We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Grotta Giusti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grotta Giusti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Guestroom
We had a nice big room. The rooms were cleaned two times a day. Very clean and cozy.

Grotta and thermal pools
Very relaxing, the Grotta is a must-see and very unique. Pools are warm, clean. The hotel guests can enjoy special areas, separated from the public areas. The service here is courteous and nice.

Service reception
Friendly but could be better. The instructions of the reception during check-in were not very clear and limited to the Spa. We got to know that we can rent bicycles for free and that there is a free shuttle bus service to the next village by chance. They should promote their services, which are indeed good, more and better.

Restaurant
Food is good, fresh. Service also very well.
Only the mussles were a bit sandy.

Bar
Barkeeper is outstanding. Very friendly, courteous and surprises with nice and very tasty cocktails. Definitely one of our highlight during our stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eatntravel1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for your lovely feedback of your recent stay at Grotta Giusti.
We are so happy you enjoyed our thermal pools and all the hotel service, bar included! We coudn't be more agree with you about the fact that our bar is so charming and courteous. Thank you for your kind suggestion we will surely take care of them.

We hope to have you as a valued guests in the next future.

Best Regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 904 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel: 2/10
Spa with Grotto: 6/10
Spa without Grotto: 2/10

5* hotel rates, with poor customer services: in room phone doesn’t work to call reception or anywhere else in the resort.
Restaurant is super brightly lit, style is more of a canteen than a fancy restaurant in the evening suitable for a date. 
Any special request they seemed completely phased, in the restaurant itself and the hotel. 
The hotel is linked to a spa resort, which is the only plus side to staying there, however communication between the 2 is virtually nonexistent other than billing!
The spa is very over rated, if it didn’t have the Grotto, it is not worth going. The therme pool is warm, even on a mild autumn day you will find it a bit chilly. Cleanliness is passable, but for a 5* rated spa, it falls in standard. 
Staff in the spa doesn’t give very clear nor good instructions. And at time snobby.
On the plus side you are welcomed to continue to use the spa after check out on the same day, of which you will be given a room (in a very remote corner of the resort) for changing purpose, of which there is a steel bed in there, the feel is more like an asylum than a spa! 
The experience left me perplexed and definitely did not feel money well spent, after all the relaxing in the therme, it is completely undo by the booking process of the grotto!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to read that your general experience at Grotta Giusti did not meet your expectations.
In regards with your consideration I would like to say that our hotel is a 4 star.

I'm sorry if the in room phone was not working properly and I'm afraid that you didn't communicate it at the reception, our receptionist are always more than welcome to help our guest.

I would really appreciate to hear more insight about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly writing at filippo.felloni@grottagiustispa.com

I hope to have you and your family as our valuable Guests in the future,

Warmest Regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Disappointing. Seems it has lost its way and thinks it offers better quality than it does. Spa treatments are expensive, which if quality was there I for one would not mind paying for, the rooms very tired especially in the spa and overall service is surly certainly not as we have found in rest of Italy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Grotta Giusti.

As far as the inconveniences highlighted, please note that we have followed up with the departments involved.
Every single comment helps us to improve our level of service towards our guests.

We trust to welcoming you back in Tuscany. For any further infomation feel free to contact me directly at filippo.felloni@grottagiustispa.com
In the meantime I send you my best regards.

Yours Sincerely,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our tour of Tuscany. Driving through the gates was magical. We were met with the impressive main building, which fulfilled all of our fantasies of a traditional Tuscan retreat.

Check-in was relatively straightforward. We were assigned two rooms that were, oddly, located on different floors at completely opposite ends of the hotel. The rooms were basic and could have done with a more thorough clean. For instance, there was mould around the base and sides of the bath in one room, and in the other, the toilet had remnants of the previous occupant in the bowl. Disgusting! On the other hand, the beds themselves were very comfortable and there were several extra pillows in the wardrobe for additional comfort.

As soon as we dropped our stuff off in the rooms on the first day, and had our bags consisting of a bath robe, slippers, towel and swimming hat delivered, we headed to the pool to cool down. We found the signage around the hotel/spa very confusing and, just as we thought we were approaching the thermal pool, we were ushered into a separate room, instructed to change into a white gown and told (in Italian) to walk down a corridor. It turned out this led to the underground thermal grotto. Although surprising, this experience was something truly unique and I would recommend it to any future travellers. We were, however, upset to find out that evening that the experience cost €20 per person. We felt it was dishonest not to mention the cost upfront. From that moment onwards, we were much more careful when wondering around the spa, as all treatments were very expensive.

In the 40 degree heat of the summer, the outdoor thermal pool was a highlight of our stay. There are two main pools, one of which is reserved exclusively for hotel guests. You have to wear a swimming cap at all times in the pool, but the hotel provides you with one free of charge at the start of your stay. There were also ample sun loungers and desk chairs scattered around the pool, making it very easy for us to find four beds together.

We ate breakfast both days in the hotel. On both occasions, we were left disappointed by the buffet. Even at 8am in the morning buffet was decimated and we ended up eating small portions of canned fruit and some bread. We only ate dinner in the hotel on one night. It was expensive, and the service was almost too quick (a two-course dinner only took 30 mins) but the food was good. I would recommend looking around for other dining options as there were several small restaurants in the nearby towns which offered great food for a much more affordable price.

In conclusion, Grotto Giusti is great for relaxing by the pool, and exploring the local area. However, the rooms were not great and be careful of additional charges.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Grotta Giusti with us.
We are honored you had the chance to relax yourself on our Grotto and that the pool area was the one you were looking for .

We are truly sorry to read that your general experience at Grotta Giusti did not completely meet your expectations.
I am sorry that our housekeeping service and staff was not up to our normal standards and I have spoken to the staff.

We work hard to make our guests' experience at Grotta Giusti a memorable one so I wish we had heard about your concerns during your stay.

I would really appreciate to hear more insight about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly writing at filippo.felloni@grottagiustispa.com

I hope to have you and your family as our valuable Guests in the future,

Warmest Regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

10 years we stayed here and decided to come back with our children. Setting is georgous, a Tuscan icon hidden in a beatiful park.

Rooms have been redecorated and look nice. Make sure to reserve park view, mountain view actually oversees supplies, garbage etc. Can be quite noisy when bottles are moved or supplies are brought early morning.

2 swimming Pools available: 1 for hotel guests and 1 that belongs to the Therme (may also be accessed by hotel guests, Can be quite busy however). Preferred the smaller pool since it is very quiet and kids can play freely.

Overall felt that some parts do not live up to the maintenance standards you would expect from a hotel at this price level (e.g external stairs and walls on the outside).

Staff varies. Command of English is poor in general. Our waiter GianLuca and Marko were really great but restaurant managed by a very unpleasant person. Rude to his people and rude to guests when he did not understand what was requested or discussed. For us really nagatively influenced dinner atmosphere.

Quality of food good and also for half board guests plenty to choose from. Nice winelist.

At our last day we wanted to have lunch at 14.04; we were told that kitchen closes at 2pm so bad luck. After one week that we spent in the hotel we found this to be an extremely unfriendly answer. For a hotel that positions itself as premium class and charges guests accordingly, staff profesionalism is clearly not aligned.

Overall mixed feelings. If personel changes we might consider to come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Mickey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to read that your general experience at Grotta Giusti did not meet your expectations.
I am sorry that our restaurant service and staff was not up to our normal standards and I have spoken to the staff.

We work hard to make our guests' experience at Grotta Giusti a memorable one so I wish we had heard about your concerns during your stay.

I would really appreciate to hear more insight about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly writing at filippo.felloni@grottagiustispa.com

I hope to have you and your family as our valuable Guests in the future,

Warmest Regards,

Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Housekeeping was impeccable - in and out in a flash, turning down while you are at dinner, very nicely done.

No need for antipasti, just order a G&T at the bar and you get the works, not just a few nuts. Then primi and secondi will suffice before dessert.

Lovely pools, very warm/large pool/water-jets combo for hotel guests. Grotto experience opened the pores, with natural thermals creating a Turkish bath-style environment.

Shutters and air-con very good.

Not the views of VillaSanPaolo, so only a maybe-return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyHead1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Direttore generale at Grotta Giusti, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Grotta Giusti. We are thrilled you appreciated our hotel and our spa. Thank you for acknowledging our housekeeping staff, we hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Filippo Felloni
General Manager
Grotta Giusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We stayed here for a wellness break and loved the excellent service, clean and beautiful rooms, gorgeous location, and wonderful food. The spa service was also great, especially the massage from Fabio and the sea salt scrub from Alina. We enjoyed the serenity and the awesome thermal water (no sulphur smell).

A few suggestions: The "piano" music at dinner is absolutely terrible and ruins the atmosphere. The songs are worse than "elevator music". Silence would be better, honestly. We found ourselves eating fast to get away from the terrible music. Also, the signage throughout the buildings needs to be more clear as we got lost many times and found it hard to find the places we were aiming for. Also, the toiletries seem low quality (no lather with shower gel or shampoo). Lastly, please service the pool furniture as many tables are wobbly and the sunshades on the chairs slip out of position.

Overall, Grotta Giusti is awesome and would be 5-star with attention to these details.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of nature and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlton's Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsummano Terme
4.8 km away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#10 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,205 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#9 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
950 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#11 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,201 reviews
4 km away
Hotel La Villa Resort
Hotel La Villa Resort
#1 of 2 in Pieve a Nievole
401 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#86 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotta Giusti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotta Giusti

Address: 1411 Via Grotta Giusti, 51015 Monsummano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Monsummano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monsummano Terme
Price Range: C$340 - C$524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grotta Giusti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grotta Giusti is located in Monsummano Terme just a few kilometres from Florence, Pisa and Lucca.Set in a private park with secular trees, the early nineteenth century villa, now a prestigious Hotel, enriched by antique furnishings and paintings, has maintained intact its historical air and natural charm. The 58 double rooms and 6 Junior Suites, furnished in a refined, fresh style, offer unexpected details such as the bathrooms in luxurious white marble with thermal water on tap. The Hotel is directly connected to the Spa, which has a modern Wellbeing Centre with an Oriental area, equipped gymnasium, numerous relaxation areas and a medical aesthetic centre. The Spa also has an open air pool with 750 square metres of thermal water, picturesque cascade and underwater hydro-massages and the large millennial Grotta to end the day with a beneficial, relaxing "steam bath". Immersed in the park are the fresh water swimming pool, tennis court and fitness walk with further trekking courses for excursions in the surrounding countryside. And, just a few kilometres from Grotta Giusti, an 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grotta Giusti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf And Spa
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf Hotel Monsummano Terme
Grotta Giusti Spa
Grotta Giusti Hotel
Grotta Giusti Monsummano Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing