We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
117
58
29
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
58
29
18
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 232 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We are frequent travellers to Sicily and love this place like our second home. We often travel for business and shopping, but this time we simply wished to relax with our young family in the South, visit different beaches, drive around and enjoy the best food in the world. Situated in the country-side in a very private area and recommended by our family members who had stayed there a couple of years before, Villa Principe di Belmonte was an excellent choice. Due to an early ferry from Malta, we arrived in the morning and were immediately offered complimentary breakfast until our room was being prepared... and they really tried to make an effort to offer us an early check-in. It was a great start to a much awaited relaxing family time. Unfortunately our holiday turned into a nightmare in the first evening when returning from the beach we got into a serious car accident. I am not going go into details of the incident and the hassle with the police, etc., but after such a shocking experience and ending up without our own car, our holiday was ruined. The staff of the hotel could have not been more helpful in this dramatic situation. Antonio came to pick us up from the hospital and offered all his assistance for anything we could have needed to settle things. The following morning we decided to return back to Malta, because our holiday was not the same anymore. The hotel did not charge us for the full booked stay or the trips Antonio did with us... needless to say, we were ready to pay for everything. On the second day when preparing to go back home, we did manage to enjoy a bit the hotel's pool area and the views, but obviously not as much as we had hoped for. It is still such a pity that this accident cut our holiday short and we had to leave. It was such a beautiful and relaxing place, with incredibly friendly staff and delicious breakfast. We are very grateful to Antonio for taking us to the ferry and for all the other help and truly hope to return in the near future to stay again and have a full holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brigitte8558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2015

The rooms are horribly decorated and the shower full of mould. The place might pass as a 1 start location in Summer for desperate tourists, but it should not be let in Winter as the rooms are cold with no proper bedding and no carpets. Furthermore the place is in the middle of nowhere and unless you have a car you are stranded. The owners should invest and upgrade the place which is now dingy and horrid and not fit to house tourists.

Room Tip: Just do not go there
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Calypso857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel in Ispica which is well situated for venturing out for days at the beach and for evenings in the towns of Modica and Scicli (do not miss this). Our rooms were located in an old 17th century villa that sits on a hilltop separate from the main hotel structure which is called Torre del mare. This space consists of four rooms, three are nice, one is a small dark cover with no windows to view the beautiful surrounding. Of course, much to my dismay, we got the dark room as the others were full. We called the front desk to see if there was anything they could do for the next night and were fortunately moved into the beautiful room located at the front. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the location of Torre Del Mare is very romantic, tranquil and secluded. We had to drive down to the main hotel for breakfast, which has something for everyone from sweets to fruits, yogurt and cured meats and cheese. I would definitely go back again, but request the second room we had.

Room Tip: Torre del Mare, chiedete per le stanze che affacciano davanti.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Let me get right to the point.If your are looking for an out of the ordinary,pleasant,relaxing vacation,
this is the place. You will be greeted by some very lovely and helpful people,from the staff all the way to the wonderful owners,mr.&mrs. Fratantonio. We were scheduled to stay five nights and spend the last three nights of our trip in beautifully Taormina. Well,myself and my two children,Alessandra and Davide,both in the mid 20's, unanimously decided to cancel Taormina any extended our staying at this charming villa.This is not your perfectly manicured garden place or everything perfectly maintained. This beautiful villa has a rustic farm like feel to it. The room we stayed was large,very high ceiling with black cobblestone floor. With the entry door open you will enjoy a beautiful view of the valley consisting primarily of olive trees and the see wich is about 7 km driving time to either Pozzallo or St. Maria di Focallo,all lovely beaches if you like to soak some Sicilian sun. All with 1 hr or less driving you can visit nearby Noto,where you will be impressed by several Baroccan style churches and buildings. While you are there enjoy some gelato at any of the local caffe/bar.Also Modica,Ragusa and Siracusa are great cities to visit both for history,good food and shopping. Stefani and Sara at the desk are both lovely and very helpful. This is the kind of place you can leave the doors open and unlocked when you are not around and feel completely safe. Thumbs up also for the chef Salvo who was always willing to make fresh cooked meals for us and managed to prepare a wonderful meal for 12 people at a last minute notice when I decided to invite some of my family who lives in the nearby town. Beautiful large size pool with great views.Two thumbs up for Villa Principe di Belmonte.

Sebastian Giuliano- USA

Room Tip: Front section of the villa
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianGiuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We decided to return to the Hotel for a weekend visit from Malta with another couple. The effusive Massimo has now moved on, his replacement and previous assistant Sara had broken her foot and therefore the Willowy Stefania was holding the fort, valiantly, despite her lack of experience. We had told our friends not to expect full tourist hotel facilities but a quiet, relaxed stay at a countrside location that was ideal as a base for a limited amount of touring. We had rooms in the converted cattle sheds which were rustic in nature but spotlessly clean. Despite other reviewers commenting on the lack of bar the staff were more than happy so serve drinks or coffee at anytime to your room or on the terrace. The menu was limited, due to the hotel having to accommodate a team of Police Officers, but full of freshly cooked produce. The Hotel could do with some TLC as it is looking tired in places but value for money it was very good value. If you want a hotel with all the trappings to placate the fussiest of guests then don't go to the Pricipe, go somewhere else and pay two or three times the price. If you think of the Hotel as more like a nice up-market B and B (with extra facilities) you will not be disappointed. Would we go back - yes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BogratNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews