We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit like being in a scene from 'the prisoner'.....kinda fun.”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Wissant as a town at the back end of the holiday season has a surreal air to it and the Bellevue continues that theme. There is a faded grandeur to the hotel but it makes a more than adequate overnight stop. The room we had was small but very clean with a reasonably comfortable bed. The en-suite however was a bad joke.....although clean it was clearly in need of refurbishment with some fibre board panels starting to swell and fall apart (in a bathroom? no wonder). There was a half bath with a shower which simply had not been thought out at all. The bath had a slope at one end so you could sit in it but that meant if you wanted to use the shower (the only way you could clean your whole body) you had to stand on the sloping part.(We both managed it but very dangerous for anyone unsteady on their feet etc).Also the taps were on the side nearest the shower curtain which meant they drenched the curtain constantly, so inevitably it was mouldy. Also with the toilet virtually under the handbasin you had to be a contortionist to use it. Certainly a challenge doing 'the paperwork' afterwards!
Really needs to be thought out properly!
However we found staff to be friendly and helpful for example opening the bar up so we could have a late night coffee.
One other that let the place down was the dim or just safety lighting on the staircase...why? surely the budget cant be that tight can it?
In conclusion though a good location to stop a few mins from Calais and an adequate stopover
***********Now my one-man protest which I add to most European hotels...why cant you get up to speed and provide coffee/tea making facilities like nearly every hotel etc. in the UK and US?...you really are behind the times on this one*******

Room Tip: check out the bathroom before accepting the room! (unless you like a challenge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank overthethrilltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed here its really a nursing home no young people here only very old people and they are very un frindly in this place like you are in nursing home . I have been in there resturant it's crazy all dead people eating no life bad stake and no good service

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sharlyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although the staff were welcoming and friendly, and the hotel is situated in a peaceful part of this pretty little town, our 2 night stay was far from comfortable. The hotel desperately needs renovation, inside and out. Our double room with shower & wc was tiny. There was no ventilation in the bathroom, so after a shower, it remained like a sauna. The room was very hot, so we had the choice of sleeping with the windows open - but being attacked by mosquitoes all night, or trying to sleep in an airless box. Evening meals were well cooked and presented, and breakfasts were acceptable. With some updating, this could be so much better, but I wouldn't want to stay there again as it is now.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My third visit to Wissant and first time at the Bellevue. Without a doubt excellent value for money and the rooms were clean and functional. The staff make you feel very welcome and the freshness of the breakfast was excellent. Will be back....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdavies757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for one night recently in a comfortable en-suite triple room. It had, as the hotel's name suggestions, a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside and on-the-doorstep sandy beach. It is just a short walk from Wissant town centre, where there is an idyllic and laid back feel. It feels very French - lovely. There are some nice little shops, bars, bistros and cafes. We patronised some of these throughout our stay but the real treat was the delicious and varied menu provided by the hotel at an extremely reasonable price (24,50 Euro for a decent three-course set menu). We were equally impressed with the large choice of breakfast items the following morning and really did the whole generous offering complete and utter justice. Yum, yum. The slight downside to the hotel is that there is no lift, so families and people with certain disabilities would find the rooms extremely difficult to access. Apart from this point, I cannot fault the place at all. All staff members were attentive, friendly and helpful and the hotel is a relaxing and lovely place to spend time. Thank you for such a great time, Hotel Bellevue. I will return again very soon. I loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front give a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty J, Responsable réception at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your nice comment. It will be our pleasure to welcome you during your next visit to wissant.
Betty JUNIET et toute son équipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked for our first night in France and it is a good location with good parking. Room was small but clean and staff friendly and helpful though they did have difficulty with English. It is fairly nondescript but it does have a faded charm and we stayed there on out last night in France two weeks later. If you need somewhere for one night which is clean traditional and not too many pretentions then this is the place to stay. Another big plus is that they are dog friendly. A very relaxing atmosphere prevails.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roland m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Wissant gazes at us across the Channel. The Hotel Bellevue is like something out of a period drama. You touch the bannister and your fingers tingle with other people's thoughts. It was requisitioned during the war; ask the receptionist to show you the photos of the soldiers in the dining room where you just had breakfast. Then the one with the officer at the window in the reading room, just behind you. Nothing has changed. Wissant has fabulous beaches and few tourists explore their haunting beauty. Here and there are German bunkers. You can walk along the clifftop to the spot where Hitler and Göring looked acros the sea at their next target. If you're looking for a standard international hotel with identikit rooms, this is not for you. But if you want to sink into the history of this spot, from where Thomas Becket sailed back to England to his martyrdom, the Hotel Bellevue is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wissant
0.5 km away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
0.4 km away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#4 of 5 in Wissant
110 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Vivier - Centre
10.5 km away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
361 reviews
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: 10 rue Paul Crampel, 62179 Wissant, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wissant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel** Bellevue a garde son style art deco des annees 30 et vous propose 25 chambres. Il est entoure d'un parc ombrage et dispose d'un parking prive pouvant accueillir voitures, motos et bus. Les chambres composees de lit double, twin, triple et familiale sont toutes equipees de salle de bain (boignoire-sabot douche et WC), de television et de telephone. Lorsque le temps le permet vous pouvez prendre votre petit dejeuner ou deguster une boisson sur notre terrasse avec vue sur le parc. Toute l'equipe du Bellevue vous accueillera dans une ambiance conviviale et familiale. Le chef vous concoctera une cuisine traditionnelle a base de produits de la mer. Il est situe a 200 m du centre du village et a 600 m de la plage la ou vous pourrez pratiquer de nombreuses activites : planche a voile (un des meilleurs spots europeens), tennis, char a voile, promenades guidees. Vous assisterez egalement au retour ds flobart (bateaux de peche) puis a la vente du poisson sur la place du village tous les matins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing