We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$78
View deal
Expedia.com
US$84
View deal
Agoda.com
US$77
View deal
PricelineUS$87
eDreamsUS$78
TravelocityUS$84
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
263
228
94
32
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
263
228
94
32
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night stay regency fridge cheltenham races heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 663 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2019

Excellent hotel, very comfortable large room, absolutely spotless.

We had evening meal, battered cod, chips and peas. The batter was almost like a tempura, light and crisp. Breakfast was made to order and was very good

We found all the staff personable, polite and helpful.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank denis1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2019

We needed a room for one night in Cheltenham and got a good price online for this hotel.

Location:
On the edge of town close to Gloucester. It is better known locally as the Regency Hotel. Our taxi driver had never heard of the Clarion Collection Hotel but we had the post code so he knew where we were going. Apparently they changed the name recently

Reception:
Friendly and polite young lady who helped us book a taxi for the next day. The room wasn't ready so we waited in the bar which was closed. The first room we were offered was down a long corridor and then up three steps to the door. It had a window directly above a very noisy and large air extracor above the kitchen. We refused it and they organised a much nicer twin room for us.

Room:
A litttle bit dated but fine for a one night stay. A standard hotel room. We couldn't get the heating to work but an excellent young manager called Ethan was very helpful and provided an electric heater for us.

Restaurant:
The restaurant does not open until 6pm which is a real drawback and there is nowhere to eat within walking distance nearby. We went down at 6pm and were first in. The young waiter was very "over the top" and clearly doing his best to please but c had very little idea about what he was doing. We waited waited a long time for our food as the young waiter doubled up as a barman as more guests appeared. The ever helpful manager Ethan passed by and I asked him about our food, it appeared a few minutes later. The food was fine and reasonably priced.

Breakfast: Self service in the restaurant. Not a big selection but all the basics were there. The lady serving us was friendly and efficient.

Conclusion:
A resonably priced hotel on the edge of town. Staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant service was a bit chaotic and there is no food or drinks on offer before 6pm. A special word however for Ethan the manager, a very service minded young man who went out of his way to help and seems to be holding things together in this hotel, well done Ethan!

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel recently and thought it was really good for the price we paid. Large room with tea and biscuits, and comfortable beds. Buffet breakfast was great with lots of choice.
The hotel is close to the M5 and about 10 minutes out of Cheltenham. Not much around locally but a pub with a restaurant a short drive away which was packed - obviously very popular. The hotel has a restaurant which serves food in the evening, but we didn’t really fancy the look of it.
We would stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019

1st room wasn't made up so was given another room TV didn't work front desk wasn't interested so booked out and found another hotel Charlton Kings hotel which was cheaper and so much better.

Still waiting for my refund.

Room tip: Don't use this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kevinwba54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019

An absolutely awful experience, waited an hour for cold coffee, stale cheese and onion sandwiches and cakes. Noone there apart fro 2 residents who came through when we were being served asking for cheese and onion sandwiches that the chef had put in the fridge the previous night so we were obviously eating his sandwiches as there was no other choice. There was only 1 member of staff in the whole place who tried but it was terrible. I called back later as advised to see the manager only to be told the manager doesn't work Saturday. I've left my details for her to ring me but I don't hold out any hope. I will be so annoyed if I do not get a refund.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kym11370
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews