We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
94
115
39
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
115
39
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfa travel coach trip steep hill sea view evening entertainment st ives alfa coaches entertainments room bit dated course evening meal swimming pool minute journey top floor enjoyed our stay pleasant stay the hotel is clean would recommend this hotel to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 268 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

I am writing about our first trip to Carbis bay , Cottage Hotel . Having found out that the hotel was closing in October we can understand why we thought it was rather run down in parts i.e. The entertainments room was very dowdy with paper coming of the walls, no complaints about entertainment . We had a top floor room with an outstanding view of the bay , theonly down side being dirty windows covered in seagull droppings . Food varied but soups were excellent according to my husband and desserts were good but mains we think were rather small.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 366dianep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

I've just got back toay from this hotel. My friend and I had a lovely relaxing time. The food was great the staff very accomodating with anything that they can help u with. Its next to train station for St Ives. It costs £2 return per person.we went on an Alfa coach from Brentwood,please be advised it took 10 hrs !yep u read it right 10hrs with the stopping and pick ups at South Mimms and Reading. The driver John was lovely as we did two outings out as well. But way too long a journey Cornwall is stunning

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank michealnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

its a long time since we stayed here, due my diagnosed with copd, stives is a fantastic place but the hills are too much for me now,,,,, the cottagehotel has a fantastic view out across carbis bay we had a large sea faced room it was lovely the meals were good and varied and the evening entertainment always went down well in the bar. the only problem we had was the heating in our room, there wasnt any, and the room was cold.

Room tip: a seaview room is a must
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Just returned from the Cottage Hotel and we found this hotel suited us very well.The staff were excellent especially our waitress Caroline who was friendly, quick to serve us and always had a smile for us, she worked very hard. The food was good and was enough.
Also we must mention Ingrid who assisted my wife who was taken ill and finished up going to Penzance Hospital by ambulance in the early hours of Tuesday morning, Ingrid was very concerned and extremely professional.
This was our first coach holiday and we used Alfa Coaches and although a long journey it was easy going with enough comfort stops to break up the journey,our driver was Allan who just happened to be the Alfa Driver of the year for 2018,can easily see why,he drove smoothly with no sudden braking or acceleration.It is such a shame that the hotel is closing later in the year.
We were very impressed with the service we received from Alfa we have already booked a mystery holiday in September!

Room tip: Room 24 has a good view over St Ives Bay
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Dated and need a lick of paint. However very clean and comfy bed. Great location close to the beach. Descent breakfast- but only a small portion so if you have a big appetite - you may leave still hungry.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KasiaS_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews