We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveller rating
1,032
312
107
59
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,032
312
107
59
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburlington restaurantdevonshire armstasting menuafternoon teaattention to detailcocktail loungethe riveracross the roadfour poster bedbiscuitscar parkone night staymichelin starwhole experiencecountry house hotelwedding anniversarymain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

My partner had booked this for my birthday and was a surprise as we pulled up and he said we were staying here. I could not believe it. When we went in you could smell wood fires burning and I loved it. The staff were so welcoming. They gave us a tour and because our room wasn't quite ready we went for a drink. The cocktail lounge was amazing and I had the best cocktail I've ever had. We went to our room which had an amazing view, bed was so comfy and I had a box of chocolates for my birthday. We got our costumes and things sorted and went over the road to the spa. It was so nice and relaxing. I didn't want to get out but he had booked the restaurant in the hotel for tea. We were told to go to the cocktail lounge before tea and a chap with the menu came round. We chose the tasting menu with the wine tasting menu to go with it. We had a cocktail and some canapés before going through to the restaurant. The food was out of this world. And the wines were well chosen. The staff could not have been any more attentive and friendly. It was one of the best meals I have had. We asked for the wine list to take home and were given a list of the food also. We then went to bed. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out. But for the breakfast we had it was worth it. From start to finish staying here was everything I dreamed it would be. Thankyou for an amazing birthday

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Excellent hotel in beautiful setting, rooms great especially the 'artist' staff very pleasant 'well done Ryan' and helpful, food very nice, hotel traditional and very well laid out and felt very welcoming

Room Tip: stay more than one night
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. We loved it. Lots to do in the surrounding area but we also spent most of our time languishing in the spa (which is just about to get a new facelift). Super breakfast - eggs benedict was delicious - and plenty of choice in both restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2016

If you like modern minimalist hotels this is not the place for you. This hotel is old fashioned in the nicest possible way-- lots of open log fires, chintz and huge armchairs-- and very very welcoming. We had one of their least expensive rooms, which was a little small, especially the bathroom. The shower was in the bath, and the fixed glass screen meant stepping out was difficult as the toilet pedestal was so close to the bath. Also the 2 large armchairs at the bottom of the bed were great for watching TV, but took up a lot of room so my husband and I couldn't really walk around at the same time. The bed was very comfortable though
Breakfast was good and varied- buffet for cereals fruits cold meats etc, with egg dishes porridge etc cooked to order-- all delicious
Staff were delightful- efficient and helpful.
Hotel completely dog friendly, with dog towels for dirty paws in the reception, and bowls and blanket provided in the room. Reception staff are happy to look after your dog while you eat in the restaurant
Beautifully situated by the river, the walk along to Bolton Abbey is a must

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We arrived at reception to be greeted warmly by Alice. She was very welcoming and gave us a guided tour with an air of excitement. The room was quirky with a sliding door on one side of the bathroom which could be opened to enjoy the Dales view from the bath. We began our nights stay in the superb spa with a hot stone massage for a special treat. Lorraine was very professional in providing a first class massage. Then we had a peaceful swim in the pool.
We followed up with a meal to remember, for the waiter service offering their expert knowledge of food and drink to keep us entertained and intrigued.
The bed was very comfortable and the whole stay was over far too quickly.
Breakfast was really good apart from the black pudding, not to our taste.

Room Tip: Lovely views from room 39
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tolulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews