We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top that...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elm Grove Country House
Ranked #1 of 6 St. Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We have just returned from a lovely weekend staying at the Elm Grove. The hotel is in a pretty little village about 3 miles from the gorgeous Pembrokeshire coast. It sits in its own grounds, the well maintained gardens have several seating areas for relaxing and watching the birds, butterflies, bats etc go by. There is even a little games room with table tennis and pool tables (I lost every game to my other half unfortunately!). When we arrived we were greeted by Jane the owner, shown round and offered tea on the terrace outside, which came with fresh welsh cakes (and because I had mentioned it was my birthday a box of very nice local chocolate truffles). There is a comfortable guest lounge, and a bar as well as the breakfast room. We had Room 5 which is large, well equipped and comfortable, complete with robes and thoughtful touches like hair straightener cool down mats. Everywhere is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent, with several choices in addition to the full Welsh.
The location is great, the village is small but has a shop and two pubs, both of which are less than 5 minutes walk away and it's easy to reach Tenby and the rest of the coast highlights. There is plenty of information on local attractions in the lobby area, and on the website if you want to arrange things in advance.
Most of all though is the atmosphere, Jane and Alan are so welcoming and friendly that we wouldn't hesitate to go back next time we are in the area. Thank you both for a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

A really lovely, huge old house which the owners have refurbished really nicely. All staff very friendly and helpful, and the owner had lots of good recommendations. We were in the attic room which was roomy and had very good head height - a bit hot though, but with a (noisy) fan which cooled us down. Small bathroom, but adequate and very noisy extractor fan and power shower! Water pressure was decent though. Good hot breakfast, big portions!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We wanted to stay in a countryside location and were delighted we chose Elm Grove Country House. Lovely warm welcome from Alan. Rooms gorgeous. Outdoor activities, tennis etc and a games room in the garden with pool and table tennis tables. Ideal for couples or families. Perfect location only a short distance from Hetherton, Carew Castle, Oakwood, Pembroke Castle and Tenby. Food Excellent, a great selection. Alan and Jane look after their guests extremely well.

Room Tip: look at the hotel website all the bedrooms are pictured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franm102017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Having heard how lovely the scenery is along the Pembrokeshire Coast we decided to spend a few days near Tenby. We chose the Elm Grove country house because of its location. The house and gardens cannot be faulted there are tennis courts, snooker and table tennis and croquet plenty of outdoor seating surrounded by beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside. The breakfasts are very good I myself have a gluten-free diet which was not a problem the staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The proprietors were also very helpful with plenty of advice on what to do and where to go.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Beautiful country house in it's own grounds about 3 miles from Tenby. Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Fabulous room (number 5), spacious and peaceful. The owners Alan and Jane were extremely friendly, very helpful and perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lly_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful, authentic house in the lovely Welsh countryside. Alan and Jane are the perfect hosts, offering helpful information and providing delicious food. I loved our attic room, particularly being able to lay in bed and watch the stars in the dark, non light polluted sky through the velux window The village of St Florence is lovely, with two pubs. The Sun Inn was our favourite, serving great bar meals....and the locals were very friendly, offering to move so that we could sit together comfortably. We were a gathering of three couples for a reunion and had a wonderful three night stay. Would recommend without question. Thanks Alan and Jane, and the people of St Florence for making our weekend special xxx

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AliPaliHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and have to say it's a lovely place. The owners are incredibly helpful and the whole place has a nice feel. We stayed in room 12 which is I presume the old servants quarters, although nice enough we would have loved to stay on an upper floor and if we were to come back, or recommend, we would ask for a different room as it feels a bit dark and hemmed in. The breakfast is superb and really fills you up for the day and there's a couple of nice pubs within walking distance. Would recommend but not room 12

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRB237, Owner at Elm Grove Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Your booking was specifically for our smaller ground floor double room (which is room 12), but if you'd like to return you just need to ask for a non ground floor room.
Our top floor attic rooms used to be the old servants quarters and guests can still see the old bell wires and bells (though they aren't in use now).
We hope to see you again and hope you had a good journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Florence
3.7 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.2 km away
Flemish Court Guest House
Flemish Court Guest House
#4 of 6 in St. Florence
73 reviews
3.7 km away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#5 of 53 in Tenby
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Pen Mar Guest House
Pen Mar Guest House
#8 of 53 in Tenby
276 reviews
4.7 km away
The Coach Guest House
4.9 km away
Lindholme Guest House
Lindholme Guest House
#12 of 53 in Tenby
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Grove Country House

Address: St Florence, St. Florence, Tenby SA70 8LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > St. Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Florence
Price Range: $171 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Grove Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elm Grove is a family run, four-star Country House. This elegant Georgian house is situated in its own grounds in the picturesque village of St. Florence, 3 miles from Tenby. All the individually decorated rooms are en-suite with excellent facilities including TV, DVD player,satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee, bottled waters and bath robes. Guests can experience a tasteful mix of marble fireplaces, paneled doorways and large picture windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Elm Grove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Grove Country Hotel
Elm Grove Country Tenby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing