The terrace was lovely and must be truly amazing in the summer.

The restaurant is also recommendable.

If you are in the area, stay at La Seguiriya!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank organictuscanyorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

we stayed here for 2 days, and as experienced by other visitors it was an excellent stay: old-fashioned hospitality, charming rooms, great, local, food and a fine atmosfere. value for money!!.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon. England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel is quite hard to find, discreetly tucked away in a small street behind the plaza. The welcome from Paco was warm and genuine despite him speaking very little English. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and the views from the terrace enticed the visitor to get on and walk the Tajo or gorge and to sample the delights of the old town.
Lola cooks a very tasty and varied evening meal and breakfast was sufficiently healthy to carry us through the following day. Paco himself is a real treasure and we were honoured to be treated to his magical singing, the haunting sounds which will stay with me forever. Great walking country and a trip made special by a visit to Seguirilla and the warm welcome of it's owner.

Room Tip: Room 'L' has a double bed and a secret terrace. Delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We’d come to walk through the gorge of Alhama in December and had seen the exuberant reviews of La Seguiriya here, but nothing prepared us for what we found. Our host, Paco Moyano, a well-known flamenco singer for many years, and his family renovated this 1745 partial-cave building on the edge of the tajos, or gorge, in about 2000, and he and his wife are the most charming and welcoming hosts you could imagine. The rustic diningroom is decorated with flamenco memorabilia, but we had to investigate the Internet to discover that it was all Mr Moyano’s own memorabilia. The optional dinner has a limited menu, but it is inexpensive, from the terroir, and excellent. Our room was not luxurious but was comfortable and had its own charm – and a wonderful view over the gorge. There is free wifi. La Seguiriya is at the top of the Camino de Los Angeles walking trail up through the gorge, a rewarding day out with stunning scenery. The town has an interesting historic old centre, but a few hours walking around is sufficient to cover it. For us, meeting Mr Moyano and his wife, and some of his regular guests in the diningroom, was a welcome experience in itself.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying with Paco and Lola in September. They were both so welcoming. The accommodation is charming, with a stunning terrace overlooking the gorge. Lola's cooking is wonderful and Paco is a real character, going above and beyond the call of duty, and making sure that our trip is one we'll never forget. We'd definitely recommend La Seguiriya to anyone who has the chance to visit Alhama.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JumblyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudbury, suffolk, uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Great little hotel if a little difficult to locate at first. Enter from the street into cosy dining area and then onto a terrace with spectacular views over a gorge to the mountains. You could eat and drink out here. Our room was off the terrace and was very clean and comfortable, the shower was excellent. The menu is small but excellent quality. Breakfast is also good quality local fare.The person who makes this place is the host. He is very likeable and can’t do enough for you. We stayed 2 nights, had one meal, plenty to drink (2 people) and it cost less than £200. A great little hotel that I would thoroughly recommend, that is also a short walk to town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suffolksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhama de Granada
2.0 km away
Hotel El Ventorro
Hotel El Ventorro
#2 of 2 in Alhama de Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
15.8 km away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
32.5 km away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
#1 of 3 in Alcaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
26.3 km away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
18.6 km away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Seguiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Seguiriya

Property: Hotel La Seguiriya
Address: Calle Penas 12, 18120, Alhama de Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Alhama de Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alhama de Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Seguiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing