We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
270
69
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
69
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine venison glenfinnan station warm welcome small hotel bar menu harry potter four poster bed local ingredients mussels dining room superb food both dinner and breakfast isle of skye stuart room cooked to perfection comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 364 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night as a stopover between Edinburgh and Isle of Skye. The room was comfortable. Nice amenities -whisky, pralines, coffee maker. The dinner and breakfast were plentiful and tasty. Two problems for us - first, rather difficult getting up narrow stairs to the room with our luggage and second, the floor of the bathroom was carpeted which I feel is somewhat unsanitary.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GMRPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Very nice food. Great steak, well cooked. Nice goat as well. A broad menu with loads of locally sourced ingredients. A decent selection of beers and wine. Friendly and helpful staff, all motivated to make your stay as good as possible. Room was very clean and had its own coffee machine. Breakfast was also very good. I would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Unfortunately, this was a disappointment due primarily to the shower; there was extremely weak pressure. In fact to have any pressure at all in the shower you had to turn off the hot water and have a cold shower and it was still bad pressure! When it is 13 degrees outside that is not fun. Moreover, I do think that the days of fitted carpet in the bathrooms should be over. I stayed in a much cheaper B & B in Pitlochry during this same stay with much better shower and a lovely tiled bathroom floor. However, in fairness the service was good and friendly and the food at dinner was very good.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

My husband and I stumbled upon this lovely restaurant while out exploring The Glenfinnan Monument and The Glenfinnan Viaduct. We were greeted by two lovely ladies, Ina and Jan. It turns out, Ina is the owner. Both of these ladies made us feel welcomed and honestly, if we are ever back in this area, we will stay at their hotel as well, simply because of their hospitality. However, this review is all about the culinary skills of the chef. Both of us decided to order two starters each for our meal. We were not disappointed. I had the leak and potato soup with fresh baked bread and then the smoked salmon with créme fraíche served with oat crackers. My husband had mixed game terrine and the goat cheese salad. He then opted for the dark chocolate brownie. Everything is made with local ingredients and is simply delicious. Honestly, if you are looking for high quality cuisine at a reasonable rate, this is the restaurant for you.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zodiaclynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018

An really friendly welcome awaited us. Lovely room with espresso machine. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast and evening meal in the bistro were good portions and cooked to perfection. Ina and staff couldn’t do enough for us
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mardrae2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews