We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa, stunning views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Episkopi, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
910frankl
Mettmann, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and low standard”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

- distance to beach as described
- but noisy main road in between
- kitchen Equipment (oven) not even connected to electricity, owner not aware of this
- owner promised first a refund but then became evasive and refused to pay with poor arguments
- it's not a real villa, only a semi dettached house and neighbours disturb each other due to thin walls
- Doors and windows are not closing properly
- in Spain/Mallorca you get at this time better quality for less of 50% the price we paid

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Hello To everyone who has already read Mr. Frank's review.
I am really sorry for the kind of people who are asking money back using the threat that "I will write a bad review for you in Tripadvisor and I will F*** you!!"
Below you can find out what really happened :
The first day of their arrival Mr. Frank and his friends was very satisfied with the villa and happy. Late in the evening they called us because the oven was not working. Despite the late time a technician and the owner was in the villa after one hour in order to fix the problem. Actually the oven was working but for some reason it was not connected to the electricity (our mistake). The problem was solved in 5 min.
Mr. Frank who was already drunk started to be rude and asked from the owner 150 Euros because he did not had his dinner on time.... The owner in order to avoid him because he was drunk, told him that they will discuss it next day. When the owner informed him that we solved the problem as quickly as possible and his request for money back is not correct, he threaten the owner that he will destroy us with a very bad review if we did not give him money back... We refused and he wrote the above review... Mr. Frank I am really sorry for you!! Next time find the time to relax in your holidays instead of trying to make money from owners or insurance companies using your holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlie123
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic villa, stunning views”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the villa for two weeks as a party of nine made up of two families. The contact with agent was always prompt and the friendly owner and his son were their to meet us on our arrival.The villa has fantastic views overlooking both mountains and the sea and for any early risers the sunrise is spectacular.
The kitchen is only small however it does have everything you need and more. All the bedrooms are light and cool all with air con if needed. The bathrooms all have hand held showers which at first took a little time to get use to, however once you were use to them they were brilliant very powerful and warm even when everyone was using them at the same time
The pool was cleaned every day and large enough to play and swim in. The villa was cleaned twice a week
To appreciate the island I would recommend a car however the bus stop is only at the bottom of the road. The local supermarket has everything you need but a good 15 minute walk uphill to get there. The local taverns are all only a couple of minutes walk away and all reasonably priced.
The only negative if we had to put one was we found was the shortcut from the road to the villa was quite steep and not recommended if wearing heels and a torch may be advisable.
As a group made up of two families with an age range of 9 to 50 we would thoroughly recommend this villa and would return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside eating area and pool along with the cool bedrooms with views
Liked least: The shortcut from the road to the villa
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGraysB...
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for just over two weeks and loved the location. Two beach tavernas within easy walking (recommend walking on the right hand lane track rather than the busyish road - although slightly longer). Recommend a car as you'll need it for the Supermarket in Episkopi and visiting around the island.
The owner Mr Yiannis and his daughter, who speaks good English, couldn't be more helpful and were lovely. Also Kostas Vasilakis, who is the agent you book through, was really really helpful and got us discount on our hire car and also a day trip to Santorini which is well worth a visit. The nearest major town is Rethmyno and we loved it there in the old town with plenty of fantastic tavernas plus more lively bars on the sea front. The family now 'heart' Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect villa, ideal position”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Hi kostas

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Pirgos. The villa is in the perfect position , close to the beach, but really the villa is so nice we often stayed around the pool and had bbq's in the evening.
A suggestion maybe to have a little book in the villa, so that people can write down their experiences out side of the villa, i.e good restaurants, places to visit, car or motorbike hire, e,tc.

I cannot fault the villa and we also didn't feel intruded upon by the owner , whom we only saw a couple of times cleaning the pool.

It was also very nice to receive a message from yourself after a day or two to see if all was ok
I would definately recommend this villa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and outside area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
As R
the moon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa with lots of character in a great location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 5 adults, 2 kids and 1 baby, stayed in this villa for a week and we had really great time there.

The villa is a real charmer because the building is quite authentic (it's not a modern "square shape" villa you often find these days). It's situated right above the beach at the edge of a wide valley so you get amazing views and a constant breeze of fresh air. We had spectacular sunsets and sunrises.

The place was clean and well maintained and the owner took care of everything we've asked for.

Right below the villa on the beach there are two tavernas, both are great with lovely staff and fresh food. We planned to cook because of the kids but ended up eating there most of the time.

Car is a must, and if you have one you can enjoy the fact the place is rural and quiet (almost no tourists) and very close to the beach however within 10 mis drive you can get to Rhytmano, which is great for either a day stroll or evening drinks. Also the other recommendation they include in their description worth a visit.

The not-so-good things:
- The kitchen is very small and can be better equipped
- The bedrooms description is a bit misleading. In the 2nd floor there are only 2 bedrooms and not 3, because two of them are the same room (separated with a door). There is only one entrance door from the hallway so practically this is one/single huge bedroom split into two. It's great for a family with kids but probably not so great otherwise.
- The stairs are very narrow and steep

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgostinoC...
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing