We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A fantastic place I'd certainly recommend! Great location, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalassa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thalassa Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A fantastic place I'd certainly recommend! Great location, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

You get impressed when you see the photos of the hotel in its website. And getting there, you feel great to realize that the staff will do everything to make you feel relaxed and happy during your stay. We had HP and were totally satisfied with the quality of the food. Other guests to whom we spoke felt the same way. I read the Guest Book and learned that many guests have been to Thalassa 3 or 4 times. We'll certainly return if we have a chance. I mean, if you have a nice experience, why would you take a risk?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaundLindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    99
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
310
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We came to this hotel last July and had no hesitation in re-booking for this year. From the moment you walk in the service from the staff is excellent! The hotel is the cleanest we have stayed in, the rooms are modern and the pool area which backs directly onto the beach is perfect for relaxing. The hotel is on the main road so there are lots of nice bars and restaurants close by but is not noisy. The facilities in the hotel are first class and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. For those of you who like cocktails, just ask for Manos at the swim up pool bar and he will make you the best cocktail in Creta. The food selection is vast but may not be to all tastes so make sure you try a couple of restaurants during your stay. We would recommend this hotel for couples of all ages. We would definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassengerHalless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Athina at the front desk was very helpful & friendly. Great hotel w/pools & beach. But the beach sunbed, safe are extra. Internet only works one day, out the other 3 days of my stay. Great location, in the center of the shops, stores, restaurants. But on the day of the check out the staff was a bit slow & didn't want to give me my cash deposit back. I had rather pay the whole charge w/credit card.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend as we travelled to Crete for a wedding. The hotel was chosed based on the tripadvisor reviews and it's proximity to the event.
To start off Good things :
1) Spotless clean
2)Good location , walking distance to bars shops etc front side is right on the main road of Platanias plus very easy to find !
3) Right on the beach ! Pool with sunbeds (no charge ) / beach with sunbeds (charged)
4)Good breakfast 07:30 to 10:30 plenty of variety (omeletes ,cereal, fresh fruits , jams etc...)
5)Staff very polite discreet and helpfull
6) Good airconditioning in the rooms
7) if you get a sea view room = great view
8)Spacious bathroom with amenities
9)Fantastic pool bar

To continue : Things that could be improved !
1) Charging wireless internet !! it's ridiculus for a 4 star hotel ! it costs them next to nothing and they charge guests per half hour !
2)Junior suites ! They sound great but they have a MAJOR disadvantage (at least for me) they are designed in two levels : downstairs as you get through the door you have the bathroom, closets, a small living area with two sofa beds,tv and of course the balcony! Then you go upstairs and you have a double bed (facing the wall) mind you if it was rotated you get a great view of the sea. Also i find very inconvinient and dangerous if in the middle of the night i need to go to the bathroom and need to get down a staircase. Also very dangerous for small children and people that sleepwalk!

Other than these two things i cannot find something else that bothered us. It was a lovely stay and it could easilly be a 5 star hotel. We will be returning but next time no suite !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed here in August 2009 as a young couple and were pleasantly surprised!!
The staff were very lovely and cater for you well and the rooms were immaculate!
We are planning to go back this summer as it was truly fabulous!! The area is nice with busier parts and shops which was ideal! We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerloving00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We went on our honeymoon to Crete and stayed at the Thalassa Beach Hotel. The rooms had a nice view and there was a daily breakfast which was great with local Cretan breakfast items. We had a great time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexiosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

This year, at the middle of July, I've spent my holiday at Thalassa Beach Resort.
I'll describe for you, in few lines, my experiences there:
- they are excellent in cleanliness;
- the location is just good (not very good anyways);
- the rooms doesn’t meet the quality for a place qualified with 4* (as it looks on the photos posted on their website); they aren't large at all, no carpet at all, a very small fridge (which can’t really be used);
- very poor fitness equipment (for a 4* hotel)
- the "facilities" like sauna and jacuzzi are payable even for the guests of the hotel;
- also, the sun beds are payable for everybody (no matter if you stay there);
- the food is just fresh and good, but not well diversified and, the most important thing, you have no drinks included when you serve dinner (not even water!)
- also, you have to pay for internet connection (I think the tax was 5 euro for 30')
- for their offer, they are expensive, this is my general conclusion!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lea23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 km away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 32 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 km away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 32 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.4 km away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Apsenti Couples Only - Mykonos
Apsenti Couples Only - Mykonos
#8 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.6 km away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#5 of 32 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.4 km away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 23 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Beach Resort

Property: Thalassa Beach Resort
Address: 249 Agias Marinas Street, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thalassa Beach Resort lies in front of one of the most beautiful beaches of Chania,on the island of Crete,with breathtaking view of the sea and Thodorou island. It is an adults-only hotel, specializing in offering romantic services to couples! Luxury, sophisticated design and atmospheric combinations are features which dominate in this hotel.Visit in Thalassa Beach Resort:Thalassa Spa: with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and special packages for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Thalassa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Beach Hotel Agia Marina
Thalassa Beach Resort Agia Marina, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing