We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Secrets Cafe is a truly special place, nestled in the rainforest on the shores of Lake Baroon with panoramic views of the water, mountains and rainforest. This intimate connection with nature is enhanced by the incredible food prepared in house by our top chef Mathew Law and served by cafe manager Di Dennis and her passionate team of helpers. The cafe has been crafted with exquisite carvings and attention to detail. You may even find a unique gift for that special someone in our Art Gallery. Secrets Cafe and Deck has a fully licensed bar, stocked with a fine selection of spirits, wines, beers and cocktails. We are open six days a week, from Tuesday to Sunday 8:30am to 4:00pm.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch. The staff were friendly and the cost was reasonable. Not the most professional service but friendly nonetheless...

Thank ThreeDugongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Thankyou for your review Three Dugongs. Being a daytime café where it is sometimes difficult to gauge how many staff we are going to need it is sometimes necessary for Di our café manager to ask staff from other areas of our business to help in the café. Our atmosphere is not formal but friendly. George and I also like to give young people a start and it is not unusual to have staff in training. Pleased you enjoyed your lunch. Kind regards Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Genuine warm and friendly hospitality. Helping to make my friends birthday visit extra special. Great tea served in china cups and scones with real cream. Charming location. Thank you

Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

I understand entirely Sarah There is nothing better than a fresh cup of tea in fine bone china. A thick mug doesn't cut it for me either. Just add a wonderful view and special friends and you have the best of occasions. Thankyou for your great review. George and Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We are visiting from the U.K. and long time friends took us to lunch today at Secrets. We were given the top spot in the alcove and the setting and the ambience were just spectacular. Two of us had the special of rib fillet, the best steak we have EVER had, and one lamb Shank which was absolutely delicious and my husband enjoyed his duck curry. The staff were extremely helpful, professional and friendly.
Unbeknown to our friends we had sneaked up last week and had a Devonshire cream tea, such value at 9 dollars, two scones, jam, cream and tea/coffee. Excellent! we shall be back next year.

1  Thank Lynette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Thanks Lynette for your lovely review. George and I look forward to having you visit again. Kind regards Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Nice venue amidst the quaint shops of Montville. The coffee was lovely and nice menu. Lovely surroundings.

Thank rockdoc000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Sorry but we are not amidst the quaint shops of Montville! We are on the edge of a lake in the rainforest, attached to the spectacular reception of Secrets on the lake. It doesn't sound like you have even been here. It doesn't compute.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

When arriving to staff sent us to the wrong table with a bunch of strangers then just left us wondering around found them extremely unhelpful. Extremely poor food and drink service my lamb shank tasted like it had been boiled in water for 12 hours with some sauce tipped over the top. Then not being able to split the bill with a table of 10 people having one person having to pay the whole lot on card is ridiculous its 2018 considering they take your order on iPads and still can't even bring the food out to the right person is ridiculous as well.

Thank Jai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

“It is very disappointing for us to receive a review that has the hallmarks of an attempt to discredit our business. I am saddened if this was your experience and much could have been done to improve your visit to the cafe had you made any attempt to speak to our staff, cafe manager, or George or myself about your concerns. It is clearly stated in our cafe and in our menu book that we give one bill per table and this is standard practice in a busy restaurant like ours, as it enable our staff to focus on excellent service rather than in your instance what would have been 10 separate bills. Recently we have expanded our lovely waitstaff team and it appears a new young waitress took you to the wrong table. This was an honest mistake, and I believe not the sin of the magnitude that you have given it. Our restaurant is of the size that you could have glanced around and found your friends. As for the lamb shank it is our highest selling main and has been a customer favourite for at least five years. I am sorry you did not find it to your liking and understand all palates are different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing