We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Monte Velez

Monte Velez
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Huetor Vega
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: cerno a cementerio Nuevo de Huetor Vega, en la zona de los Rebites
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Great staff, food quality and quantity is very good, great wine list. Only quirk is the busy street it is located on, the car and moped traffic take a bit of the Shine.
In all excellent!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Maps444363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 270 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

Amazing how high the ranking of this place is - we can not share this opinion!

The foot is valid two stars: It is not a touristy place at all, and the food is acceptable.

The down side: it is (if you do not sit outside) a VERY noisy huge dining room full of Spanish residents. The service is terribly unfocused and imprecise => they barely speak anything else but Spanish, so even we pointed to the selection on the menu, we did not get what we ordered and also the drinks did either not come at all, at the start, or came wrong (wrong bottle of wine).

Not worth the ride up the mountain.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Spontanentscheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile

Wow. What can I say. Its thursday evening in November, the quiet season. Restaurant is very quiet BUT.....Staff are wonderful, welcoming and attentive. Food is spectacular and inexpensive. During the week no need to book but weekends are full to the rafters.
If you did not know about this fabulous restaurant you would not find it. Thank you TripAdvisor for helping us find this place. We are staying at the Granada Palace and walked here (taxi is recommended for those who cannot do hills as it's a bit of a trek) but so worth finding.
Staff and menu are solely Spanish which adds to the experience.
Excellent value for money and would make the 2 hour journey and stay over again just to visit this restaurant again.
An absolute must!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Located in Huetor Vega, an eastern suburb of Granada city. Roughly 15 min by car from Granada city center on a hill side. The garden is ample and has nice views of the sierra nevada. I usually come here for the lunch menu. It's € 10: first and main dish plus dessert and one free beverage(beer, soda, glass of wine, etc.) and coffee. They serve classical Spanish dishes, seafood and grilled meat and poultry. The quality is good and is worth it's money.
The service is attentive, polite and helpful.
However, when it gets crowded in summer, there may be delays attending the customer.
They got a large inside air conditioned space.
Alltogether it's worth a try and you probably are going to like it.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank zhyrhab a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place with beautiful views of the mountains. We were staying at granada palace and its a 11 min walk from the hotel. We didnt want to venture into granada so looked on tripadvisor and saw this was ranked no #1 in the area and I can see why. If you walk it is quite hilly so wear some gripped shoes. The service was excellent. We ordered a whole chicken and chips and it was so tasty. Nandos but spanish style. A bottle of monochil wine was 6.90 euros. The total came to 30 euros for two of us! Unbelievable value for what you get. We will be going back again.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank savban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Velez also viewed

Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
Huetor Vega, Province of Granada
 
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
 

Been to Monte Velez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing