We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem of a retreat amidst lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Doocot

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcoming and cosy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcoming and cosy
Light and airy
A place to chill out
Smart TV, Netflix and wi fi
Soak up the stunning views
Quiet comfort will make sleep come easy
With space to relax
Mmmmm the key to relaxation?
Fully equipped kitchen
Time for tea or coffee
Idyllic and tranquil
The original doocot
And babbling brook
The garden pond
And extensive grounds
A place to stroll
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colinsburgh, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Malcolm S
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem of a retreat amidst lovely countryside”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We used the Doocot as base from which to attend the Open at St Andrews.it proved to be a great base, clean comfortable and modern with tasteful decoration. It was only a 25 minute drive form St Andrews but was also convenient for the lovely countryside of Fife and the nearby coastal fishing villages. Elaine and Roberts proved to be delightful owners who left us to our own devices but were there if needed. Thoughtful touches included books and magazines on the surrounding area and a welcome pack for us. It proved to be a quiet retreat and we would recommend it highly for a holiday break inclusion as a base from which to play the large number of golf courses surrounding it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iain p
1 review
“Very relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

When we arrived, access was immediate and though we arrived just before 3, everything was ready including a full welcome pack which was both enjoyable and useful and unexpected for a weekend break.
Inside was as we expected from the photographs, but was also very clean and tidy. There was everything you needed for your stay and more. In the kitchen everything is to hand. The living area just off the kitchen also has everything you need and is comfortable. The bedroom is huge. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. We only met Elaine whilst we were there, she was great and obviously knew a lot about the area. Great place to stay if you want to visit that part of Fife with all the usual attractions within 20 minutes in all directions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and how approachable the owner was.
Liked least: wifi strength variable. Controlling the water from the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katiepie5...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful cottage, everything here that you could wish for was in the cottage, relaxing, peaceful, well maintained and absolutely clean, every little item provided and more for a self catering holiday absolutely amazing.
Elaine the owner welcomed us to her home and asked if we need anything, hardly. A welcome pack was left with eggs, milk, bread tea and coffee and also wine, WOW, . This place is the best. Elaine also informed us off local activities. We will back, I have already informed my friends and family. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fratersme...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“really comfortable and homely”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at the doocot while working in east Fife. It had everything I needed and was really comfortable and homely. It is attached to the owners home - it was good to know there was someone around if I needed anything - but I had complete privacy. There was a welcome basket waiting when I arrived with milk, bread eggs etc - a lovely touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: country living
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture perfect for golf vacation”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This made a perfect central accomodation for our golf vacation to St. Andrews and area. Elaine and Robert made use feel at home on arrival and thriughout our stay. If you are looking for a clean, quiet and roomy place this is it. If we go back to the area it would be our first choice for sure.
Thanks again Elaine and Robert.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
505PDB
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place in the sun”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful hospitality, beautiful accommodation & gardens. Everything 5 star & they deserve every success.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan778
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Doocot. The flat has everything you could need and it's perfectly positioned close to Elie and the neighbouring villages along the coast; it's just 20 minutes from St. Andrew's too.

Both Elaine and Robert were very welcoming and kind to us and the flat was a truly relaxing place to spend time. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone planning a visit to this lovely part of Scotland.

Thanks for a perfect stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing