We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
1,034
505
256
119
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
505
256
119
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sands restaurant building work st ives private beach no lift beach bar sea view main restaurant secret escapes coastal path reception staff outdoor pool restaurant staff lovely hotel stunning location spa treatments travelzoo deal
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

This place is great. I was expecting a top hotel/spa but the service is outstanding. Everything is pure quality and nothing is overlooked. Many thanks to the spa staff and catering - we booked an extra night. Particularly like the hot tub. Perfect for St Ives getaway.Will be recommending to friends and definitely coming again. Deserves 6 stars.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 574louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the 6*!! Much appreciated - bring all your friends and come again as soon as you can.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I found this hotel by chance as we wanted a couple of days away and discovered a great value short break here. The hotel was built in the late 19th century but has been, and still is, being extended and improved. We had a small double room overlooking the bay which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The meals were amazing with the five course dinner giving plenty of choice for all tastes and being beautifully presented. The spa facilities were clean and well maintained. Despite it being mid November we swam in the outdoor pool and used the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and relaxing rooms, all of which overlook the sea. At night, it was lit up and so peaceful.
However for us the best thing about this hotel was the staff, from the lovely lady who checked us in, to the waiting staff, concierge meeting us in the car park, spa ladies who greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed - nothing was too much trouble. This is a family run hotel and you can tell by the way the staff speak to each other that they enjoy being part of a great team. When we arrived we were shown round the facilities, and this personal touch set the scene for the rest of our stay
This was a brilliant break - one of the best we have ever had- thank you to everyone who contributed to this. We would not hesitate to return and recommend it to anyone seeking a quality break

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trishspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

A fabulous review, thank you so much, sounds like you had a great time with us.
Come again soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2018

Stayed in September beautiful weather hotel is located in a stunning bay that at low tide stretches for miles could have stayed for the week. The hotel itself is all you could ask for. Comfortable rooms good food both the included evening meal and breakfast. The Saturday night we arrived there was a wedding so that meant evening meal in different room and noisy from the wedding but that’s understandable. Staff were fine but I wouldn’t say over friendly however no issue. Some people have complained of building works in front for the new apartments but they won’t block view from the terraces the only problem would be parking with the extra guests. Looking forward to going again next year. Lovely walk along coast path into st ives about 2miles, however you can easily get train.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

So pleased you had a good visit - already November and the bay is stunning today; waves rolling onto the sands.. We agree, our views are just amazing. See you again next year! Many thanks.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

We stayed here about two years ago and have always intended to return - which we did a few weeks ago. As before, our stay was very enjoyable despite very "autumnal" weather. Staff were helpful and courteous, food was great, room was spacious and very comfortable (and included an unexpected sea view).
The only downside to our stay was the unreliability of the train service to St Ives - hardly down to the Hotel

Room tip: The half board plus afternoon tea package is great value
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Darryl,
Thank you so much for your 5* review and for complimenting our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed our sea view - sorry about the train! It is just 3 minutes on the train to St Ives, otherwise a taxi or a lovely 25 minute walk along the South West Coast Path. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Well, I am VERY glad we only had one night there. This place is a total rip off for the exorbitant prices they charge. I had reserved a room with a view and a deck outside with an ocean view. When we arrived there was someone at the counter very unhappy. I was told they were giving us an upgrade. They took us way up the hill to a two bedroom apt. I was too tired to argue. Our view was through a train trestle of the ocean. I figure they gave my room with a full view of the beach to the guy who was ticked off. The leader of our group there was given a room without the view she paid for. I am very grateful I only got ripped for one night. It's noisy. It's over rated. Don't waste your money. They are all about the money. A huge building project in the works. The night before I heard there was a drunken party that got so out of hand the police were called. I repeat. Don't waste your money. We got a sweet little b and b right up the hill. The price for 3 nights was less than ou one night here. Nuff said.

Room tip: Don't choose any room here.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank heartfire9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We recall your visit and that of your group and note your comments with some surprise, having not only offered your group and your leader considerable upgrades, but welcomed and hosted your daily group meetings in a private room with refreshments on a complimentary basis. Your apartment is not up the hill but in a quiet valley location within our Estate, close to the hotel; none of our hotel or beach services are affected in any way by our new lodges; there was no party nor authorities called. We have no option but to counter your erroneous review and draw attention to the high level of service we offer.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews