We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Hotel Selva Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selva Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Nica. This was our 1st destination. Tim (the owner) arranged a driver who waited over 1.5 hrs for us when our flight was late. We arrived and were immediately bowled over by the grounds. I truly felt like I died and went to heaven. Tim gave us a warm welcome an walked us to our room. He so kindly upgraded us to the room with the private infinity pool overlooking the lagoon and decorated with rose petals and flowers. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Truthfully after traveling as much as I have, it might have been the most amazing room I've ever stayed in (and we paid $50 per night!). The grounds were great and we loved the fellow travelers we met. This place is a little slice of heaven and Tim was exceptionally helpful and kind. We left here for Omeptepe and his driver took is to the dock and ticket booth together is acquainted. You will not regret staying here!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelfromnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
18
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Incredible place. Very romantic. I don't know what else to say. A very authentic experience. I have stayed several times and never cease to be impressed by its charms. The food down the street at the local corner store is fantastic and they deliver to the hotel. Very relaxing. The time slipped by and we ended up staying an extra night!

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming and unique. Aside from the two small swimming pools on the property, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had a great time at SelvAzul. The manager, Tim, is very friendly and helpful. Our room (Indu) was beautiful. The hotel has a relationship with a comedor down the street, so we were able to order a great dinner of comida tipica. No complaints, other than that we had to leave.

Room Tip: We liked the Indu room, including its semi-private pool in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have stayed at Selvazul eight times now and have nothing but praise for Tim and his staff. All the rooms have something special about them, the theme or the private pool, or the view! The Laguna is a little piece of heaven on earth and if you ever get a chance to go stay there for that most important "chill time" GO!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in Selva Azul in spring 2012. Our friends took us there for a day, but we ended up staying for three. We had a water front room and thanks to wifi (and skype) our family from up north could enjoy the view as well. They even watched us swimming! At the end of our stay, Tim (the owner) offered to give us a ride to the bus stop and then ended up giving us a tour around Granada and helped us looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile


The email we sent to the owner says it all (8 days later and still no response):

Tim

we were truly disappointed and felt totally let down with the service you provided.

We arrived at 12 to find nobody there, just the south african and german guests.

They said we had to wait until 14 00 for the room when you would return. You did not and there was no sign of a room at 1400. I tracked down.your staff at 1430 and asked for an update. They hastily gave me a key, signalling the room was ready. It was disgusting and after i pushed they started to clean it. They 'finished' and i found cigarette butts in the room, a disgusting outside and filthy pool. There was also 1 stained towel, no running water in the sink and everything was disconnected. Not a good start.

I had to ask 3 times for them to clean it just as a rabid dog vommited outside our door.

We found no working light above the bed, still butts in the room and a non adjustable fan. We then found after i connected everything myself that there were no sky channels. Again, terrible.

The room was finally clean but without a clean pool by 1530.

Over the next two hours, again when i was told you would return by 1600 then 1800, at least 15 people tried to come in our room/'private' pool.

We spoke at 1900 and you said you would return by 2000-2030. You did not.

We had no information about food, drink, breakfast or indeed what you had planned for my wifes birthday.

You still failed to arrive by 2230 which quite frankly i find massively unprofessional and disrespectful.

We then awoke after a terrible nights sleep due to the dirty sheets, a crazy leaking tap and anxiety surrounding the situation to find nothing but a vomitting dog on the porch.

Your place has good potential Tim but you extremely let yourself and us down. You have ruined my wifes birthday and i will never recommend your place to anyone for all the reasons above.

You have work to do on the place and the lack of professionalism. You also mis sold the private pool and sky.

That service or lack of was not worth $60 or even $20 and you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A warm welcome by owner Tim who´s made a fantastic place of it. Influences from all over the world you will find in the rooms. None of them are the same, all beautiful decorated, one with a private pool with a view, another with a private jacuzzi. Hammocks everywhere, easy access to the lake, free kayaks and so on. He and his partner are still improving and building, using all kind of different stones and wood from old colonial buildings.
Furthermore the houses fit perfectly in their surroundings and there is a nice atmosphere around.
Next time we will definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
2.7 km away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
95 reviews
5.9 km away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
61 reviews
0.2 km away
Paradiso Hostel
Paradiso Hostel
#1 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#3 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
141 reviews
1.7 km away
Apoyo Resort
Apoyo Resort
#7 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
167 reviews
1.2 km away
Casa Marimba
Casa Marimba
#2 of 5 in La Laguna de Apoyo
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selva Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selva Azul

Property: Hotel Selva Azul
Address: Laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Selva Azul 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Selva Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selva Azul Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing