We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
484
314
99
46
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
314
99
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel guests thermal pools spa treatments dining room restaurant staff pool bar my birthday main pool wear a swimming cap lounge chairs unique experience shower cap large pool water jets our waiter room for improvement flight home
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 974 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our tour of Tuscany. Driving through the gates was magical. We were met with the impressive main building, which fulfilled all of our fantasies of a traditional Tuscan retreat.

Check-in was relatively straightforward. We were assigned two rooms that were, oddly, located on different floors at completely opposite ends of the hotel. The rooms were basic and could have done with a more thorough clean. For instance, there was mould around the base and sides of the bath in one room, and in the other, the toilet had remnants of the previous occupant in the bowl. Disgusting! On the other hand, the beds themselves were very comfortable and there were several extra pillows in the wardrobe for additional comfort.

As soon as we dropped our stuff off in the rooms on the first day, and had our bags consisting of a bath robe, slippers, towel and swimming hat delivered, we headed to the pool to cool down. We found the signage around the hotel/spa very confusing and, just as we thought we were approaching the thermal pool, we were ushered into a separate room, instructed to change into a white gown and told (in Italian) to walk down a corridor. It turned out this led to the underground thermal grotto. Although surprising, this experience was something truly unique and I would recommend it to any future travellers. We were, however, upset to find out that evening that the experience cost €20 per person. We felt it was dishonest not to mention the cost upfront. From that moment onwards, we were much more careful when wondering around the spa, as all treatments were very expensive.

In the 40 degree heat of the summer, the outdoor thermal pool was a highlight of our stay. There are two main pools, one of which is reserved exclusively for hotel guests. You have to wear a swimming cap at all times in the pool, but the hotel provides you with one free of charge at the start of your stay. There were also ample sun loungers and desk chairs scattered around the pool, making it very easy for us to find four beds together.

We ate breakfast both days in the hotel. On both occasions, we were left disappointed by the buffet. Even at 8am in the morning buffet was decimated and we ended up eating small portions of canned fruit and some bread. We only ate dinner in the hotel on one night. It was expensive, and the service was almost too quick (a two-course dinner only took 30 mins) but the food was good. I would recommend looking around for other dining options as there were several small restaurants in the nearby towns which offered great food for a much more affordable price.

In conclusion, Grotto Giusti is great for relaxing by the pool, and exploring the local area. However, the rooms were not great and be careful of additional charges.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Grotta Giusti with us.
We are honored you had the chance to relax yourself on our Grotto and that the pool area was the one you were looking for .

We are truly sorry to read that your general experience at Grotta Giusti did not completely meet your expectations.
I am sorry that our housekeeping service and staff was not up to our normal standards and I have spoken to the staff.

We work hard to make our guests' experience at Grotta Giusti a memorable one so I wish we had heard about your concerns during your stay.

I would really appreciate to hear more insight about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly writing at filippo.felloni@grottagiustispa.com

I hope to have you and your family as our valuable Guests in the future,

Warmest Regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

10 years we stayed here and decided to come back with our children. Setting is georgous, a Tuscan icon hidden in a beatiful park.

Rooms have been redecorated and look nice. Make sure to reserve park view, mountain view actually oversees supplies, garbage etc. Can be quite noisy when bottles are moved or supplies are brought early morning.

2 swimming Pools available: 1 for hotel guests and 1 that belongs to the Therme (may also be accessed by hotel guests, Can be quite busy however). Preferred the smaller pool since it is very quiet and kids can play freely.

Overall felt that some parts do not live up to the maintenance standards you would expect from a hotel at this price level (e.g external stairs and walls on the outside).

Staff varies. Command of English is poor in general. Our waiter GianLuca and Marko were really great but restaurant managed by a very unpleasant person. Rude to his people and rude to guests when he did not understand what was requested or discussed. For us really nagatively influenced dinner atmosphere.

Quality of food good and also for half board guests plenty to choose from. Nice winelist.

At our last day we wanted to have lunch at 14.04; we were told that kitchen closes at 2pm so bad luck. After one week that we spent in the hotel we found this to be an extremely unfriendly answer. For a hotel that positions itself as premium class and charges guests accordingly, staff profesionalism is clearly not aligned.

Overall mixed feelings. If personel changes we might consider to come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Mickey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to read that your general experience at Grotta Giusti did not meet your expectations.
I am sorry that our restaurant service and staff was not up to our normal standards and I have spoken to the staff.

We work hard to make our guests' experience at Grotta Giusti a memorable one so I wish we had heard about your concerns during your stay.

I would really appreciate to hear more insight about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly writing at filippo.felloni@grottagiustispa.com

I hope to have you and your family as our valuable Guests in the future,

Warmest Regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

Housekeeping was impeccable - in and out in a flash, turning down while you are at dinner, very nicely done.

No need for antipasti, just order a G&T at the bar and you get the works, not just a few nuts. Then primi and secondi will suffice before dessert.

Lovely pools, very warm/large pool/water-jets combo for hotel guests. Grotto experience opened the pores, with natural thermals creating a Turkish bath-style environment.

Shutters and air-con very good.

Not the views of VillaSanPaolo, so only a maybe-return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyHead1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Grotta Giusti. We are thrilled you appreciated our hotel and our spa. Thank you for acknowledging our housekeeping staff, we hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

We stayed here for a wellness break and loved the excellent service, clean and beautiful rooms, gorgeous location, and wonderful food. The spa service was also great, especially the massage from Fabio and the sea salt scrub from Alina. We enjoyed the serenity and the awesome thermal water (no sulphur smell).

A few suggestions: The "piano" music at dinner is absolutely terrible and ruins the atmosphere. The songs are worse than "elevator music". Silence would be better, honestly. We found ourselves eating fast to get away from the terrible music. Also, the signage throughout the buildings needs to be more clear as we got lost many times and found it hard to find the places we were aiming for. Also, the toiletries seem low quality (no lather with shower gel or shampoo). Lastly, please service the pool furniture as many tables are wobbly and the sunshades on the chairs slip out of position.

Overall, Grotta Giusti is awesome and would be 5-star with attention to these details.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of nature and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarltonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Less than an hour from Pisa airport is this ornate spa hotel. Beautiful bedrooms with great air con and shutters, large classical marble bathrooms but nowhere to hang wet swimsuits and spa robes except off the bedroom cupboard doors which became increasingly annoying as our stay went on. Grand reception rooms eerily empty. A cavernous and soulless hotel dining room with a generous breakfast buffet which was unfortunately rather generic with very little local produce (tinned fruits, processed juices and imported English jams/marmalades). Pre sliced bread drying, cold scrambled eggs congealing and greasy bacon sitting for hours were not appetising – breakfast was included in our package but a fresh omelette was chargeable. Dinner was better although the salad bar was uninspired and distinctly underwhelming. The daily suggestion menu was good although the repetitive “easy listening” piped music did nothing to enhance the ambience of the ¾ empty dining room – the dining room staff were attentive and charming with English and German being spoken to help the non-Italian speakers. The tennis court was €20 an hour which seemed very mean particularly as no one ever seemed to use it. The real highlight of this place though is the thermal pools and spa. Although shared with the public there are separate areas for hotel guests to sit which were well patrolled by the lovely life guards – the bonus being able to use the main pool an hour before the public arrive in the morning and two hours after the public leave in the evening, except on a Wednesday. The Bioaquam Cafe by the pools was excellent with great sandwiches, fresh salads, wonderful coffee and delicious juices/smoothies. Information about anything seems to be top secret so the fact that the main pool was closed completely one day had not been brought to our attention until the night before. There is also a smaller thermal pool exclusively for guests with a small indoor seating/relaxing area. Bathing hats (provided) are compulsory. It is advertised as a family hotel but there is no playroom inside or playground within the extensive hotel grounds and dinner only starts at 7.30pm. Some people dressed up for dinner but others were more casual – anything goes. All signs were in English and Russian. As a family half term getaway we had a great week enjoying the fabulous weather, relaxing in the thermal baths, making the most of the very peaceful atmosphere and exploring some of the local area. The “cold” outdoor pool only opens on 1 June. We'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidaym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews