We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel”
Review of Te Moai Sunset

Te Moai Sunset
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 2, 2018

My husband and I stumbled on this place after watching the sunset at Ahu Tahai. It's a cute place with great views of the coast. Even more impressive was the food. Not only was the local seafood delicious and imaginatively plated, but the baby back ribs were awesome. We came back for a second trip after having a bad experience in town, and the staff made us feel welcome even though we were the only ones there.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gecko42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián d, Propietario at Te Moai Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thank you gecko42 for taking the time to write about us, we are very glad to read that you like our food. we hope that we are going to see you again.

Best regards

Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018

We drove our rental car, but you could actually walk there. It's just overlooking Ahu Ko Te Riku and near the museum - a perfect place for a sunset meal. It doesn't look like much when you drive up, but it's very nice inside. Fabulous ceviche and grilled octopus that was served in the shape of a valentine! We were surprised how few people were there but it is off-season. It is pricy but so are most places on the island, as was expected.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marctucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián d, Propietario at Te Moai Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thanks marctucson for taking the time to write about us !!!!! we are very glad that you our place.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2018

My husband and I stopped here for sunset cocktails on the terrace and could not figure out why this place was not packed with patrons (there was only one other couple there). The views facing west, which look out over the moai as the sun sets behind them, is probably one of the best in the Pacific. The space is beautifully designed and they play Rapa Nui music, which only enhances the mood. We had one appetizer -- an inventive take on shrimp pil pil -- which made me wish I had tried more of their menu. We did manage to have three pisco sours each, which were made with papaya, ginger, guava, and an number of other local fruits. Out of all the places we went for sunset drinks during our stay, this was by far the best. Quiet, removed, fantastic drinks and service, and incredibly relaxing.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián d, Propietario at Te Moai Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you BryTraveler for taking the time to write about us and we are so happy to read that you had an excelent experience with us.

We are looking forward to see you again !!!!

Best regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

They had really great ceviche and tuna steak with pineapple chutney. Entres are 14000 to 20000 Chilean pesos. Atmosphere was great - good views. Took a long time to get food.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JDF1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián d, Propietario at Te Moai Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you JDF1334 for taking the time to write about us, we are so sorry for the delay in your food. We allready have made some change to get the food quicker to the costumer.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

We ate at Te Moai two nights of our four night stay on Easter Island. The owner, Sebastián, has a lovely restaurant. The fresh sea food was perfectly prepared. This is the place to go for local sea food and a beautiful sunset.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Moose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián d, Propietario at Te Moai Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you Moose7 for taking the time to write about us. We try very hard to have everything fresh.

we hope to see you again.

Best regards !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Moai Sunset also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Te Moai Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing