We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
56
9
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
9
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 70 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is managed to perfection - if only guests didn't come along and ruin it all. I got a rude email when I didn't want to prepay online the day before arriving. I was told to get there by 8pm because the staff wanted to leave. You want a robe or a bike map - no problem if you pay for it. WiFi - only if you ask. The sad thing is that it isn't meant to be unfriendly - the staff are nice but the system they work in doesn't allow for hospitality and soul.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Delia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toscAninaRadkersburg, Inhaber at Hotel garni Toscanina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2015

Dear Delia M.,
What a pity! Now I feel like a fool.
Why haven’t I placed a high dollar bet, that you would review our hotel with the connotation, you did? At least, studying your prior reviews, we are not the worst in your tough rating… Thank you very much!
By the way, you are right: we are no spiritual nor soul-praying place. But the vast majority of our guests prefers and enjoys exactly that. Most probably they have different expectations.
Coming back to my bet from above: How could I know? The secret is a simple saw: “What goes around, comes around.” Complicated guests during the booking process (for instance: refusing the down payment or annoying the notice of check in before 6pm, they had both read and accepted by clicking the booking-button just a couple of minutes before – both points, as you did, you remember?) maintain that attitude until far after the end of the stay. This was an easy guess.
Since our experience has proven, that those guests, refusing the down payment, usually do not show up at all, we need to remind them in a very clear and precise, but never a rude way.
There was a second hint, which made the prediction of your review easy: guests, who never listen to the general information at check in, nor do consider the content text of the key card folder to be worth it, because they are – or pretend to be – in such a hurry or of high importance to anyone unidentified, usually tent to complain afterwards, as it apparently has happened for instance with the wifi.
Concerning the robe: Please check your bill - you haven’t paid for that. What is then the base for your untrue complaint? A licensed map, which has to be paid for everywhere? You also could have chosen a free of charge map, but that would not have offered the service nor content, you were looking for.
I stop kidding now: thank you very much for this great opportunity to reply!
My readers are already awaiting the next blog. This reply, by the way, was as simple as the prediction of your review. I wish you all the best on your treasure quest for soul!
Best regards, Erhard Teschl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Hotel "Toscanina" is a straight 4-star property very close to the main spa of Bad Radkersburg. This rather modern building has 2 wings with a total of about 35 guest rooms. Rooms facing the garden and pool-side have a small balcony large enough to sit on and to hang some laundry for airing.
Rooms are standard 4-star quality with air-conditioning and even a small tablet computer for guest information, TV programs, children's games and basic web-browsing.
Hotel amenities include a sauna, gym room and a small swimming pool (4x15 mtr) in the garden.
Free WiFi is available in the rooms and by the pool, although slow at times.
Breakfast is buffet-style, very good with a nice selection of food, including fresh fruit.
Very enjoyable place for a relaxing day by the pool or exploring the small but beautiful town.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This summer my wife and I cycled from St. Michelle im Lungau to Bad Radkersburg, and finished our trip at this most delightful hotel. The hotel is managed by a young couple, who are very friendly and helpful to their guest.

We arrived by bicycle, and there is a large, secured room set up just for bike storage. We were assisted in getting the bikes put away, signing in, finding our room, and learning of local activities and the thermal springs. They really took ample time to address our needs and questions and to ensure our stay was enjoyable.

Our double room was immaculate, had a small balcony, and nice view. Although located on the street, there was no noise at night and we rested well. The room was decorated nicely in a modern style, and the entire facility is relatively new. The hotel felt spacious, open, with lots of light and windows. The hotel had the best landscaping of any facility we saw in Austria, especially around the pool area. It creates a most relaxing environment. Many of the other guests were also either starting or finishing their cycling trip on the Mur Radweg (Mur River Cycling Trail).

The breakfast at this facility is very generous, and goes significantly beyond the normal roll, cheese, yoghurt, and coffee breakfast found at many inns in Austria. It included my other items, such as individually cooked eggs, fruit, and cereals. Very high end, quality food!

The highlight of our stay was being informed by our hosts of the wine festival in Kloch, a nearby area that has clusters of vineyards and wineries. The festival was on September 1, and we became familiar with the local wines and Strum, which is green wine that has been fermented only a few days.

The thermal springs are a five minute walk from the hotel. The entry fee is very expensive; somewhere around $30/each. We had dinner there, but when we found out that the water is less than 100 deg F, we decided to forgo the waters (we are accustomed to hot tubs and natural hot springs in the Rocky Mountains).

Overall, we can't say enough about the hotel and our wonderful hosts. Our stay was perfect, and we have fond memories of Styria and Austria.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, but those overlooking the pool area would be the quietest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElPelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2013

From the first time I unload my luggage from the car, the manager knew who I was, came out greeted my and informed me that he tried to contact me due to my late arrival. It was a long drive from Vienna to Bad Radkersburg. Hotel was clean, plenty of parking spaces, friendly staff.
From the look of the area, it is a place for relaxation; I, unfortunately, did not get to relax but was working in Slovenia, and did not enjoy the amenities the hotel has to offer, pool, gym room, etc...but no doubt the property looks impeccable.

Would definitely visit this place again should a chance arises.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyCowPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews