We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downsfield(Carbis Bay)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$350
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oystercatcher(Carbis Bay)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
89
114
39
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
114
39
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelcoach tripsteep hillrailway stationsea viewevening entertainmentcreaking floorboardschef's specialsst ivesalfa coachesentertainments roomfull size snooker tablebit datedcold hamcourse evening mealswimming poolminute journey
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 262 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Stopped at the cottage hotel with the wife on a 5 day tour with Alfa travel. The hotel was spotless. The manager and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and the 3 course evening meals could not be faulted. The biggest problem we had was that the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of it for breakfast. The evening entertainment was great with one guy doing 22 tunes on 22 different instruments!
Was sad to here that the hotel is being demolished next year to make way for ' luxury apartments ' ( whatever they are).
I hope the council has a rethink, but if it goes ahead I'm sure the hard working staff will walk straight into another job.
All in all a lovely stay and a big thanks to everyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

My partner and i just spent 8 days in tbis wonderful hotel and had a wonderful time we were on a alfa tour with a driver from henshaws called suzie who was also very good the hotel and staff were brilliant and the choice of food excellant all the staff were very helpful particularly richie our waiter and his friend cynthia who was behind the bar nothing was too much trouble for them the manager also was very helpful its just a great shame this hotel is closing laye next year as it is spotless and we would have gone back to visit it again our thanks to the manager and all his wonderful staff who went out of their way to give us a great holiday
Glynnbarb

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank glynnbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

the hotel was big rambling building, very clean and comfortable and large rooms. location was easy access to railway and beaches although corbis bay was quite steep hill to get to but scenery so lovely

Room Tip: i think they have some sea views but good views from all sides
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank C7054MXchristineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Cottage hotel is a wonderful place however in some instances a little old fashioned , ideal place to go close to St Ives , easy access , disabled suitable , has lift however small
Meals are good but on some nites were not pleasant

I advise you to try

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank DANIEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Food fantastic, something for everyone and the staff work very hard to please nothing is too much trouble. If you want more food you ask for it.

Location is good , not so good if you are unsteady on your legs as it is hilly. 2 minutes to the station to St Ives £2 return approx 5 minute journey. St Ives is gorgeous but very busy. Not much around the hotel to walk to except the stunning beach at the bottom of the hill. Getting back up takes some effort.

Hotel is dated but clean. Nothing to moan at in the room. Towels and bedding fresh, beds comfy and water very hot. WI-FI is best connection I ever had in a hotel. The only thing that the hotel needs is a bit of extra outdoor seating. The pool was warm and very clean.

All in all a great hotel .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews