We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven on Earth”
Review of Grotta Giusti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grotta Giusti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We stayed here for a wellness break and loved the excellent service, clean and beautiful rooms, gorgeous location, and wonderful food. The spa service was also great, especially the massage from Fabio and the sea salt scrub from Alina. We enjoyed the serenity and the awesome thermal water (no sulphur smell).

A few suggestions: The "piano" music at dinner is absolutely terrible and ruins the atmosphere. The songs are worse than "elevator music". Silence would be better, honestly. We found ourselves eating fast to get away from the terrible music. Also, the signage throughout the buildings needs to be more clear as we got lost many times and found it hard to find the places we were aiming for. Also, the toiletries seem low quality (no lather with shower gel or shampoo). Lastly, please service the pool furniture as many tables are wobbly and the sunshades on the chairs slip out of position.

Overall, Grotta Giusti is awesome and would be 5-star with attention to these details.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of nature and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlton's Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

Less than an hour from Pisa airport is this ornate spa hotel. Beautiful bedrooms with great air con and shutters, large classical marble bathrooms but nowhere to hang wet swimsuits and spa robes except off the bedroom cupboard doors which became increasingly annoying as our stay went on. Grand reception rooms eerily empty. A cavernous and soulless hotel dining room with a generous breakfast buffet which was unfortunately rather generic with very little local produce (tinned fruits, processed juices and imported English jams/marmalades). Pre sliced bread drying, cold scrambled eggs congealing and greasy bacon sitting for hours were not appetising – breakfast was included in our package but a fresh omelette was chargeable. Dinner was better although the salad bar was uninspired and distinctly underwhelming. The daily suggestion menu was good although the repetitive “easy listening” piped music did nothing to enhance the ambience of the ¾ empty dining room – the dining room staff were attentive and charming with English and German being spoken to help the non-Italian speakers. The tennis court was €20 an hour which seemed very mean particularly as no one ever seemed to use it. The real highlight of this place though is the thermal pools and spa. Although shared with the public there are separate areas for hotel guests to sit which were well patrolled by the lovely life guards – the bonus being able to use the main pool an hour before the public arrive in the morning and two hours after the public leave in the evening, except on a Wednesday. The Bioaquam Cafe by the pools was excellent with great sandwiches, fresh salads, wonderful coffee and delicious juices/smoothies. Information about anything seems to be top secret so the fact that the main pool was closed completely one day had not been brought to our attention until the night before. There is also a smaller thermal pool exclusively for guests with a small indoor seating/relaxing area. Bathing hats (provided) are compulsory. It is advertised as a family hotel but there is no playroom inside or playground within the extensive hotel grounds and dinner only starts at 7.30pm. Some people dressed up for dinner but others were more casual – anything goes. All signs were in English and Russian. As a family half term getaway we had a great week enjoying the fabulous weather, relaxing in the thermal baths, making the most of the very peaceful atmosphere and exploring some of the local area. The “cold” outdoor pool only opens on 1 June. We'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidaym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Clean, quite comfortable place. Like it more in winter as in summer there are too many people especially us Russians jaja. Anyway always on my list! Recommended for couples and families with kids at any age.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katerina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Mrs Katerina,

Wonderful to hear you had a great stay at Grotta Giusti.

We’re pleased you enjoyed our property and you described it as a nice place to spend a comfortable weekend with family.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Grotta Giusti is one of the most nice and elegant hotel with spa ever seen in Italy.
The customers are gently cared by very professional personnel and the grotta itself is a natural grotta where is possible to have 50 minutes of sauna in a very special location. The hotel is surrounded by a wonderful park.
Very recommended

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gianpelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Grotta Giusti.
I'm so happy you enjoyed our restaurant and the lovely and the enchanting athmosphere of our hotel and our ancient park .
We sure agree that we have a very unique location and can’t wait to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I HAVE to recommend Grotta Guisti to you!. What a unique experience for not too much money. A friend of ours in Florence recommended it and I'm so glad she did. This is in an area where the "Rich and Famous" from all over Europe used to go to "take the healing waters." We don't have anything like it in the States. The website was just a little short on details, so I'll fill you in on what I learned. For 49 euros per person, you will have access to the spa all day long plus a one hour visit to THE CAVE (which is the big attraction. BTW, you must reserve an entrance time for The Cave. We had to wait about 90 minutes for our appointment time, but we where there when there were virtually no tourists). The entrance fee includes a big fluffy robe, a huge towel, and slippers (they let you keep the slippers and we took them for use on our flight home). If you want a proper shower, bring soap/shampoo/deoderant. You MUST bring a swim cap (or shower cap) for the swimming pool, or you can buy one for around 2 or 3 euros.
The spa has a lovely restaurant where you can buy lunch, coffee, drinks, etc. all priced reasonably. There is an ENORMOUS swimming pool filled with natural thermal water which is kept at about body temperature. When we were there in mid-March, the weather was overcast and the air temp was about high 50s. The pool's water was perfect and we spent at least an hour floating. At one end of the pool there are submerged lounge chairs and every 10 minutes, jets of water shoot out of holes in the chairs, with the effect of giving you a hydro massage. My husband and I enjoyed about three rounds. What we didn't realize until later (stupid Americans!!) was that guests are expected to vacate the lounges after each hydro session. Whoops. Anyway, the main attraction is THE CAVE. You can read more about it if you google Grotta Guisti and click on the link called THE CAVE.
Visiting The Cave comes with a whole other experience, which I won't spoil for you. But trust me, it is a wonderful and unique experience if you like this sort of thing. BTW, we saw people of all ages, shapes, and sizes. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Grotta Giusti.
I'm so happy you enjoyed our stunning thermal Grotto and the big thermal pool .
We sure agree that we have a very unique location and can’t wait to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We came during the winter, and it was a wonderful experience. The swimming pool outside is great and offers a great view. Great hydro massage. The access to the grotta is worth the price. Remember to bring your shampoo.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ananio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in posting your review about your stay with us.

Please accept my gratitude for your great comment about Grotta Giusti. At our hotel, we always think of something truly amazing and unique we can offer to our guests.


Sincerely,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

What a beautiful place to spend my Birthday!! Bit confusing where the entrance was but once inside, the staff were very helpful to direct at the right place.
The grotta is amazing and I was lucky to be on my own for a short while, immersing myself in the deepness of the earth!! For my taste there was too much light which in one hand is good to admire the beauty of the grotta on the other hand interfere with the relaxation. This is for me as light is a bit disturbing when relaxing.
Improvement could be done on the after grotta experience, where again there is too much light and there is a sudden detachment from nature. Though there are plants I found the experience a bit cold.
I also had a treatment with a very relaxing massage, then further relaxing time in the swimming pool with warm water, experiencing the various jacuzzi tub.
I will recommend a visit to Grotta Giusti... to relax and discover Tuscany in its deepness.

Room Tip: I stayed at the hot spring bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ssftlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsummano Terme
4.8 km away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#10 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,200 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#9 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
949 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#11 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,200 reviews
4 km away
Hotel La Villa Resort
Hotel La Villa Resort
#1 of 2 in Pieve a Nievole
401 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#86 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotta Giusti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotta Giusti

Address: 1411 Via Grotta Giusti, 51015 Monsummano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Monsummano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monsummano Terme
Price Range: $336 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grotta Giusti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grotta Giusti is located in Monsummano Terme just a few kilometres from Florence, Pisa and Lucca.Set in a private park with secular trees, the early nineteenth century villa, now a prestigious Hotel, enriched by antique furnishings and paintings, has maintained intact its historical air and natural charm. The 58 double rooms and 6 Junior Suites, furnished in a refined, fresh style, offer unexpected details such as the bathrooms in luxurious white marble with thermal water on tap. The Hotel is directly connected to the Spa, which has a modern Wellbeing Centre with an Oriental area, equipped gymnasium, numerous relaxation areas and a medical aesthetic centre. The Spa also has an open air pool with 750 square metres of thermal water, picturesque cascade and underwater hydro-massages and the large millennial Grotta to end the day with a beneficial, relaxing "steam bath". Immersed in the park are the fresh water swimming pool, tennis court and fitness walk with further trekking courses for excursions in the surrounding countryside. And, just a few kilometres from Grotta Giusti, an 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grotta Giusti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf Hotel Monsummano Terme
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf And Spa
Grotta Giusti Spa
Grotta Giusti Hotel
Grotta Giusti Monsummano Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing