We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ledra Samos Hotel(Marathokampos)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Agrilionas Beach Apartments(Marathokampos)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meltemia Studios(Marathokampos)
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smaragda(Marathokampos)(Great Value!)
US$41
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
So Nice Hotel(Marathokampos)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerkis Bay Hotel(Marathokampos)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kampos Village Resort(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirena Residence & Spa(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanis Studios(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
111
36
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
36
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotos familypool baryogurtevery saturdayyear after yeartwo weeksevery morningcar hireperfect holidayfocal pointrooms are basicacross the roadnext yearlaid backa family run hotelbella vistathe water is crystal clear
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 160 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017

We booked last minute holidays and stayed in Sofia this year. This place is simply the best I have been so far - my husband and I felt as we were visiting close friends - the owners of the hotel and the staff was so friendly and welcoming! There is a wonderful patio outside with a swimming pool and a bar, the place is overall quiet and clean, the food is delicious. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: friendly, comfortable, spacious
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank helianthusclinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor, Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks from all the family. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We have stayed several times at Sophia and this time was, as always, a delicious experience.Reviewers have written about how beautifully the family look after their guests. That is true. I have concluded that the thing that makes Sophia stand out over and above any of the hotels we have ever stayed in is the inclusive manner in which the family see to your every need.Be it inquiries about paces to see and things to do on Samos,about transport to access these sites, about tours or excursions, places to dine or shopping outlets locally or further afield, Vasilis, Nova and Manoli are always available and happy to help you out.
The grounds have been landscaped to reflect the environment where in the hotel lies. The grounds are a work of art - There are a variety of nooks where you discover seats made of local stone and a fountain, nestling amongst Samos shrubs and vines. These catch the eye and make me want to sit down and read a book in the shade of the sago palm trees fronds.There are several sitting areas under palm frond shelters and of course a bar, nestling under its leafy canopy which is the focal meeting point at any time of the day.
I have also lolled on their swing seat in the sun, between dips in the pool. Speaking of the pool - and many reviewers have - it is wonderful. Stavros keeps it immaculately clean and it has to be one of the most attractive pools I have swum in. The designer knew how to plan a pool with just the right dimensions and depths so all swimmers would be comfortable and able to swim the way they like to. There are lots of loungers around the pool with shade - also very pretty.
Finally Nova's food! The buffet breakfasts are a lovely combination of fresh local produce, Greek ham, cheese, yogurt, honey, bread, cereals and local fruits.Eggs are cooked to your taste and are the family's own 'free ranging hens' Nova makes her own cakes which range from banana, chocolate, walnut and many more - not to mention the jams she makes from the families fruits and berries.
The lunch menu is varied and again use local produce and are prepared on the spot to your order.
The Saturday night BBQ. Nova and Sophia provide salads that are exciting and new each week. I have made many notes on the flavours used in the dishes they produce and Nova is always happy to advise. Manoli and his dad Stavros cook the meat on a traditional Greek BBQ. Several meats are served, again, locally sourced and flavoursome.
The spread of food is quite amazing and seeing people go back for seconds is a testament to the skills of the chefs and the cooks.
A last word is to the cleanliness of the whole environment - inside and out are immaculate. Attention to the cleanliness of the rooms is praise worthy indeed! I have not yet seen the exterior being anything other than tidy and very pretty at all times.
Thanks again to all of you at Sophia again!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Sophia rooms are all lovely, all have views of either the sea or the amazing Mt Kerkis.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Piwakawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor, Thank you for writing so nice things about the Hotel and Samos. Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks from all the family. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We have just returned home after a wonderful week at the Sofia. The owners couldn't have made us feel more welcome and within a few minutes of arriving we were relaxed, comfortable and felt at home. The lovely pool is the centrepiece of the hotel and the bar a focal point for pre and post dinner chats. The breakfast buffet was super; as well as the staples of yogurt, cheese, bread, jam etc, eggs are available cooked to order any way you'd like and each day there were changes - cinnamon poached apples with walnuts, stewed grapes in syrup and other lovely Greek treats. The rooms are simple and kept spotlessly clean. The closest beach is 100m away and the water is crystal clear (most bars/restaurants charge €5 for two loungers and a parasol for the day- a bargain.) We'll definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor, Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks from all the family. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Hands down the best hotel I have ever been to, the staff always put 100% into everything they do to make it the perfect holiday for anyone who comes to the hotel, it's so easy to fall in love with this paradise and you can't help wanting to come back year after year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor, Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks from all the family. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

A quaint and unique small boutique hotel! The rooms are kept fresh and clean. The beach is just across the small road and is beautiful. Pool is clean and refreshing where there is a poolside bar with quiet music and cold drinks. Amazing breakfast every morning and the lunches are fresh, homemade, with vegetables from the hotel garden, and eggs from their chickens. Our hosts are incredible! Bravo to Vasilis,Nova,Stavros,Sophia and Manoulis. They have many suggestions as how to get around and what to see. One night they took 23 of us to Bella Vista.restaurant It is totally a bucket list thing to do? Amazing architecture with to die for views and food. There are many cafes, bars, shops and an amazing bakery close to the hotel. Nova does an incredible massage for a super reasonable price. Saturday night is when they host a Greek Barbeque that is wonderful. No complaints here! A tranquil hotel in a bit of paradise! Love love love!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor, Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks from all the family. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews